Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Social > Off Topic

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-04-2008, 01:04 PM   #1
alkemyst
No Lifer
 
alkemyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Corner of EPIC and ┼WESOME ST.
Posts: 82,050
Default Who makes the best coax splitters

I am getting ready to re-home run my house...comcast simply spiced RG-6 to the RG-59 at the eave of the roof. I think this 15-25' run of RG-59 is why certain stations are just black.

I currently have a two way splitter going directly to the cable modem and coax splitter for the rooms. Originally he had an 8-way that was a POS, I had to add the 2 way due to the modem not getting good signal...the comcast dude put a cheapy one up there. I don't need two runs in my family room any more, I could lose the living room run and one of the bedrooms really if it would make a huge difference but I am only dealing in cable runs of about 25-30' to each room from the line from the pole.

I would like to have my family, living and 3 bedrooms wired (the living room may never get used so if there is a really nice 4-way over an 'ok' 5 way I'd rather go that route.

I have heard best practice was to split the cable directly to the modem and use the other leg for any additional splitters...if I can get by better with just one 5 way, that would be great.

All the other coax should be RG-6 according to comcast. my modem run definitely is. I plan to replace any RG-59 with RG-6.

Who makes the best coax splitters and how would you guys set this up?

Summary: 1 modem and 5 TV outputs (4 TV outputs if going to 5 puts me in another 'loss' level).

Thanks!

__________________
The Masamune blade would repel the leaves and let them flow safely down the stream, while the Murasame blade would attract and cut them up.
alkemyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 01:08 PM   #2
Leros
Lifer
 
Leros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 21,560
Default Who makes the best coax splitters

I would get a powered splitter. It will have one input and as many outputs as you are willing to pay for. Signal degradation wreaks havoc on cable modems. We used to have our internet go out all the time until we got a powered splitter.

Leros is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 01:16 PM   #3
MrPickins
Diamond Member
 
MrPickins's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 7,537
Default Who makes the best coax splitters

Quote:
Originally posted by: Leros
I would get a powered splitter. It will have one input and as many outputs as you are willing to pay for. Signal degradation wreaks havoc on cable modems. We used to have our internet go out all the time until we got a powered splitter.
Active splitters are definitely the way to go.
__________________
Most Likely :
Last edited by MrPickins; Some Day at Some time.
MrPickins is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 01:20 PM   #4
Leros
Lifer
 
Leros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 21,560
Default Who makes the best coax splitters

Quote:
Originally posted by: MrPickins
Quote:
Originally posted by: Leros
I would get a powered splitter. It will have one input and as many outputs as you are willing to pay for. Signal degradation wreaks havoc on cable modems. We used to have our internet go out all the time until we got a powered splitter.
Active splitters are definitely the way to go.
I'm not sure on the prices, but at least get a 3-4 port active splitter. Give the modem its own line. You can get 2 way splitters for the tvs and get away with it.
Leros is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 01:22 PM   #5
ric1287
Diamond Member
 
ric1287's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4,845
Default Who makes the best coax splitters

any examples? I am in need of a 5 tv + modem as well.
__________________
FS Thread

pig benis
ric1287 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 01:39 PM   #6
Old Hippie
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6,361
Default Who makes the best coax splitters

Aren't you from Canton?

If so, I have a Blonder Tongue Apartment Complex Amplifier (ACA-35-1000) that's @ 5 yrs old. It's only one-way so you'd have to use it after the initial split and IDK if it would work with the 2 way cable boxes.

It's powered, so you would have to have 110v close.

It hasn't been used for @ 4 yrs., but if ya want it, you can have it.

__________________
Rick
You Get What You Pay For!
Old Hippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 01:41 PM   #7
IEC
Lifer
 
IEC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 10,503
Default Who makes the best coax splitters

You need a active splitter for that many...

Signal degradation is a bitch!
__________________
HEAT
IEC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 01:42 PM   #8
mugs
Lifer
 
mugs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 48,837
Default Who makes the best coax splitters

I use a cable amplifier (http://www.amazon.com/Motorola...&qid=1223145610&sr=8-1 ) plus any high quality X-way splitter. I also put my cable modem and router in the basement so they'd be just ~1 ft from the amplifier + splitter. I got this setup in my current house after I had issues receiving HD cable channels at my old house.
__________________
"Eli doesn't have what it takes to beat the Patriots in the big show. This game will be over by halftime." - PaulNEPats a.k.a. Reckoner; Super Bowl XLII

"Giants are the luckiest team I've ever seen in my entire life" - Reckoner; Super Bowl XLVI
mugs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 02:34 PM   #9
notposting
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SE MI
Posts: 2,839
Default Who makes the best coax splitters

I would go with a 3 way splitter and a 4 way splitter. If you are rerunning your cable lines with RG-6, that *should* help also.

A 3 way will have two -7dB legs, and one -3.5dB leg (basically two 2-way splitters internally).
Put modem off one of the -7 legs, digital or furthest run off another -7 leg, then put a 4 way (all four are -7) in for the others. No reason you should need anything powered assuming you have signal within standard specs off the pole, good quality splitters, and proper connectors with quad-shielded cable.

Regal is my preferred brand of splitters, but I also have a giant stash in the basement from when I did subcontracting for Comcast for a year. As long a splitter is rated at 1GHz, and feels heavier in your hand than the cheapo Ratshack ones, it should be fine. I use the PPC compression connectors, but the crimpers tend to be relatively expensive. You can find them on ebay usually under $35-40 total, Ripley brand compression tool.
notposting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 02:41 PM   #10
Dari
Lifer
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 16,247
Default Who makes the best coax splitters

DO NOT put the modem after the cable line has been powered (if you choose to go that route). That will amplify everything, including noise. The ideal solution would be to get a tap (not a splitter) where the one part is losing something like 8dB and the other ports have the same loss.

One excellent brand is Digimax. The ones at the stores are usually garbage.
Dari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 02:55 PM   #11
LeadMagnet
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,348
Default Who makes the best coax splitters

the line comes in from the cable company to a 2 way splitter that the cable modem and a 8 way powered bidirectional amplifier that all the TV's/DVRs are plugged into.

It was $80 off ebay.
LeadMagnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 02:55 PM   #12
boomerang
Lifer
 
boomerang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Michigan
Posts: 13,816
Default Who makes the best coax splitters

You should read this.

http://www.swhowto.com/VideoLoss.htm

If you ever forsee the possibility of satellite tv, and you are going to string all new coax, go with RG6 quad shield. The RG6 you have right now may be quad shield.
boomerang is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 02:59 PM   #13
alkemyst
No Lifer
 
alkemyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Corner of EPIC and ┼WESOME ST.
Posts: 82,050
Default Who makes the best coax splitters

Quote:
Originally posted by: Old Hippie
Aren't you from Canton?

If so, I have a Blonder Tongue Apartment Complex Amplifier (ACA-35-1000) that's @ 5 yrs old. It's only one-way so you'd have to use it after the initial split and IDK if it would work with the 2 way cable boxes.

It's powered, so you would have to have 110v close.

It hasn't been used for @ 4 yrs., but if ya want it, you can have it.
I'd need 2GHz though. That's a nice offer though.
__________________
The Masamune blade would repel the leaves and let them flow safely down the stream, while the Murasame blade would attract and cut them up.
alkemyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 03:04 PM   #14
alkemyst
No Lifer
 
alkemyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Corner of EPIC and ┼WESOME ST.
Posts: 82,050
Default Who makes the best coax splitters

Quote:
Originally posted by: boomerang
You should read this.

http://www.swhowto.com/VideoLoss.htm

If you ever forsee the possibility of satellite tv, and you are going to string all new coax, go with RG6 quad shield. The RG6 you have right now may be quad shield.
my problem may be unterminated jacks (3 now) on that older splitter.

I think I am going to go 2 way to 4 way and be done with it hopefully. If reception is poor rerun the RG-6 lines.

I still need a good non-powered brand...I don't think I need amplification at all.
__________________
The Masamune blade would repel the leaves and let them flow safely down the stream, while the Murasame blade would attract and cut them up.
alkemyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 03:07 PM   #15
jpeyton
Moderator
SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 25,204
Default Who makes the best coax splitters

Monster
jpeyton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 03:27 PM   #16
alkemyst
No Lifer
 
alkemyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Corner of EPIC and ┼WESOME ST.
Posts: 82,050
Default Who makes the best coax splitters

Quote:
Originally posted by: jpeyton
Monster
seriously? I can buy them today if so....they come up a lot and I doubt I'd get that screwed in paying for the label, but in HT monster is usually the last option.
__________________
The Masamune blade would repel the leaves and let them flow safely down the stream, while the Murasame blade would attract and cut them up.
alkemyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 03:49 PM   #17
Squisher
Lifer
 
Squisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Belleville, MI
Posts: 20,796
Default Who makes the best coax splitters

Most of the reviews I've read pointed to the Electroline 8-way active return amp.

Text

I got mine for $80 off ebay a couple of years ago, YMMV



Every amp I ever had has failed eventually. This one comes with a 10 year warranty.

btw-they also make a 4-way
__________________
Quote:
Originally posted by: electron
Forget P&N, we need a new forum for this. I recommend naming it "Cuckoo's Nest"
A couple of goofs.
Squisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 03:58 PM   #18
alkemyst
No Lifer
 
alkemyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Corner of EPIC and ┼WESOME ST.
Posts: 82,050
Default Who makes the best coax splitters

powered though?
__________________
The Masamune blade would repel the leaves and let them flow safely down the stream, while the Murasame blade would attract and cut them up.
alkemyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 04:13 PM   #19
The Boston Dangler
Lifer
 
The Boston Dangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Democratic People's Republic of Massachusetts
Posts: 13,804
Default Who makes the best coax splitters

check it out:

all cable must be quad-shield rg-6. the drop to the house might be rg-11, if the distance from plant to house is 150 - 300 feet.

from the point of demarcation, the cable must be grounded. acceptable grounds are and electric panel or meter, COLD water pipe, or an 6 - 8ft ground rod. the ground wire should be at least 10 awg, and must be shorter than the closest tv, modem or emta. this is the cable company's responsibility.

from the ground block, the cable must go to a 2-way splitter (-3.5dB output). one output will go to the modem, the other will go to the tv's. this 2-way may be used as a ground connection instead of the ground block, if necessary. do not amplify or attenuate the line going to the modem if at all possible. the operating window for your modem is +10 to -10 dBmV (downstream) and +35 to +45 dBmV (upstream). depending on manufacturer, you can check this with 192.168.100.1

with 2 tv's, you can use a 3-way splitter instead (-3.5, -7, -7) with the modem on the low-loss output. with 4 tv's, the 2-way feeds a 4-way splitter (-7).
with more than 4 tv's, the second output goes to a +15dB amp, which is also grounded. the output of the amp goes to an 8-way splitter (-11dB). any unused ports must terminated with non-locking 75-ohm terminators.

i strongly suggest getting the hardware from your cable provider, because retail hardware may not provide required bandwidth, or introduce noise and distortion. you might be able to score an amp of the cable guy for lunch money. if not, or if all he has are +7dB 4-port amps, then i'll recommend blonder tongue equipment. the amp must pass 5 - 50 MHz, and amplify 50 - 860 Mhz, although you might find 1 GHz is a common rating.
__________________
If God had meant for us to walk, why did he give us feet that fit car pedals?

-Sir Stirling Moss
The Boston Dangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 04:22 PM   #20
cubby1223
Lifer
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 11,434
Default Who makes the best coax splitters

When I bought an amplified splitter, the thing was crap, introduced so much static into the analog signal that I ditched it & stuck with the cheap-ass Radioshack & Comcast splitters. Picture looks good unamplified, split up to 8 tvs.

I have a 2-way going off to the hdtv & the other gets split 3-way and one of those gets split 4-way. In other words, the tv next to my computer has a 17.5db signal drop through the splitters alone and still looks very good.
cubby1223 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 04:28 PM   #21
mugs
Lifer
 
mugs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 48,837
Default Who makes the best coax splitters

Quote:
Originally posted by: Dari
DO NOT put the modem after the cable line has been powered (if you choose to go that route). That will amplify everything, including noise. The ideal solution would be to get a tap (not a splitter) where the one part is losing something like 8dB and the other ports have the same loss.

One excellent brand is Digimax. The ones at the stores are usually garbage.
I have my cable modem after my amp and I have no problem getting up to 20 Mbps...
__________________
"Eli doesn't have what it takes to beat the Patriots in the big show. This game will be over by halftime." - PaulNEPats a.k.a. Reckoner; Super Bowl XLII

"Giants are the luckiest team I've ever seen in my entire life" - Reckoner; Super Bowl XLVI
mugs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 04:28 PM   #22
mshan
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 7,869
Default Who makes the best coax splitters

Cheap initial option would be to just get Monoprice 4:1 and their 2:1 and see if that works ok for you: http://www.monoprice.com/produ...id=2871&seq=1&format=2

mshan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 04:28 PM   #23
alkemyst
No Lifer
 
alkemyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Corner of EPIC and ┼WESOME ST.
Posts: 82,050
Default Who makes the best coax splitters

Quote:
Originally posted by: mugs
Quote:
Originally posted by: Dari
DO NOT put the modem after the cable line has been powered (if you choose to go that route). That will amplify everything, including noise. The ideal solution would be to get a tap (not a splitter) where the one part is losing something like 8dB and the other ports have the same loss.

One excellent brand is Digimax. The ones at the stores are usually garbage.
I have my cable modem after my amp and I have no problem getting up to 20 Mbps...
doesn't mean it always works though.
__________________
The Masamune blade would repel the leaves and let them flow safely down the stream, while the Murasame blade would attract and cut them up.
alkemyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 04:29 PM   #24
alkemyst
No Lifer
 
alkemyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Corner of EPIC and ┼WESOME ST.
Posts: 82,050
Default Who makes the best coax splitters

Quote:
Originally posted by: mshan
Cheap initial option would be to just get Monoprice 4:1 and their 2:1 and see if that works ok for you: http://www.monoprice.com/produ...id=2871&seq=1&format=2
cheap is the cost of even the uber models. The price is going into my attic.
__________________
The Masamune blade would repel the leaves and let them flow safely down the stream, while the Murasame blade would attract and cut them up.
alkemyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 04:35 PM   #25
alkemyst
No Lifer
 
alkemyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Corner of EPIC and ┼WESOME ST.
Posts: 82,050
Default Who makes the best coax splitters

Quote:
Originally posted by: The Boston Dangler
check it out:

all cable must be quad-shield rg-6. the drop to the house might be rg-11, if the distance from plant to house is 150 - 300 feet.

from the point of demarcation, the cable must be grounded. acceptable grounds are and electric panel or meter, COLD water pipe, or an 6 - 8ft ground rod. the ground wire should be at least 10 awg, and must be shorter than the closest tv, modem or emta. this is the cable company's responsibility.
It's RG-6 from the pole don't know if quad, but they redid this last year.

It's got a ground block and the ground goes directly down to the house ground.


Quote:
Originally posted by: The Boston Dangler
from the ground block, the cable must go to a 2-way splitter (-3.5dB output). one output will go to the modem, the other will go to the tv's. this 2-way may be used as a ground connection instead of the ground block, if necessary. do not amplify or attenuate the line going to the modem if at all possible. the operating window for your modem is +10 to -10 dBmV (downstream) and +35 to +45 dBmV (upstream). depending on manufacturer, you can check this with 192.168.100.1
at 36db s/n, -6 dBmV down and 44bBmV up.


Quote:
Originally posted by: The Boston Dangler
i strongly suggest getting the hardware from your cable provider, because retail hardware may not provide required bandwidth, or introduce noise and distortion. you might be able to score an amp of the cable guy for lunch money. if not, or if all he has are +7dB 4-port amps, then i'll recommend blonder tongue equipment. the amp must pass 5 - 50 MHz, and amplify 50 - 860 Mhz, although you might find 1 GHz is a common rating.
I wouldn't go retail on this even though I can source the best of the best retail (at a 3-4x markup).

IF you aren't passing at least 1GHz through all connections wouldn't HD cable be limited?
__________________
The Masamune blade would repel the leaves and let them flow safely down the stream, while the Murasame blade would attract and cut them up.
alkemyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.