Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-28-2011, 01:02 PM   #1
bagrata
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Georgia/Sakartvelo
Posts: 5
Angry HD Tune: Ultra DMA CRC Error Count

hi
I have same problem like subhendu
I bought seagate hdd 3 weeks ago, it's works fine, but after several days, his speed in hd tune benchmark dropped from 118mb/s to 3mb/s!!
I check hdd health status and i saw this

Ultra DMA CRC Error Count
Number of interface communication errors:2




I changed my hdd, but after several days, new hdd started same problem
I changed cables and test in another sata port, but problem did not solved
can you help me?

Sorry for my English.

Last edited by bagrata; 12-29-2011 at 06:16 AM.
bagrata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 03:17 PM   #2
bagrata
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Georgia/Sakartvelo
Posts: 5
Default

up
bagrata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 06:18 AM   #3
bagrata
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Georgia/Sakartvelo
Posts: 5
Default

up
bagrata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 06:49 AM   #4
imaheadcase
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,373
Default

Might just be a bad hardrive, did you run chkdisk?
imaheadcase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 07:03 AM   #5
Rifter
Diamond Member
 
Rifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 8,501
Default

Check the RAM, run memtest overnight and see what it says.

Also it could be a bad controller/motherboard.
__________________
i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz 1.35V -- Asus P6X58D-E -- Noctua NH-D14 -- Corsair XMS3 6GB 1600Mhz
SLI GTX 460 860Mhz -- Intel 120GB G2 SSD -- 2 x 1TB Seagate 7200.12 1TB in RAID 0
Corsair 850w TX PSU -- Corsair 600T case -- WD Green 2TB -- Seagate LP 2TB

Oppan Gangnam style all up in this mother!
Rifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 07:29 AM   #6
bagrata
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Georgia/Sakartvelo
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by imaheadcase View Post
Might just be a bad hardrive, did you run chkdisk?
what that mean?


Quote:
Check the RAM, run memtest overnight and see what it says.
ok
bagrata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 07:50 AM   #7
Rifter
Diamond Member
 
Rifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 8,501
Default

that means you either have a bad hard drive or a bad hard drive controller. However RAM could still be the problem.
__________________
i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz 1.35V -- Asus P6X58D-E -- Noctua NH-D14 -- Corsair XMS3 6GB 1600Mhz
SLI GTX 460 860Mhz -- Intel 120GB G2 SSD -- 2 x 1TB Seagate 7200.12 1TB in RAID 0
Corsair 850w TX PSU -- Corsair 600T case -- WD Green 2TB -- Seagate LP 2TB

Oppan Gangnam style all up in this mother!
Rifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 07:56 AM   #8
bagrata
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Georgia/Sakartvelo
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
that means you either have a bad hard drive
I test two hdds.

Quote:
bad hard drive controller
oh no.

Have you heard solve that problem with smart log? (what is it?)
bagrata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 09:03 AM   #9
Nothinman
Elite Member
 
Nothinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 30,672
Default

That just means you ran chkdsk on a mounted volume, you need to run it with /F to actually fix things and it'll need to dismount the volume in order to do so. If it's the system volume this will require a reboot.

The most likely culprit of CRC errors is cabling, interference or environment like heat. Do you have other cables to try?
__________________
http://www.debian.org
Nothinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 09:35 AM   #10
Rifter
Diamond Member
 
Rifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 8,501
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nothinman View Post
That just means you ran chkdsk on a mounted volume, you need to run it with /F to actually fix things and it'll need to dismount the volume in order to do so. If it's the system volume this will require a reboot.

The most likely culprit of CRC errors is cabling, interference or environment like heat. Do you have other cables to try?
I believe he said in the OP he had tried multiple ports and cables, which is why i think its mobo or ram related.
__________________
i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz 1.35V -- Asus P6X58D-E -- Noctua NH-D14 -- Corsair XMS3 6GB 1600Mhz
SLI GTX 460 860Mhz -- Intel 120GB G2 SSD -- 2 x 1TB Seagate 7200.12 1TB in RAID 0
Corsair 850w TX PSU -- Corsair 600T case -- WD Green 2TB -- Seagate LP 2TB

Oppan Gangnam style all up in this mother!
Rifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 09:39 AM   #11
Nothinman
Elite Member
 
Nothinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 30,672
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rifter View Post
I believe he said in the OP he had tried multiple ports and cables, which is why i think its mobo or ram related.
Could be, but that chkdsk output isn't an indication of anything more than having run chkdsk on a mounted volume.
__________________
http://www.debian.org
Nothinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 09:51 AM   #12
Rifter
Diamond Member
 
Rifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 8,501
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nothinman View Post
Could be, but that chkdsk output isn't an indication of anything more than having run chkdsk on a mounted volume.
true, but it is the second HDD with issues.
__________________
i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz 1.35V -- Asus P6X58D-E -- Noctua NH-D14 -- Corsair XMS3 6GB 1600Mhz
SLI GTX 460 860Mhz -- Intel 120GB G2 SSD -- 2 x 1TB Seagate 7200.12 1TB in RAID 0
Corsair 850w TX PSU -- Corsair 600T case -- WD Green 2TB -- Seagate LP 2TB

Oppan Gangnam style all up in this mother!
Rifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 10:21 AM   #13
Nothinman
Elite Member
 
Nothinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 30,672
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rifter View Post
true, but it is the second HDD with issues.
Then it's even more worthless since he ran it on the C: drive...
__________________
http://www.debian.org
Nothinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 10:37 AM   #14
Rifter
Diamond Member
 
Rifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 8,501
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nothinman View Post
Then it's even more worthless since he ran it on the C: drive...
wow English failed me. I was trying to say this is the second hard drive he was having the same issue with on the same system, not that it was the second physical drive in the system.
__________________
i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz 1.35V -- Asus P6X58D-E -- Noctua NH-D14 -- Corsair XMS3 6GB 1600Mhz
SLI GTX 460 860Mhz -- Intel 120GB G2 SSD -- 2 x 1TB Seagate 7200.12 1TB in RAID 0
Corsair 850w TX PSU -- Corsair 600T case -- WD Green 2TB -- Seagate LP 2TB

Oppan Gangnam style all up in this mother!
Rifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 10:58 AM   #15
Nothinman
Elite Member
 
Nothinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 30,672
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rifter View Post
wow English failed me. I was trying to say this is the second hard drive he was having the same issue with on the same system, not that it was the second physical drive in the system.
Wow, talk about communication issues. =) If that's the case, then yea it's probably the motherboard that's the root cause. A BIOS/firmware update or even just drivers might be able to work around the problem though.
__________________
http://www.debian.org
Nothinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hdd

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.