Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Social > Off Topic

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-10-2012, 02:53 PM   #1
Yzzim
Lifer
 
Yzzim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 11,990
Default Electricians: How to install electrical box in 2x4 header?

So I'm doing some remodeling in the kitchen and have spent all morning trying to figure out this out. How do you get an electrical box for a pendant light in a 2x4 header? I'm trying to frame in a bar area and the wife wants some pendant lights above the bar. Is this even possible in a 2x4 frame?

I could mount a ceiling light electrical box on the 2x4 and then do another frame around that, but the ceiling light box is 3.5" diameter, so I'd have nothing to screw the drywall into around the box (say nothing of the corner bead).

Would it be possible to use a single gang outlet box for a ceiling light? Are the mount holes the same?

Any other ideas?

Picture here:
__________________
Heatware | Better Credit Cards
Yzzim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 02:57 PM   #2
Red Squirrel
Lifer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 27,842
Default

I hope that's not a load bearing wall, that header should be thicker.

But that aside, what I would do is nail another 2x4 below it, but have it stop where you want the boxes, then screw the boxes to said 2x4. I'm not sure if this is the "right" way to do it though, but it should work. So picture the boxes right below that 2x4, with the rest of the space being pieces of 2x4 so it's flush.
__________________
~Red Squirrel~
486dx2 @66Mhz turbo, 8MB ram, 512MB HDD, sound blaster 16 + 2x cdrom, Trident 1MB video card @ 640*480, 56k high speed modem.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 03:02 PM   #3
Yzzim
Lifer
 
Yzzim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 11,990
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Squirrel View Post
I hope that's not a load bearing wall, that header should be thicker.

But that aside, what I would do is nail another 2x4 below it, but have it stop where you want the boxes, then screw the boxes to said 2x4. I'm not sure if this is the "right" way to do it though, but it should work. So picture the boxes right below that 2x4, with the rest of the space being pieces of 2x4 so it's flush.
It's not load bearing.

The boxes are 3.5" diameter...same width as a 2x4. What would I attach the drywall and corner bead to?
__________________
Heatware | Better Credit Cards
Yzzim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 03:03 PM   #4
Red Squirrel
Lifer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 27,842
Default

Pic for clarity:



If they're the exact same width as the 2x4, you could maybe even just double the 2x4.

Though maybe there's a better method, we'll see what others say.
__________________
~Red Squirrel~
486dx2 @66Mhz turbo, 8MB ram, 512MB HDD, sound blaster 16 + 2x cdrom, Trident 1MB video card @ 640*480, 56k high speed modem.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 03:04 PM   #5
vi edit
Super Moderator
 
vi edit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 53,654
Default

You could do one of those 12v monorail systems and just hang the rail after you drywall.
__________________
Everyone has a photographic memory. It's just that not everyone has film.
vi edit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 03:05 PM   #6
Yzzim
Lifer
 
Yzzim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 11,990
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vi edit View Post
You could do one of those 12v monorail systems and just hang the rail after you drywall.
Don't I still need an electrical box?
__________________
Heatware | Better Credit Cards
Yzzim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.