Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-12-2012, 07:39 AM   #1
Elganja
Golden Member
 
Elganja's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Northen VA
Posts: 1,851
Default Crucial M4 firmware update (000F)

000F Crucial m4 2.5-inch SSD

Release Date: 04/11/2012

Firmware for the m4 SSD is being updated from version 0309 to 000F. The m4 is updatable to this new firmware starting from versions 0001, 0002, 0009, or 0309 in a single step. If updating from an early version directly to 000F, all interim improvements will also be included (please see Release Notes for version 0002, 0009 and 0309 for details).
Changes between version 0309 and 000F include the following changes:
  • Improved compatibility with certain SAS expanders and peripheral RAID cards.
  • Improved throughput stability under extremely heavy workloads.
  • Improved data protection in the event of unexpected, asynchronous power loss.
This firmware update is recommended for all drives currently in the field if the end user is experiencing any of these symptoms.
__________________
2014 Pearl White Nissan GTR Black Edition (Stock Turbo FBO), Baker Performance Built, Ben Linney Tuned
--9.857 @ 138.63mph on e85
--10.025 @ 135.12mph on 93 Octane (All Time World Record Holder)
2007 Creme Brulee Ford Edge
i7 990x @ 4.5GHz on water
Elganja is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 07:41 AM   #2
Elganja
Golden Member
 
Elganja's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Northen VA
Posts: 1,851
Default

i updated the firmware in my macbook pro and my main rig this morning with no ill effects (5 drives in total)

didn't have chance to do any benchmark testing though on the new firmware (have benchmarks on the 0309 firmware for comparison)
__________________
2014 Pearl White Nissan GTR Black Edition (Stock Turbo FBO), Baker Performance Built, Ben Linney Tuned
--9.857 @ 138.63mph on e85
--10.025 @ 135.12mph on 93 Octane (All Time World Record Holder)
2007 Creme Brulee Ford Edge
i7 990x @ 4.5GHz on water
Elganja is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 08:52 AM   #3
birthdaymonkey
Golden Member
 
birthdaymonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,086
Default

Also updated last night without issue using the Windows updater.
__________________
3770k@4.4 (NH-D14), P8Z77-V Pro, MSI GTX 760 Gaming, 8GB G.Skill 2133, 512GB 840 Pro, Seasonic X-660, Define XL R2, Realforce 87u 55g, G400, X-star DP2710, Audioengine D1, Sennheiser HD598
birthdaymonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 10:35 AM   #4
sm625
Diamond Member
 
sm625's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4,774
Default

I just ordered one of these. I submitted the order about 7 minutes after my ocz sandcrap drive refused to boot.
__________________
I am looking for a cheap upgrade to my 3 year old computer.
AT forum member #1: Buy a 4790k

I am looking for a way to get 10 more fps in TF2.
AT forum member #2: Buy a 4790k
sm625 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 10:45 AM   #5
Sunny129
Diamond Member
 
Sunny129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 4,766
Default

i just took delivery of my M4 64GB the other day and loaded Win7 x64 on it. fortunately i haven't installed much on it yet, though i don't know if that even matters. it appears that some of you have successfully updated your firmware on volumes that already contain an OS, applications, and such...so i'm assuming this can be done without data loss, right?
__________________
1) i7 3770K, Hyper 212+, Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3, 2 X HD 7970, SeaSonic X-750, Win7 x64
2) i7 3770K, Hyper 212+, Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3, 2 X HD 7970, SeaSonic X-750, Win7 x64
3) i7 3770K, Hyper 212 EVO, Gigabyte Z77X-UD4H, HD 7970, SeaSonic X-650, Win7 x64
4) X6 1055T, Hyper 212+, MSI 890GXM-G65, 2 X HD 6670, Antec Neo Eco 620, Win7 x64
My Heat (56-0-0) | BOINCstats
Sunny129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 10:50 AM   #6
birthdaymonkey
Golden Member
 
birthdaymonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,086
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunny129 View Post
i just took delivery of my M4 64GB the other day and loaded Win7 x64 on it. fortunately i haven't installed much on it yet, though i don't know if that even matters. it appears that some of you have successfully updated your firmware on volumes that already contain an OS, applications, and such...so i'm assuming this can be done without data loss, right?
Yep, the update doesn't touch your data.
__________________
3770k@4.4 (NH-D14), P8Z77-V Pro, MSI GTX 760 Gaming, 8GB G.Skill 2133, 512GB 840 Pro, Seasonic X-660, Define XL R2, Realforce 87u 55g, G400, X-star DP2710, Audioengine D1, Sennheiser HD598
birthdaymonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 11:21 AM   #7
Sunny129
Diamond Member
 
Sunny129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 4,766
Default

thanks! i'll give it a go when i get home tonight...
__________________
1) i7 3770K, Hyper 212+, Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3, 2 X HD 7970, SeaSonic X-750, Win7 x64
2) i7 3770K, Hyper 212+, Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3, 2 X HD 7970, SeaSonic X-750, Win7 x64
3) i7 3770K, Hyper 212 EVO, Gigabyte Z77X-UD4H, HD 7970, SeaSonic X-650, Win7 x64
4) X6 1055T, Hyper 212+, MSI 890GXM-G65, 2 X HD 6670, Antec Neo Eco 620, Win7 x64
My Heat (56-0-0) | BOINCstats
Sunny129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 11:31 AM   #8
God Mode
Platinum Member
 
God Mode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,902
Default

Its nice to see crucial being diligent with updates for their product. I can't wait for their next iteration of drives.
God Mode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 11:35 AM   #9
razel
Golden Member
 
razel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sunny Los Angeles
Posts: 1,142
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elganja View Post
[*]Improved throughput stability under extremely heavy workloads.
I hope this relates to the torture TRIM tests that Anand does. I'm curious to test the improvement myself this weekend if it rains hard enough.
razel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 03:44 PM   #10
Coup27
Golden Member
 
Coup27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: England, UK
Posts: 1,802
Default

Another classic illogical naming system.

0001, 0002, 0009, 0309 then 000F.
__________________
Intel i5 4670 | Asus H87I-PLUS | Corsair XMS3 2x4GB | Samsung 840 Evo 120GB SSD | WD Green 3TB HDD | Seasonic SS-360GP | Lian-Li PC-Q27B mITX | Dell 23" IPS Monitor
Coup27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 06:49 PM   #11
icanhascpu2
Senior Member
 
icanhascpu2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 228
Default

Just because you don't understand it, doesn't mean its illogical. Who cares anyway?
icanhascpu2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 08:15 PM   #12
zokudu
Diamond Member
 
zokudu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,247
Default

The update utility says it cannot recognize my drive. Any ideas?
__________________
AMD FX-8320 | XFX Radeon HD7970 | Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws | Crucial m4 128 GB | Windows 8 x64 Professional
13" Retina Macbook Pro | i5-4258U | 8GB RAM | 256GB SSD
Steam | Xbox | last.fm | Heat
I like my women how I like my filesystems...FAT and 16
zokudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 08:42 PM   #13
Sunny129
Diamond Member
 
Sunny129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 4,766
Default

i had an interesting experience...i did it through Windows, and did as the .pdf file instructed. the update software recognized my SSD after reboot, but instead of outputting "updating firmware..." and "finished," it said that an error occurred during the update process, and then rebooted again. luckily, windows loaded just fine. upon checking my drives properties, it is in fact now using the 000F firmware, despite the updater telling me that an error occurred while updating...
__________________
1) i7 3770K, Hyper 212+, Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3, 2 X HD 7970, SeaSonic X-750, Win7 x64
2) i7 3770K, Hyper 212+, Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3, 2 X HD 7970, SeaSonic X-750, Win7 x64
3) i7 3770K, Hyper 212 EVO, Gigabyte Z77X-UD4H, HD 7970, SeaSonic X-650, Win7 x64
4) X6 1055T, Hyper 212+, MSI 890GXM-G65, 2 X HD 6670, Antec Neo Eco 620, Win7 x64
My Heat (56-0-0) | BOINCstats
Sunny129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 11:00 PM   #14
RU482
Lifer
 
RU482's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 12,590
Default

son of a b...I just shipped 20 computers with this drive....at least they had 0009
RU482 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 11:29 PM   #15
hardhat
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 154
Default

Updated with the windows updater without issue.
hardhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 11:29 PM   #16
Towermax
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: US Pacific Northwest
Posts: 371
Default

The windows version wouldn't work for me--"no drive found". So I burned and booted the firmware ISO and it upgraded the drive just fine.
Towermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 11:53 PM   #17
DarkRogue
Golden Member
 
DarkRogue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,217
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RU482 View Post
son of a b...I just shipped 20 computers with this drive....at least they had 0009
0009? That's not a good idea regardless..
I think you need 0309 minimum to fix the 5184-hour BSOD bug.
__________________
~Sakura~ Antec P182 | Seasonic X-650 | ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe | i7-3770k @4.6GHz
2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3-1600 | Gigabyte GTX670 OC 2GB | Crucial M4 256GB
Samsung SH-S203B | Audioengine A5 | NEC LCD2490WUXi-BK-SV
~Ayu~ IBM T60 | 15" SXGA+ | T5500 @0.95v | ATI X1300 | 2x2GB | 7K320 | Atheros ABG | NMB
DarkRogue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 08:05 AM   #18
Coup27
Golden Member
 
Coup27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: England, UK
Posts: 1,802
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by icanhascpu2 View Post
Just because you don't understand it, doesn't mean its illogical. Who cares anyway?
It is quite clearly illogical. The reason it gets my goat is because I work in the engineering sector in factory automation. We rely quite heavily on documents having a standard naming method with sequential version numbering system. When you receive multiple revisions of the same document it's essential. When some tool then sends through "new version" or "000F" without continuing the naming system things start to go pearshaped with different people working from different documents.
__________________
Intel i5 4670 | Asus H87I-PLUS | Corsair XMS3 2x4GB | Samsung 840 Evo 120GB SSD | WD Green 3TB HDD | Seasonic SS-360GP | Lian-Li PC-Q27B mITX | Dell 23" IPS Monitor
Coup27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 09:24 AM   #19
Burner27
Moderator
Memory and Storage
Video Cards and Graphics
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,666
Default

Neither method worked for me. It must be user error..........
Burner27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 09:29 AM   #20
Sunny129
Diamond Member
 
Sunny129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 4,766
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burner27 View Post
Neither method worked for me. It must be user error..........
what was the nature of your error? was the firmware update software able to recognize your SSD just after reboot? if so, and it still didn't update as the instructions said it would, what messages were displayed on the screen during the failed update attempt? if it didn't recognize the SSD just after reboot, then perhaps you still have IDE mode set in the BIOS instead of AHCI?
__________________
1) i7 3770K, Hyper 212+, Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3, 2 X HD 7970, SeaSonic X-750, Win7 x64
2) i7 3770K, Hyper 212+, Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3, 2 X HD 7970, SeaSonic X-750, Win7 x64
3) i7 3770K, Hyper 212 EVO, Gigabyte Z77X-UD4H, HD 7970, SeaSonic X-650, Win7 x64
4) X6 1055T, Hyper 212+, MSI 890GXM-G65, 2 X HD 6670, Antec Neo Eco 620, Win7 x64
My Heat (56-0-0) | BOINCstats
Sunny129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 09:33 AM   #21
Burner27
Moderator
Memory and Storage
Video Cards and Graphics
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,666
Default

I tried with AHCI mode, IDE mode (compatible) and IDE mode (enhanced) - stuck at finding drives.....


***UPDATE*** I told you this was going to be user error. I got it to update the FW. I forgot to turn off the Marvell onboard controller (yes I am using it but neither of my M4s are attached to it). When I disabled it and re-ran the update it found my drives.

Last edited by Burner27; 04-13-2012 at 09:40 AM.
Burner27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 02:44 PM   #22
kbp
Senior Member
 
kbp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Northern Lower Peninsula
Posts: 568
Default

Im holding off. Think i'll wait till the "beta testers" give the "all good". So, with that said, keep me posted in about a month or two.
__________________

kbp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 03:28 PM   #23
zokudu
Diamond Member
 
zokudu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,247
Default

Still no luck updating. I used the burnable iso image still didn't recognize my drive. I double checked and shut off my my Marvell on board controller and still no luck.
__________________
AMD FX-8320 | XFX Radeon HD7970 | Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws | Crucial m4 128 GB | Windows 8 x64 Professional
13" Retina Macbook Pro | i5-4258U | 8GB RAM | 256GB SSD
Steam | Xbox | last.fm | Heat
I like my women how I like my filesystems...FAT and 16
zokudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 03:44 PM   #24
God Mode
Platinum Member
 
God Mode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,902
Default

The windows exe worked fine for me. At first, it was on a different drive and rebooted without updating. I then put it in C:/ or whatever your OS drive is and it worked. No IDE/AHCI nonsense needed.
God Mode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 03:58 PM   #25
zokudu
Diamond Member
 
zokudu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,247
Default

I'm booting into the updater but it does not recognize my drive once there.
__________________
AMD FX-8320 | XFX Radeon HD7970 | Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws | Crucial m4 128 GB | Windows 8 x64 Professional
13" Retina Macbook Pro | i5-4258U | 8GB RAM | 256GB SSD
Steam | Xbox | last.fm | Heat
I like my women how I like my filesystems...FAT and 16
zokudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.