Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Consumer Electronics > Audio/Video & Home Theater

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-24-2012, 02:20 PM   #1
alfa147x
Lifer
 
alfa147x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Georgia
Posts: 29,832
Default Toslink question. TTL from Coax + 3.3 or 5v = optical?

I'm looking at removing a coaxial connection from a boad and install a optical jack. From what I've read, coax is 2 connectors one being TTL the other is the ground. While an optical transmitter used not only the TTL and the ground but a VCc (3.3 - 5v) connection as well.

Questions:
Can I just take the TTL and ground from the coax and wire in power to a optical transmitter?
Can I split the TTL connection to be able to have both optical and coax?

Thanks,
Alfa
__________________
.
alfa147x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 03:14 PM   #2
sdifox
No Lifer
 
sdifox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North of Tonto, ON
Posts: 52,663
Default

not exactly...

http://www.taligentx.com/projects/opticalconverter/
__________________
I'm not a f$*#@ing machine! - Rubycon
Ever screw so much you get a blister? - Rubycon
shameless plug
http://primaryaccounting.ca
sdifox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 03:54 PM   #3
NutBucket
Lifer
 
NutBucket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: North Hollywood, CA
Posts: 21,568
Default

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2
NutBucket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 04:04 PM   #4
alfa147x
Lifer
 
alfa147x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Georgia
Posts: 29,832
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdifox View Post
See that seems more like converting coaxial to optical. What make me believe my idea would work is that motherboards have SPDIF connectors on board:
Quote:
pins 2(spdif out) & 3(ground) according to the manual. Pin 1 is vcc which is used for optical.
Possibly? I might order a Gigabyte optical bracket to see what actually is going on.
__________________
.
alfa147x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 04:27 PM   #5
sdifox
No Lifer
 
sdifox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North of Tonto, ON
Posts: 52,663
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alfa147x View Post
See that seems more like converting coaxial to optical. What make me believe my idea would work is that motherboards have SPDIF connectors on board:


Possibly? I might order a Gigabyte optical bracket to see what actually is going on.
if your mb offers an optical bracket, why wouldn't you get that?
__________________
I'm not a f$*#@ing machine! - Rubycon
Ever screw so much you get a blister? - Rubycon
shameless plug
http://primaryaccounting.ca
sdifox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 05:46 PM   #6
alfa147x
Lifer
 
alfa147x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Georgia
Posts: 29,832
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdifox View Post
if your mb offers an optical bracket, why wouldn't you get that?
It's not for a motherboard. It from a DIY DAC that I had put together a while back. I'm trying to figure out how the mb works with optical vs coaxial that way I can apply it to my DAC. I ordered the bracket. We'll see if it has anything fancy ( I hope not)
__________________
.
alfa147x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 06:36 PM   #7
sdifox
No Lifer
 
sdifox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North of Tonto, ON
Posts: 52,663
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alfa147x View Post
It's not for a motherboard. It from a DIY DAC that I had put together a while back. I'm trying to figure out how the mb works with optical vs coaxial that way I can apply it to my DAC. I ordered the bracket. We'll see if it has anything fancy ( I hope not)
err no, it is probably exactly what I linked to
__________________
I'm not a f$*#@ing machine! - Rubycon
Ever screw so much you get a blister? - Rubycon
shameless plug
http://primaryaccounting.ca
sdifox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 08:16 PM   #8
alfa147x
Lifer
 
alfa147x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Georgia
Posts: 29,832
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdifox View Post
err no, it is probably exactly what I linked to
I still can hope not!
This is what the bracket looks like
__________________
.
alfa147x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 08:29 AM   #9
sdifox
No Lifer
 
sdifox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North of Tonto, ON
Posts: 52,663
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alfa147x View Post
I still can hope not!
This is what the bracket looks like
good luck
__________________
I'm not a f$*#@ing machine! - Rubycon
Ever screw so much you get a blister? - Rubycon
shameless plug
http://primaryaccounting.ca
sdifox is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.