Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > CPUs and Overclocking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-15-2012, 09:32 PM   #1
Dave3000
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 447
Default What should my Vcore on my i7-3930k be set at if not overclocking?

I have an Asus P9X79 Pro and I want to have the vcore on my 3930k at a static voltage. The BIOS auto the vcore at 1.160v in The BIOS at stock settings so set it to 1.160v and it stays at that voltage even when running at the higher multipliers in Turbo Boost mode. I ran Prime 95 at a static 1.160v vcore for 8 hours successfully with my 3930k running at the default 6-core turbo 3.5GHz. Auto vcore makes the vcore during turbo 1.21-1.22v but I'm not sure if Auto vcore is always correct for my CPU. For example when I oc'd my 3930k to 4.4GHz, auto vcore ran vcore as high as 1.41v during IBT and temps hit 89C and I stopped the test immediately. Also with vcore on Auto at stock speeds my CPU runs hotter during load than when set to 1.160v. For example, IBT hits 69C with vcore on auto and 66C with vcore at a static setting of 1.160v at stock speeds. So is the Auto vcore setting what the motherboard thinks the CPU vcore should run at or is it the correct vcore for my CPU even if I saw 1.41v when oc'd to 4.4GHz?
Dave3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 09:39 PM   #2
masteryoda34
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,384
Default

If it's stable at 1.16v and you're happy with the clock speed, then let it there.
masteryoda34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.