Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-21-2012, 01:08 AM   #1
netuser786
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 16
Default points in the internet

hi,
i am a beginner in networking area. for curiosity i started reading about several protocols. i also tried linux terminal commands for example ping, traceroute.
i read about traceroute that it traces the path through certain points in the internet. i wanted to know what is meant by points in internet. is it autonomous systems? any help is appreciated.

Thanks
netuser786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 08:01 AM   #2
AD5MB
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 70
Default

it shows the Default Gateway of every router in the chain from where you are to where you're going

http://www.wirelessforums.org/how-to...-ip-63912.html

if you need IP basics:

http://www.wirelessforums.org/how-to...ing-96070.html
AD5MB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 08:03 AM   #3
Smoblikat
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3,718
Default

each point is actually called a hop. It shows the default ateway of each router youre pinging.
__________________
3770K|ASrock Z77 Extreme11|4x8gb DDR3 1600|4xHD6970|1440P 120hz - Buzzard
X6 1055T|ASUS M4A89GTD-EVO USB3|2x4gb Gskill 1600|HD4870X2 + HD48701gb - Virgo
2xXeon L5639|EVGA SR2|6x8gb DDR3|4x2TB
Smoblikat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 11:34 AM   #4
imagoon
Diamond Member
 
imagoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Posts: 4,787
Default

Hops and routes. The 2 posts above call them default routes which is incorrect except for your local router. A route and a default route are 2 distinct things with differing functions with the same end result (hopefully getting your packets to where they need to go.)

The default route (0.0.0.0) is the route selected from the routing table when nothing else matches. Once your out on the internet you will be using route data from the routing core on the Internet currently using BGP.

All this means is that each of those hopes show a router that has a route to the next router until you get to your destination network and eventually the node.

You need to be careful with terms because on the Internet an autonomous system (AS) is a BGP routing element that handles all of its own internal networks.
imagoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 11:46 AM   #5
Ichinisan
Lifer
 
Ichinisan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Newnan, GA USA
Posts: 15,933
Default

Everything you need to know about tracert:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SXmv8quf_xM

__________________
Reply to this post.
Ichinisan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 02:15 PM   #6
netuser786
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 16
Default points in the network

thanks to all of you, the links you have provided are a great help.

thanks again
netuser786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 02:43 PM   #7
Ichinisan
Lifer
 
Ichinisan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Newnan, GA USA
Posts: 15,933
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by netuser786 View Post
thanks to all of you, the links you have provided are a great help.

thanks again
Pretty sure my link wasn't any help!
__________________
Reply to this post.
Ichinisan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 02:47 PM   #8
JackMDS
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
JackMDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,436
Default

Try this it will provide you with Visual trace.


Download and run this freeware, http://www.d3tr.de/download.html

Ping the server's IP using the 3D Trace.

This the way to look at the results when using the As List view.

http://www.ezlan.net/network/trace.jpg

As can be seen in this trace the major slowdown is after the 6 hop which far away from the control of the user.



__________________
Jack
Microsoft, MVP - Networking.
JackMDS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 03:13 PM   #9
Ichinisan
Lifer
 
Ichinisan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Newnan, GA USA
Posts: 15,933
Default

We can teach you how to track a killer's IP address by creating a GUI in Visual Basic.
__________________
Reply to this post.
Ichinisan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 12:37 AM   #10
drebo
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6,602
Default

Well, technically, you could create a GUI in Visual Basic to do it...

But it'd be pointless and you'd need access to stuff they definitely wouldn't have.
__________________
"All men are not created equal, and if you believe they are, there's something seriously wrong with you. Some men are destined for greatness. Most aren't. End of story." - Jose Canseco
drebo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 04:40 AM   #11
Gryz
Senior Member
 
Gryz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 433
Default

Lots of vague terminology used here.

To be precises, the IP addresses you will see are the IP addresses of the incoming interface of the router at each hop along the path towards your destination. Incoming interface meaning: the interface on which a router receives your traceroute-packet.

Small fact. TCP/IP is a little weird in addressing. Not every device has an IP address. No, every interface on every device has its own IP address. Therefor some devices can have multiple IP addresses. In general routers have multiple IP addresses, while end-systems (PCs, mobile devices, servers, etc) have only one IP address.

To make matters more complex, you can even create "imaginary" interfaces to add more IP addresses to a device (aka loopback interfaces). Or you can assign multiple addresses to an interface (aka secondary addresses). Or you can use less IP addresses (borrowing the IP address of another interface, aka "unnumbered").

This last paragraph was just added to confuse you.

Last edited by Gryz; 04-24-2012 at 04:43 AM.
Gryz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
internet, points

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.