Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Video Cards and Graphics

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-08-2012, 12:00 PM   #1
JEDI
Lifer
 
JEDI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Somewhere between hare . . . . . & their
Posts: 20,158
Default Radeon 2600 pro vs i3's Intel HD Graphics 2000

i have 4 monitors. my 2 video cards are the Radeon 4850 and an old Radeon 2600 Pro.

if i upgrade to the i3 for my budget build, should i eliminate the 2600 Pro?
ie: Which is better? The 2600 Pro or the Intel HD Graphics 2000? (Google has failed me.)

also, if the mobo does both DVI and VGA, can i plug 2 monitors into the mobo?

thx


edit:
the i3-2100 is dual display capable
__________________
Quote:
Irony: The new Virgin Mary aborted the 2nd coming of Christ in 2000
Happy 50th anniversay of JFK's assassination: I was there & saw the other Lone Gunmen on the Grassy Knoll. Elvis!!
-He got away with the kill but Marilyn Monroe got her revenge in a murder/suicide.
Proof God exists: https://scontent-b-iad.xx.fbcdn.net/...06913729_n.png I blame Bush!

Last edited by JEDI; 01-08-2012 at 12:46 PM.
JEDI is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 12:03 PM   #2
Lonyo
Lifer
 
Lonyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 21,672
Default

If it's just for 2D stuff, then it doesn't really matter.
Best option is to try the motherboard outputs and get 4 monitors, and if for any reason they won't want to work properly, add the 2600Pro.

It's better in terms of power/heat. There's no advantage to the 2600 if you're only on 2D stuff, and the integrated graphics might even have better hardware decode if you play videos.
__________________
CPU: Q3570K @ 4.1GHz 1.23v // Mobo: Asus P8Z77-V // GFX: Sapphire Tri-X 290 @ 1000/5200 // RAM: Corsair DDR3 @ 1600MHz 9-9-9-24 // SSD: Samsung 830 128GB
Video cards: TNT2, Ti4400, 9800, 7800GT(+7200GS), HD4850(+HD2400), HD6850, HD7950 (Laptops: GF6150, HD3200, GMA500)
Lonyo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 12:27 PM   #3
MrTeal
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 446
Default

According to videocardbenchmark.net

Code:
Videocard Type		G3D Rating	Rank	Videocard Value	Price
Radeon HD 2600 PRO	261		498	NA		NA
Intel HD i3-2100	272		480	NA		NA
I don't think it could get much closer than that. Unless you need to HD2600 for compatibility to run all your monitors, I'd toss it on eBay for $20 and save the slot and the power.
MrTeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 12:34 PM   #4
JEDI
Lifer
 
JEDI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Somewhere between hare . . . . . & their
Posts: 20,158
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrTeal View Post
According to videocardbenchmark.net

Code:
Videocard Type		G3D Rating	Rank	Videocard Value	Price
Radeon HD 2600 PRO	261		498	NA		NA
Intel HD i3-2100	272		480	NA		NA
I don't think it could get much closer than that. Unless you need to HD2600 for compatibility to run all your monitors, I'd toss it on eBay for $20 and save the slot and the power.
thx, but how did you get the 2 to compare on that website?
__________________
Quote:
Irony: The new Virgin Mary aborted the 2nd coming of Christ in 2000
Happy 50th anniversay of JFK's assassination: I was there & saw the other Lone Gunmen on the Grassy Knoll. Elvis!!
-He got away with the kill but Marilyn Monroe got her revenge in a murder/suicide.
Proof God exists: https://scontent-b-iad.xx.fbcdn.net/...06913729_n.png I blame Bush!
JEDI is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 12:39 PM   #5
MrTeal
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 446
Default

I didn't. Copy and paste.
MrTeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 12:44 PM   #6
tynopik
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2,539
Default

One thing to consider is that i often find vga output to be blurry. You might be better served to stick to an all-digital-out configuration
tynopik is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 02:00 PM   #7
skipsneeky2
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,731
Default

Good question would be could the 2600 pro play crysis?

I have been able to play crysis at 800x600 on low on the hd2000 and its pretty smooth...if your 2600 pro could do that who knows.

Even BF3 is playable on hd2000 but at like 640x540 on low or something LOL i know i have tried perhaps these two titles could give you some answers?
skipsneeky2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 02:02 PM   #8
toyota
Lifer
 
toyota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: my chair
Posts: 12,609
Default

for gaming the 2600 pro is easily faster than the HD 3000 never mind the HD 2000.
__________________
Win 8.1 64 bit | 4770k@4.4 | Asus Z87 Pro | Asus reference GTX 980 | G.SKILL Ares 16GB DDR3 2133 | Seagate SSHD 2TB | Corsair 500R | Corsair TX650 V2 | Sound Blaster Zx | Gateway 23inch 1920x1080 IPS
toyota is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 03:27 PM   #9
Arkadrel
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3,678
Default

The 2600 pro, from wiki is like:


a "120:8:4" gpu with like 15.6-21.9 GB/s memory bandwidth.

The closest 5xxx card, would probably be a 5450 or so with its "80:8:4" and 12.8 GB/s memory bandwidth. Even if 120/80 = 50%, the step up to the 320 shader models, is a bigger differnce.

I kinda suspect the I3's HD graphics 2000, is faster...not sure though.

He should run a benchmark on both, and if IGP proves faster pull out the card.
Arkadrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 03:55 PM   #10
toyota
Lifer
 
toyota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: my chair
Posts: 12,609
Default

sometimes you guys make me scratch my head. the 2600 pro is faster than a 5450 and easily faster than the HD3000 and HD2000.
__________________
Win 8.1 64 bit | 4770k@4.4 | Asus Z87 Pro | Asus reference GTX 980 | G.SKILL Ares 16GB DDR3 2133 | Seagate SSHD 2TB | Corsair 500R | Corsair TX650 V2 | Sound Blaster Zx | Gateway 23inch 1920x1080 IPS
toyota is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 03:03 PM   #11
JEDI
Lifer
 
JEDI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Somewhere between hare . . . . . & their
Posts: 20,158
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toyota View Post
sometimes you guys make me scratch my head. the 2600 pro is faster than a 5450 and easily faster than the HD3000 and HD2000.
WHAT?

my 2600 pro is at least 4yrs old and i got it for $25 when it was down to competing vs entry level cards at that time. (it was near end of life.)

according to videocardbenchmark.net:

card/G3D rating/Rank
Radeon HD 2600 PRO/ 261/ 498
Intel HD i3-2100/ 272/ 480
Intel HD i5-2500K/ 437/ 291

the i3's HD2000 barely beats the 2600 Pro.
the i5's HD3000 is 50% better.
__________________
Quote:
Irony: The new Virgin Mary aborted the 2nd coming of Christ in 2000
Happy 50th anniversay of JFK's assassination: I was there & saw the other Lone Gunmen on the Grassy Knoll. Elvis!!
-He got away with the kill but Marilyn Monroe got her revenge in a murder/suicide.
Proof God exists: https://scontent-b-iad.xx.fbcdn.net/...06913729_n.png I blame Bush!

Last edited by JEDI; 01-09-2012 at 03:06 PM.
JEDI is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 03:29 PM   #12
toyota
Lifer
 
toyota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: my chair
Posts: 12,609
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JEDI View Post
WHAT?

my 2600 pro is at least 4yrs old and i got it for $25 when it was down to competing vs entry level cards at that time. (it was near end of life.)

according to videocardbenchmark.net:

card/G3D rating/Rank
Radeon HD 2600 PRO/ 261/ 498
Intel HD i3-2100/ 272/ 480
Intel HD i5-2500K/ 437/ 291

the i3's HD2000 barely beats the 2600 Pro.
the i5's HD3000 is 50% better.
nonsense. an HD2000 does NOT beat a 2600 pro and that is a fact. even the HD3000 does not beat it. if you think an HD3000 is maybe 40-50% faster than the 2600 pro then you have no idea what you talking about. lol, do you people look at reviews? a 2600 pro is just a wee bit slower than an 8600gt and those cards are faster than the HD2000/HD3000 gpus which compete with the 5450 level of cards overall.



EDIT: here you see even proof that overall the HD3000/HD2000, even overclocked, only competes with the 5450. even the stock HD3000 is slower than the 5450 in all but a couple of cases. a 2600 pro is about 50% faster than a 5450 so do the math and see that even an oced HD3000 would be slower never mind a stock HD2000. http://www.anandtech.com/show/4083/t...2100-tested/11
__________________
Win 8.1 64 bit | 4770k@4.4 | Asus Z87 Pro | Asus reference GTX 980 | G.SKILL Ares 16GB DDR3 2133 | Seagate SSHD 2TB | Corsair 500R | Corsair TX650 V2 | Sound Blaster Zx | Gateway 23inch 1920x1080 IPS

Last edited by toyota; 01-09-2012 at 04:38 PM.
toyota is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 04:14 PM   #13
MrTeal
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 446
Default

The HD5450 is about 5-10% slower than a HD4550, so the HD4550 is decently faster than Intel's HD3000.

The HD2600 Pro (DDR2 version) is consistently slower than the HD4550.
http://www.tomshardware.com/charts/g...1797.html?prod[3543]=on&prod[3552]=on
Not sure why the headers don't work, but the HD2600 Pro is the second column. Neither solution is going to run anything remotely current at a playable framerate, but at least the SB IGP gives you access to QuickSync.

Regardless, I think in either case as long as the solution works for driving 4 monitors and the OP doesn't mind one being VGA, ditch the 2600 Pro and just run the other two monitors off the i3. It's not like the 2600 or the IGP would be used for gaming anyway.
MrTeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 04:35 PM   #14
toyota
Lifer
 
toyota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: my chair
Posts: 12,609
Default

I was thinking the 2600 Pro was DDR3 but it looks like standard version is DDR2. its still easily faster than the HD2000 though the HD3000 would match it in some cases then.
__________________
Win 8.1 64 bit | 4770k@4.4 | Asus Z87 Pro | Asus reference GTX 980 | G.SKILL Ares 16GB DDR3 2133 | Seagate SSHD 2TB | Corsair 500R | Corsair TX650 V2 | Sound Blaster Zx | Gateway 23inch 1920x1080 IPS

Last edited by toyota; 01-09-2012 at 04:39 PM.
toyota is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 04:48 PM   #15
IonusX
Senior Member
 
IonusX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 392
Default

thje intel hd 3000 = hd 2400pro 256mb
__________________
desktop: antec 900 case, ASUS P7P55D mobo, CM hyper 212+ cooler , seagate 320gb barracuda,80gb barracuda, LG dvd-rom, 8gb ddr2-800 ocz, intel core i7 860, Gigabyte GTX 680, OCZ 650 watt, samsung 32" LCD, Tt e-sports challenger pro keyboard, logitech g500, headrush gaming headset.
steam ID : Ionus123
now out of the closet!
IonusX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 04:53 PM   #16
blckgrffn
Diamond Member
 
blckgrffn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Blaine, MN
Posts: 6,639
Default

Keep all three

Seriously, you should use all digital outputs as mentioned earlier in the thread... My $.02

I think we can all agree that the HD2000 and the HD2600 are so slow performance as to make it a non-issue from that perspective. Do you need every drop of RAM your system has? Dedicated Video card. Want to save juice? Onboard. Concerned about drivers? In this case I am guessing that's a draw given how old the 2600 is....
__________________
Crunch/Fold for the TeAm! http://forums.anandtech.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15

3930k @ 4.2 - GA-UP4 - 2x MSI TF3 7950 - 32GB EL RAM - Seasonic X650 - 840 250GB - U2913WM

Last edited by blckgrffn; 01-09-2012 at 04:55 PM.
blckgrffn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 05:10 PM   #17
toyota
Lifer
 
toyota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: my chair
Posts: 12,609
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IonusX View Post
thje intel hd 3000 = hd 2400pro 256mb
um no its not that bad. you can clearly see the HD3000 is about on par with the 5450 which is twice as fast as the 2400.
__________________
Win 8.1 64 bit | 4770k@4.4 | Asus Z87 Pro | Asus reference GTX 980 | G.SKILL Ares 16GB DDR3 2133 | Seagate SSHD 2TB | Corsair 500R | Corsair TX650 V2 | Sound Blaster Zx | Gateway 23inch 1920x1080 IPS
toyota is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 05:36 PM   #18
IonusX
Senior Member
 
IonusX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 392
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toyota View Post
um no its not that bad. you can clearly see the HD3000 is about on par with the 5450 which is twice as fast as the 2400.
every bench ive seen puts it below the 5450.. its barely better than the mobility hd 4330
__________________
desktop: antec 900 case, ASUS P7P55D mobo, CM hyper 212+ cooler , seagate 320gb barracuda,80gb barracuda, LG dvd-rom, 8gb ddr2-800 ocz, intel core i7 860, Gigabyte GTX 680, OCZ 650 watt, samsung 32" LCD, Tt e-sports challenger pro keyboard, logitech g500, headrush gaming headset.
steam ID : Ionus123
now out of the closet!
IonusX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 05:38 PM   #19
toyota
Lifer
 
toyota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: my chair
Posts: 12,609
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IonusX View Post
every bench ive seen puts it below the 5450.. its barely better than the mobility hd 4330
did you even see the review link I posted? the HD3000 is right there with the 5450 in many cases and even beats it in a few. overall the HD3000 would easily beat out the 2400 pro.
__________________
Win 8.1 64 bit | 4770k@4.4 | Asus Z87 Pro | Asus reference GTX 980 | G.SKILL Ares 16GB DDR3 2133 | Seagate SSHD 2TB | Corsair 500R | Corsair TX650 V2 | Sound Blaster Zx | Gateway 23inch 1920x1080 IPS

Last edited by toyota; 01-09-2012 at 05:49 PM.
toyota is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 05:47 PM   #20
Vesku
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,169
Default

I remember looking at the 2600pro when it started to hit the $30-40 price point. I don't think it was ever a great gaming card but image quality is one aspect the 2000 series got some kudos for. If you are sensitive to an incandescent light bulb amount of power use then I'd try to get by on the integrated HD graphics, otherwise I'd follow the recommendation of trying to keep everything on a digital output with the 2600pro (4850?) hooked up to primary monitor.

Oh, and make sure your motherboard is also dual display capable. I recall some of the budget H series boards had some funky video fineprint.
Vesku is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.