Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > CPUs and Overclocking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-13-2012, 12:17 PM   #1
Kingmer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Default Okay, what am I doing wrong and why does this I5 2500k seem to suck so bad…

History,
My favorite computer build ever died this week:
I7 920, clocked to 4.2 Ghz, stable as 1.3V, 24 Gig ram in triple channel and AMD 6950 Video card…ran this way for more than 3 years
Just shut-off one night and my trouble shooting led to all components work except CPU/MOBO
……
I had just built a i5 2500k system with a P8H67-M PRO/CSM-R3 LGA 1155 H67 mATX Intel Motherboard for my workshop …so not wanting to spend more money on a new build I transferred the computer to my office, upped the ram to 16 gig, moved the video card over and slapped a new 256 GB SSD in it
……
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Primary applications: Adobe Creative suit and Microsoft Office Suit
Games: World of tanks
Resolution I run at: 2560 x 1440
…………
I left the bios settings at whatever they defaulted to.
According to CPU-Z, the cpu idles at 1600 Mhz, but under load goes to ~4200 Mz
PROBLEM: GOD This thing is a dog! Under the same max settings in WOT at 2560x1440 I was getting 60-100 fps and smooth game play on the i7 920, now it dips down into the 20s and lags like hell at times.
The desktop is nowhere near as snappy and responsive as it was under the i7 920
And Photoshop is nowhere near as responsive. MS Office Software is about the same.
Kingmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 12:39 PM   #2
GrumpyMan
Diamond Member
 
GrumpyMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,954
Default

That thing should fly....do you have any other hard drives connected to it that could be going bad and dogging the system down?
GrumpyMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 12:41 PM   #3
Binky
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 3,632
Default

You paired the 2500k with the wrong motherboard. You should use a Z68 board and crank up the multiplier to maybe 44x. You're running stock speeds, and comparing it to your older overclocked CPU.

WoT at that resolution with that card will not perform very well. I'm running an overclocked 2600k at about 4.4ghz with a 6970, and I can't imagine that 2560x1440 is entirely playable, especially when in sniper mode. I run 1920x1200 with decent results.

Last edited by Binky; 04-13-2012 at 12:44 PM.
Binky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 12:46 PM   #4
frostedflakes
Diamond Member
 
frostedflakes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 7,903
Default

Max turbo for the 2500K is only 3.7GHz I think, shouldn't be going to 4.2GHz under load. At stock I don't know if it would be quite as fast as an i7-920 @ 4.2GHz, but it shouldn't be that much slower. Did you do a fresh install of Windows or did you try to migrate the install from your old system? If the latter there might be old chipset drivers that are slower things down. If you migrated from an HDD to an SSD partition alignment might also be screwed up which could slow things down, but still doesn't seem like things should be that slow.

Stupid question probably but you did plug your monitor into the port on your video card and not the one on the motherboard, right..?
__________________
Heatware
frostedflakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 02:43 PM   #5
sm625
Diamond Member
 
sm625's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4,662
Default

Can you run some other benchmarks. "20 fps in WOT" might be a little too esoteric. http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/pc-wizard.html Run the Global benchmark and post the results. I like this benchmark because it tells you a LOT for the 30 seconds it takes to run it.
__________________
I am looking for a cheap upgrade to my 3 year old computer.
AT forum member #1: Buy a 4790k

I am looking for a way to get 10 more fps in TF2.
AT forum member #2: Buy a 4790k
sm625 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 04:25 PM   #6
veri745
Golden Member
 
veri745's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,103
Default

Please tell me you transferred the video card to the newer system. I don't see anything in the OP about what GPU the 2500k system is using, so I was thinking maybe it just has onboard graphics?
__________________
Heat
veri745 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 05:00 PM   #7
Kingmer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Default Some global test scores from my set-up

Processor Global Performance : 402386.20 Marks
Cache and Memory Global Performance : 205959.00 Marks
Memory Global Performance : 35624.15 Marks
Video Global Performance : 1508.00 Marks
Hard Disk Global Performance : 0.00 Marks
:
CPUIDMark System : : 64548 :


I made a mistake earlier it is the X68 Chipset not the X67

This systems just feels horribly slugish.
Kingmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 05:01 PM   #8
Kingmer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by veri745 View Post
Please tell me you transferred the video card to the newer system. I don't see anything in the OP about what GPU the 2500k system is using, so I was thinking maybe it just has onboard graphics?

Yes new system has 6950.
Kingmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 06:26 PM   #9
Binky
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 3,632
Default

Is the monitor connected directly to the video card?
Are you using Lucid Virtu?
Are you overclocked on the 2500K? If yes, what multiplier?

Unoverclocked, your system will have trouble at that resolution. If its overclocked, you have issues (but you know that).
Binky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 06:30 PM   #10
Arzachel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 859
Default

Check the bios to see if the iGPU isn't on. Also, that hdd score is wierd, maybe try check your ssd?
Arzachel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 07:33 PM   #11
formulav8
Diamond Member
 
formulav8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 6,155
Default

If I didn't know any better, it sounds like your running off of the typical trashy Intel gpu junk. Eiither way, go into the bios and flat out disable the igpu if possible and not to allow dual display or anything like that. Otherwise i'm not sure. The 2500k is definitely alittle slower than your previous i7, but not nearly that much slower. Also make sure you have the proper video driver for your Radeon.

It just looks like something is overlooked.......
formulav8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 07:36 PM   #12
SickBeast
Lifer
 
SickBeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 14,193
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Binky View Post
You paired the 2500k with the wrong motherboard. You should use a Z68 board and crank up the multiplier to maybe 44x. You're running stock speeds, and comparing it to your older overclocked CPU.
This.

Not all Intel chipsets allow you to overclock a 2500k.

You need a P67 or I believe a Z68.
SickBeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.