Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > CPUs and Overclocking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-25-2012, 08:06 PM   #1
DarkRogue
Golden Member
 
DarkRogue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,217
Default Question about OCing and Voltages

Hello, everyone,

I'm trying to decide what motherboard to get for an upcoming IVB build, and was looking at either the Asus Z77 V Deluxe, or Gigabyte's UD5H. I'll be pairing it with a 3770K and looking to OC into the 4.5GHz~ range, which seems reasonable so far.

Anyway, so I've been looking up information about these boards with relation to overclocking, and I'm finding myself puzzled at the voltages being reported by CPU-Z.

First off, the ASUS board sports more power stages or something, which sounds like it'd be helpful to overclocking.

However, thus far, every article I've found seem to have the ASUS board reporting much higher voltage via CPU-Z than Gigabyte boards for very similar overclocks.

Is this a problem with CPU-Z misreporting, or do the ASUS boards really require more voltage to be pushed through? Is it a result of having more power phases? I thought OC'ing would be more dependent on the CPU itself, where it'd have similar settings regardless of motherboard, but there are differences of up to 0.3v between the two boards.

I'm confused.
__________________
~Sakura~ Antec P182 | Seasonic X-650 | ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe | i7-3770k @4.6GHz
2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3-1600 | Gigabyte GTX670 OC 2GB | Crucial M4 256GB
Samsung SH-S203B | Audioengine A5 | NEC LCD2490WUXi-BK-SV
~Ayu~ IBM T60 | 15" SXGA+ | T5500 @0.95v | ATI X1300 | 2x2GB | 7K320 | Atheros ABG | NMB
DarkRogue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 10:03 PM   #2
DarkRogue
Golden Member
 
DarkRogue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,217
Default

Anyone? :/

It just occurred to me that I didn't check for temperature data, to see if it was simply a mis-reporting of the voltage somewhere, or maybe CPU-Z showing differences in how the mobos handle vdroop.

I'm trying to double back and check now, but many of these OC reviews don't have temperature data attached. Ugh.
__________________
~Sakura~ Antec P182 | Seasonic X-650 | ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe | i7-3770k @4.6GHz
2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3-1600 | Gigabyte GTX670 OC 2GB | Crucial M4 256GB
Samsung SH-S203B | Audioengine A5 | NEC LCD2490WUXi-BK-SV
~Ayu~ IBM T60 | 15" SXGA+ | T5500 @0.95v | ATI X1300 | 2x2GB | 7K320 | Atheros ABG | NMB
DarkRogue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 05:23 AM   #3
T_Yamamoto
Lifer
 
T_Yamamoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: North Carolina State University
Posts: 13,649
Default

All boards will have their ups and downs. Since ivy bridge isn't officially out, we won't know which board is the best yet. Wait a little while but I would highly recommend an ASRock board
__________________
i5 4430 | MSI B85M-P33 | Gigabyte Windforce R9 270x | Random 4gb + 2gb RAM
XFX ProSeries 450W | Intel 530 128gb + Toshiba Canvio 1tb External HDD | Windows 7
NZXT Vulcan | Dell E2414H
Heatware | Steam
T_Yamamoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 06:59 AM   #4
dma0991
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,688
Default

It should be the same. Probably you're looking at reviews where they happen to be using a slightly better binned chip than the rest. My Core i5 3570K is somewhat similar to the one that was tested by Anand where I'll be doing around 4.5GHz at 1.28V (1.295V manual set, 1.280V after vdroop).

Some Core i7 3770K's I've seen so far are able to do that are capable of doing nearer to the 1.2V mark and stable. Under 1.3V for 4.5GHz is easily achieved for any IB and you're still within its safe range. Go any higher than 1.3V and 4.5GHz and you'll see the voltage requirement will spike along with the temp increase.
dma0991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 08:07 AM   #5
Charlie98
Diamond Member
 
Charlie98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 3,728
Default

My Gigabyte board erroneously reports VTT as 'core voltage.' It fooled me at first until I verified it with the Gigabyte EasyTune6 voltage monitor utility.
__________________
DESK: i5 2500K, Giga Z68MA-D2H-B3, 212+ P/P, M5Pro 256GB, 2TB Seagate, 2x 4GB Samsung RAM, EVGA 760SC ACX, Corsair TX750v2, Fractal Define Mini, W7
HTPC: Pentium G620, Giga B75M-D3H, Agility3 64GB, 2 x 3TB HDD, 2x 2GB Nanya RAM, Diamond HD6450, Corsair CX430v2, Fractal Define Mini, W7, WMC/MB
DESK3: Pentium G3220, Giga H81M-H, 840Pro 256GB, Team 2x 4GB RAM, EVGA 560Ti 448, Corsair CX430M, Fractal Arc Mini, W8.1
Charlie98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 08:24 AM   #6
MPiland
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 150
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkRogue View Post
Hello, everyone,

I'm trying to decide what motherboard to get for an upcoming IVB build, and was looking at either the Asus Z77 V Deluxe, or Gigabyte's UD5H. I'll be pairing it with a 3770K and looking to OC into the 4.5GHz~ range, which seems reasonable so far.

Anyway, so I've been looking up information about these boards with relation to overclocking, and I'm finding myself puzzled at the voltages being reported by CPU-Z.

First off, the ASUS board sports more power stages or something, which sounds like it'd be helpful to overclocking.

However, thus far, every article I've found seem to have the ASUS board reporting much higher voltage via CPU-Z than Gigabyte boards for very similar overclocks.

Is this a problem with CPU-Z misreporting, or do the ASUS boards really require more voltage to be pushed through? Is it a result of having more power phases? I thought OC'ing would be more dependent on the CPU itself, where it'd have similar settings regardless of motherboard, but there are differences of up to 0.3v between the two boards.

I'm confused.
From a few of the reviews I read, the ASUS board seems to come out on top with the AsRock boards not far behind. I went with the P8Z77-V Pro now just waiting on my chip. I'll let you know how it works out.
__________________
CASE Corsair 500r || MOBO Asus P8Z77-V Pro || CPU Intel i7-3770K || COOLER Corsair H100 || RAM G. Skill Ripjaw X 1600 Cas 9 16GB (2 x 8GB) || GPU SLI dual GTX 560ti || SSD Crucial M4 128 GB || HDD Seagate 2TB || PSU Corsair TW850W V2
MPiland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 11:48 AM   #7
Concillian
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Dublin, CA
Posts: 3,652
Default

1) For a moderate OC at 4.5 GHz, you do not need to be concerned with special overclocking features like power phases. They do provide a small amount of margin, but at a moderate OC, these won't really come into play. You don't need an expensive motherboard just for OCing. Buy the expensive motherboard for the additional ports better layouts, and other non-OC related features.

2) Reviews consistently show the ASUS boards higher on load power draw as well. (example: http://www.guru3d.com/article/asus-m...board-review/8 the two ASUS boards are 20+watts higher than the MSI and Gigabyte board, and I've seen other reviews showing similar results).

This could be that the extra voltage is real, or it could be power to provide for all the misc. stuff that ASUS adds to boards to differentiate themselves from other vendors too.


Regardless, for a 4.5GHz OC, you probably don't need to worry about anything you're worrying about. The mobo isn't going to make a scrap of difference on that OC, it's all up to your luck in the silicon lottery and your cooling, but mostly your lottery ticket.

Last edited by Concillian; 04-26-2012 at 11:52 AM.
Concillian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 12:32 PM   #8
DarkRogue
Golden Member
 
DarkRogue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,217
Default

Whew, I stayed up far later than I should've, researching this crap, lol.

Yamamoto, yes, all mobos do have their differences, which is why I was trying to ask for clarification. IVB isn't officially out for the masses yet, but the NDA has lifted, so there are lots of reviews available, as well as people "sourcing" CPU's from somewhere. Otherwise, with respect to my question about vcore, I believe it should hold true with the tests done with SB as well.

dma0991, I thought about those differences as well, but throughout my searching, the difference was consistent. It's very unlikely that everyone who tested a Gigabyte mobo somehow got a higher binned CPU that ran with less voltage. Furthermore, LegitReviews used the same CPU (I believe) on both mobos, and it still saw a similar difference.

MPiland - please let us know how it turns out for you!

Concillian, I had noticed as well that the ASUS boards consumed more power with all else being equal as well. I'm not sure what exactly is causing that, but it could be as you say; more power used for added features.

Charlie98, I think you're on the right track. It's possible that either CPU-Z or Gigabyte is not understanding what the other needs.

From what I found last night, while I couldn't find many reviews that posted temperatures of their overclocks, a few of them did say what voltage they had set, which I then compared with the CPU-Z screenshots.

Most overclocks on the 3770K on these two motherboards were within the rough 1.3v~ range. However, the Gigabyte CPU-Z screenshots consistently showed voltages that were under 1.1v where the Asus motherboards had screenshots showing voltage that were much closer, around 1.3~1.4v.

I don't know if there was anything to do with load line calibration on either motherboard, or if they were run during idle/load and maybe vdroop occurred or not, though.

Suffice to say, I'm still quite confused, but at least I have some information and a possible direction to pursue.
__________________
~Sakura~ Antec P182 | Seasonic X-650 | ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe | i7-3770k @4.6GHz
2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3-1600 | Gigabyte GTX670 OC 2GB | Crucial M4 256GB
Samsung SH-S203B | Audioengine A5 | NEC LCD2490WUXi-BK-SV
~Ayu~ IBM T60 | 15" SXGA+ | T5500 @0.95v | ATI X1300 | 2x2GB | 7K320 | Atheros ABG | NMB
DarkRogue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 02:10 PM   #9
Concillian
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Dublin, CA
Posts: 3,652
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkRogue View Post

Most overclocks on the 3770K on these two motherboards were within the rough 1.3v~ range. However, the Gigabyte CPU-Z screenshots consistently showed voltages that were under 1.1v where the Asus motherboards had screenshots showing voltage that were much closer, around 1.3~1.4v.
Those are not on the exact same CPU, are they?

That much voltage difference can't be due to the motherboard. That's got to be the difference between great silicon and mediocre silicon. There is always significant variation between the good and bad chips.

As an example Guru3d has so far tested 3 boards at 5GHz with the same i7-3770k, and the voltage is only varying between 1.416 to 1.48 on the CPUz screenshots. changes from 1.1 to 1.3 are not likely to be motherboard issues.

Last edited by Concillian; 04-26-2012 at 02:30 PM.
Concillian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 10:22 PM   #10
DarkRogue
Golden Member
 
DarkRogue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,217
Default

Unless review sites had access to more than one CPU (in which case, I would be heavily mistaken) I'm pretty sure reviewers used the same CPU for multiple motherboards.

Otherwise, across sites, yes the CPU's are all different.
However, I wasn't looking for absolute values, so much as I was looking for a trend, and the trend I found was that CPU-Z screenshots posted with Gigabyte mobos were always reporting much lower voltages.

I'll post a few examples from my research; please correct me if my methodology is incorrect here.

First, LegitReviews is my biggest example, because they reviewed both mobos that I was interested in at the same time, so I assume they used the same CPU.

Source: http://www.legitreviews.com/article/1882/16/
Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe & 3770K @ 4.8GHz
They stated that they set the vcore to 1.35v
CPU-Z:


Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H & 3770K @ 4.8GHz
They didn't state what vcore they used this time, but noted that they couldn't OC any more due to high temps and "high vcore"
CPU-Z:


Source: http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews/c...-ud5h_review/6
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H & 3770K @ 4.8GHz
They stated they used a 1.32v vcore
CPU-Z:


Source: http://www.eteknix.com/reviews/mothe...idge-review/3/
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H & 3770K @ 4.9GHz
They stated that they needed 1.425v on their vcore
CPU-Z:


As far as the ASUS goes..

Source: http://www.kitguru.net/components/cp...luxe-review/5/
ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe & 3770K @ 4.6GHz
They stated that it required 1.24v and "CPU Power Duty Control" (LLC?) to 'extreme'
CPU-Z:


They further pushed it to 4.8GHz with 1.33v
CPU-Z:


Source: http://www.tweaktown.com/reviews/467...ew/index4.html
ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe & 3770K @ 4.7GHz
No vcore stated, unfortunately.
CPU-Z:


Not an exhaustive list by any means, and I'm sure I've forgotten a couple that I went through, but it seems to me that the CPU-Z screenshots appear to show voltages that are closer to what users used on the ASUS boards, and much further from the Gigabyte boards.
__________________
~Sakura~ Antec P182 | Seasonic X-650 | ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe | i7-3770k @4.6GHz
2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3-1600 | Gigabyte GTX670 OC 2GB | Crucial M4 256GB
Samsung SH-S203B | Audioengine A5 | NEC LCD2490WUXi-BK-SV
~Ayu~ IBM T60 | 15" SXGA+ | T5500 @0.95v | ATI X1300 | 2x2GB | 7K320 | Atheros ABG | NMB
DarkRogue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 08:06 AM   #11
Charlie98
Diamond Member
 
Charlie98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 3,728
Default

Here's what I'm talking about...

__________________
DESK: i5 2500K, Giga Z68MA-D2H-B3, 212+ P/P, M5Pro 256GB, 2TB Seagate, 2x 4GB Samsung RAM, EVGA 760SC ACX, Corsair TX750v2, Fractal Define Mini, W7
HTPC: Pentium G620, Giga B75M-D3H, Agility3 64GB, 2 x 3TB HDD, 2x 2GB Nanya RAM, Diamond HD6450, Corsair CX430v2, Fractal Define Mini, W7, WMC/MB
DESK3: Pentium G3220, Giga H81M-H, 840Pro 256GB, Team 2x 4GB RAM, EVGA 560Ti 448, Corsair CX430M, Fractal Arc Mini, W8.1
Charlie98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 10:59 AM   #12
Concillian
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Dublin, CA
Posts: 3,652
Default

Yeah, those 1.0x voltages are clearly not real, you aren't going to see one board hit 4.8 GHz at 1.35 and another board hit it at 1.07. Motherboards can make a difference, but not THAT much of a difference.
Concillian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 11:17 AM   #13
Maximilian
Lifer
 
Maximilian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 11,456
Default

Yeah gigabyte boards show the VTT voltage as the vcore in cpu-z and hwmonitor for some reason. No idea why this is.
__________________
Main: Core i5 4570 // Asus Sabertooth Z97 // 8GB DDR3 // R9 280X // Noctua NH-D15 // Xonar Essence STX // WD 500GB HDD // Antec HCP 1300 // Silverstone FT02
Lappy: 14" Dell E6440
Server: Pentium G3220 // Noctua NH U12PSE2 1x NF-F12// Asus H87 M-E // 4GB DDR3 // 4x1.5TB Samsung F2 // 128GB Crucial M4 SSD // Antec 300 // Seasonic X460 FL HTPC:Raspberry pi
Maximilian is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 06:45 PM   #14
DarkRogue
Golden Member
 
DarkRogue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,217
Default

Thanks guys, I guess it's an issue with Gigabyte boards misreporting after all, then.

Curious no one else thought to mention that anywhere, as if it was supposed to be common knowledge.

Does Gigabyte only do this on these z77 boards, or did they always do it regardless of chipset? I don't even remember what I set my vcore to anymore.
__________________
~Sakura~ Antec P182 | Seasonic X-650 | ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe | i7-3770k @4.6GHz
2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3-1600 | Gigabyte GTX670 OC 2GB | Crucial M4 256GB
Samsung SH-S203B | Audioengine A5 | NEC LCD2490WUXi-BK-SV
~Ayu~ IBM T60 | 15" SXGA+ | T5500 @0.95v | ATI X1300 | 2x2GB | 7K320 | Atheros ABG | NMB
DarkRogue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 09:48 PM   #15
Charlie98
Diamond Member
 
Charlie98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 3,728
Default

Well, that image is with my Gigabyte Z68 board, but I suspect it will be the same with Z77, etc.

Also, you mentioned not knowing what your vCore is... you need to find out.

I do NOT recommend using any of Gigabyte's OC utilities (Smart6 or EasyTune6,) from what I've seen, they pump up the BCLK along with the multiplier... and SB doesn't, again, in my experience, like BCLK higher than 101.0. But, as you can see, I still use the EasyTune6 utility to monitor my voltages, it works very well.

I had to go in and reset my CMOS, reenable AHCI, and start over once I realized what those utilities were doing...
__________________
DESK: i5 2500K, Giga Z68MA-D2H-B3, 212+ P/P, M5Pro 256GB, 2TB Seagate, 2x 4GB Samsung RAM, EVGA 760SC ACX, Corsair TX750v2, Fractal Define Mini, W7
HTPC: Pentium G620, Giga B75M-D3H, Agility3 64GB, 2 x 3TB HDD, 2x 2GB Nanya RAM, Diamond HD6450, Corsair CX430v2, Fractal Define Mini, W7, WMC/MB
DESK3: Pentium G3220, Giga H81M-H, 840Pro 256GB, Team 2x 4GB RAM, EVGA 560Ti 448, Corsair CX430M, Fractal Arc Mini, W8.1
Charlie98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.