Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Software for Windows

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-10-2012, 01:32 AM   #1
berryracer
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dubai
Posts: 1,884
Question Which ADOBE Startup Files can I Disable?

I have the following Installed:

- Adobe Reader X 10.1.2
- Adobe Photoshop CS5.1
- Adobe Illustrator CS5.1



Which of the following startup items is safe to remove?

  1. Adobe AAMUpdater-1.0 (Adobe Updater Startup Utility)
  2. Adobe ARM (Adobe Reader and Acrobat Manager)
  3. Adobe CS5.5 Service Manager
  4. SwitchBoard (Switchboard Server 32-Bit)
__________________
ALIENWARE 18 Laptop
CPU: Intel Core i7-4800MQ CPU @ 3.7 GHz
Memory: 32 GB Kingston HyperX 1866 MHz DDR3 PC3-14900 RAM
GPU: Dual GeForce GTX 770M SLI 6 GB GDDR5 RAM
Storage: 2x Samsung 840 PRO 512GB SSD + Samsung 840 EVO 1TB mSATA SSD
berryracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 08:50 AM   #2
Dahak
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,502
Default

I know the Adobe ARM can be gone, i have not seen it break anything. as for the other 3 i dont know. you can just temporarily disable them in msconfig and see if anything does not work and if so just turn them back on.

The first one looks like its for the adobe updater, but i do not think it need to be running all the time, unless you want it to download the updates in the background
__________________
Why does the Universe go to all the bother of existing? - Stephen Hawking

Procrastination is the art of keeping up with last week.
Dahak is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 09:08 AM   #3
berryracer
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dubai
Posts: 1,884
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dahak View Post
I know the Adobe ARM can be gone, i have not seen it break anything. as for the other 3 i dont know. you can just temporarily disable them in msconfig and see if anything does not work and if so just turn them back on.

The first one looks like its for the adobe updater, but i do not think it need to be running all the time, unless you want it to download the updates in the background
Well I did disable them all and nothing broke (so far) but I am afraid of disabling this switchboard thing or the Services manager maybe I might have problems in the future.

I hope anyone who has experience with these files can shed some light here
__________________
ALIENWARE 18 Laptop
CPU: Intel Core i7-4800MQ CPU @ 3.7 GHz
Memory: 32 GB Kingston HyperX 1866 MHz DDR3 PC3-14900 RAM
GPU: Dual GeForce GTX 770M SLI 6 GB GDDR5 RAM
Storage: 2x Samsung 840 PRO 512GB SSD + Samsung 840 EVO 1TB mSATA SSD
berryracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 09:33 AM   #4
janas19
Banned
 
janas19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: ATL
Posts: 2,352
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matrix Leader View Post
Well I did disable them all and nothing broke (so far) but I am afraid of disabling this switchboard thing or the Services manager maybe I might have problems in the future.

I hope anyone who has experience with these files can shed some light here
Yeah, just disable all your startup processes except system processes. Adobe is not a driver or a system process so it won't affect your startup.
janas19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 03:44 PM   #5
Charlie98
Diamond Member
 
Charlie98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 3,803
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by janas19 View Post
Yeah, just disable all your startup processes except system processes. Adobe is not a driver or a system process so it won't affect your startup.
Yes, I shut all mine off... The don't need to be sucking resources unless called upon.
__________________
DESK: i5 2500K, Giga Z68MA-D2H-B3, 212+ P/P, M5Pro 256GB, 2TB Seagate, 2x 4GB Samsung RAM, EVGA 760SC ACX, Corsair TX750v2, Fractal Define Mini, W7
HTPC: Pentium G620, Giga B75M-D3H, Agility3 64GB, 2 x 3TB HDD, 2x 2GB Nanya RAM, Diamond HD6450, Corsair CX430v2, Fractal Define Mini, W7, WMC/MB
DESK3: Pentium G3220, Giga H81M-H, 840Pro 256GB, Team 2x 4GB RAM, EVGA 560Ti 448, Corsair CX430M, Fractal Arc Mini, W8.1
Charlie98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 04:17 PM   #6
berryracer
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dubai
Posts: 1,884
Default

alright thanks guys, I disabled all startup entries relevant to Adobe
__________________
ALIENWARE 18 Laptop
CPU: Intel Core i7-4800MQ CPU @ 3.7 GHz
Memory: 32 GB Kingston HyperX 1866 MHz DDR3 PC3-14900 RAM
GPU: Dual GeForce GTX 770M SLI 6 GB GDDR5 RAM
Storage: 2x Samsung 840 PRO 512GB SSD + Samsung 840 EVO 1TB mSATA SSD
berryracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 06:34 PM   #7
janas19
Banned
 
janas19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: ATL
Posts: 2,352
Default

ML what are you planning on doing with your setup? You seem to ask a lot of questions.

Just curious.
janas19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 02:56 AM   #8
berryracer
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dubai
Posts: 1,884
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by janas19 View Post
ML what are you planning on doing with your setup? You seem to ask a lot of questions.

Just curious.
Nothing really, I am just a perfection freak I like to have the best and top notch system without having anything not needed running
__________________
ALIENWARE 18 Laptop
CPU: Intel Core i7-4800MQ CPU @ 3.7 GHz
Memory: 32 GB Kingston HyperX 1866 MHz DDR3 PC3-14900 RAM
GPU: Dual GeForce GTX 770M SLI 6 GB GDDR5 RAM
Storage: 2x Samsung 840 PRO 512GB SSD + Samsung 840 EVO 1TB mSATA SSD
berryracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 11:33 AM   #9
janas19
Banned
 
janas19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: ATL
Posts: 2,352
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matrix Leader View Post
Nothing really, I am just a perfection freak I like to have the best and top notch system without having anything not needed running
Ha ok. I like things to work but perfection is hard to attain lol . Good luck with your project, though!
janas19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 01:27 PM   #10
berryracer
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dubai
Posts: 1,884
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by janas19 View Post
Ha ok. I like things to work but perfection is hard to attain lol . Good luck with your project, though!
Im there now thanks to you guys and thanks to easily restoring my images using Acronis True Image
__________________
ALIENWARE 18 Laptop
CPU: Intel Core i7-4800MQ CPU @ 3.7 GHz
Memory: 32 GB Kingston HyperX 1866 MHz DDR3 PC3-14900 RAM
GPU: Dual GeForce GTX 770M SLI 6 GB GDDR5 RAM
Storage: 2x Samsung 840 PRO 512GB SSD + Samsung 840 EVO 1TB mSATA SSD
berryracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 04:47 PM   #11
pyonir
Lifer
 
pyonir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Omnipresent
Posts: 40,294
Default

Someone recommended this here a while back: http://www.malwarebytes.org/products/startuplite

Really only have to run it once.
__________________
"To get back my youth I would do anything in the world, except take exercise, get up early, or be respectable." Oscar Wilde, "The Picture of Dorian Gray"

FunTrivia - Yes, I realize it's a referral, but I'd appreciate it. I get a few (useless) points if you sign up.
pyonir is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.