Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-21-2012, 04:54 AM   #1
HexiumVII
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 612
Default Does SRT work on a dual SSD system?

I just order 128GB of Samsung 830 and a OCZ Agility 3 (damn you NE sales!). I currently have an 80GB G2 SSD on both my systems (mostly identical except for mobo, i920s). Well the insane upgrade bug hit me hard. I upgrading to Ivy and now got 4 SSDs to play musical charis with. I'm thinking 128GB as boot drives and the 80GB G2 as SRT drives. Is that possible? I've only seen SRT work on boot drive with the crazy workaround way.
__________________
Ivy 3770k @ 4.5GHz w/IFX14 TY-140 @75C
Asrock Z77 EX4, Auto level 3LLC
16GB Crucial 1600, 1.35v, CAS11
Samsung 830
1TB WD Black RAID1
2TB Hitachi
EVGA 560Ti448@925
Lian Li V2000B
Soyo 24" LCD + 22" Samsung
HexiumVII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 11:52 AM   #2
corkyg
Moderator
Peripherals
 
corkyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 24,118
Default

Is this what you are talking about?

http://www.ttfile.com/post/srt-file/what-is-srt-file
__________________
CorkyG - Tucson, AZ

In my view you cannot claim to have seen something until you have photographed it.... Emile Zola
corkyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 12:47 PM   #3
IntelEnthusiast
Intel Representative
 
IntelEnthusiast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Utah
Posts: 582
Default

If you are talking about Intel® SRT (Smart Response Technology) then the answer is really no. The reason behind Intel SRT is by using a small SSD (<64GB) you are able to cache files on it when you are using a normal HDD to give you better performance on access and boot time with anything cached on it. Think of Intel SRT as a shortcut to the performance that you would get from using a larger SSD as a boot drive. In the end it isnt as fast as good SSD set up as a boot drive but it is much faster than a HDD.
__________________
Christian Wood
Intel Enthusiast Team

Intel® Core™ i5-3570K, Intel® SSD 520 120GB, Intel® DZ77GA-70K, SilverStone 750W PSU, EVGA GeForce GTX 580, Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3-1600MHz, Corsair H100 Cooler, Corsair CC600TM, Western Digital 1TB Black HDD
IntelEnthusiast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 01:36 PM   #4
corkyg
Moderator
Peripherals
 
corkyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 24,118
Default

Thanks for that explanation, Chris. I wish OPs would define their acronyms when first used, especially when there are several meanings to the same one. (Basic tech writing 101.)
__________________
CorkyG - Tucson, AZ

In my view you cannot claim to have seen something until you have photographed it.... Emile Zola
corkyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 02:25 PM   #5
IntelEnthusiast
Intel Representative
 
IntelEnthusiast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Utah
Posts: 582
Default

Ok you got me to with the HDD (hard disk drive) and SSD (Solid State Drive)
__________________
Christian Wood
Intel Enthusiast Team

Intel® Core™ i5-3570K, Intel® SSD 520 120GB, Intel® DZ77GA-70K, SilverStone 750W PSU, EVGA GeForce GTX 580, Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3-1600MHz, Corsair H100 Cooler, Corsair CC600TM, Western Digital 1TB Black HDD
IntelEnthusiast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 02:38 PM   #6
corkyg
Moderator
Peripherals
 
corkyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 24,118
Default

Those are quite common and no apparent multiple meanings. <LOL>
__________________
CorkyG - Tucson, AZ

In my view you cannot claim to have seen something until you have photographed it.... Emile Zola
corkyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 03:03 AM   #7
HexiumVII
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 612
Default

Sorry about the acronyms guys. But seriously, if you don't know what SRT is already, Smart Response Technology doesn't really help much either!
__________________
Ivy 3770k @ 4.5GHz w/IFX14 TY-140 @75C
Asrock Z77 EX4, Auto level 3LLC
16GB Crucial 1600, 1.35v, CAS11
Samsung 830
1TB WD Black RAID1
2TB Hitachi
EVGA 560Ti448@925
Lian Li V2000B
Soyo 24" LCD + 22" Samsung
HexiumVII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 03:16 AM   #8
Coup27
Golden Member
 
Coup27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: England, UK
Posts: 1,802
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HexiumVII View Post
Sorry about the acronyms guys. But seriously, if you don't know what SRT is already, Smart Response Technology doesn't really help much either!
Point this side.
__________________
Intel i5 4670 | Asus H87I-PLUS | Corsair XMS3 2x4GB | Samsung 840 Evo 120GB SSD | WD Green 3TB HDD | Seasonic SS-360GP | Lian-Li PC-Q27B mITX | Dell 23" IPS Monitor
Coup27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 10:13 AM   #9
MrX8503
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,530
Default

I wouldn't do an SSD boot drive with Intel SRT, its kind of redundant and would probably slow it down. What you could do however is have an SSD Boot, 1TB HDD for games or other files, and then have Intel SRT to boost the speed of your 1TB HDD.
MrX8503 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 02:14 PM   #10
kbp
Senior Member
 
kbp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Northern Lower Peninsula
Posts: 568
Default

I don't think the Intel SRT would slow it down.
__________________

kbp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 03:22 PM   #11
MrX8503
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,530
Default

The Agility 3 is slower than the 830. Instead of retrieving the file directly from the 830 it has to get it from the slower drive (Agility 3). In the realworld you probably wouldn't notice though.
MrX8503 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 07:39 PM   #12
bryanW1995
Lifer
 
bryanW1995's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 10,916
Default

...
__________________
4770k, Noctua nh-d14, 2x256gb m4, xfx 850w, 7970, HAF-x, Asus z87-pro, 2x8gb Hyper X
2500k @ 4.54, hyper 212+, ga-z68ma-d2h, wd20ears, 2x4gb ddr3 1600, gtx 480, antec 900
i7 920 @ 3.95, TRUE, evga x58 sli, 9600 gso, wd6400aaks, hx 620, 2x2 ddr3, antec 900
MSI GT 70 2oc, i7 4700 mq, gtx 770m, 8gb ram, 240gb crucial m500, 750 gb, bd reader, win 8
HP dv7tqe, i7 2670, 6670m 1gb, 8gb ram, 160gb intel 320 ssd, 750 gb 7200 rpm,win 7 x64

Last edited by bryanW1995; 03-22-2012 at 07:44 PM.
bryanW1995 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 07:04 PM   #13
slpnshot
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: CA
Posts: 296
Default

So if I'm willing to sacrifice a bit of SSD speed for an overall HDD speed boost, is it recommended to do the SRT setup?

I'm getting a 128 SSD so I was planning on using half as the boot OS and 20gb~(I think it's 18 max) of whatever is left as the cache for my HDD.
__________________
i5-2500K @stock - 4.5 | Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo | Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3 | Asus HD7850 | 2 x 4GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1333 | Samsung 830 128GB | WD Caviar Black 7200rpm 1TB | Seasonic X560 PSU | Fractal Design Define R3
slpnshot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 07:13 PM   #14
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,930
Default

@slpnshot

Depends on what you have on the HDD. If they're files you frequently access and you feel you'd benefit from accessing them faster then yes.

SRT can use a partition up to 60gb in size.
__________________
System specs
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.