Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-28-2011, 12:35 PM   #1
kami
Lifer
 
kami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Canada
Posts: 17,581
Default Best router for simultaneous Netflix and online gaming?

I currently have a D-Link DIR-655 that I've had for about 3-4 years now. I'm still mostly happy with it but I am wondering if theres anything better out there that would give me better latency in games while someone else is watching Netflix on the same connection. My ping is normally around 40ms but when someone is on Netflix it goes up to 170-200ms. Netflix is not saturating the connection. I've played around with QoS and priority settings without much luck.

Are there any more modern routers that would improve gaming performance, obviously without affecting the Netflix stream as well? Also this is a DSL connection.

Thanks

edit: thread is kinda old so i wont bump it. new router did make a difference. netgear wndr3400v2. pings are now 65-70ms while someone is watching netflix.
__________________
3770k @ 4.4GHz, Asus P8Z68 Pro Gen3, 16GB DDR3-1600, Gigabyte Windforce OC GTX 780, Crossover 27QD 27" (2560x1440 IPS), Asus Xonar STX, 500GB Samsung 840 SSD, 12TB in storage drives, Corsair C70 case

Last edited by kami; 01-10-2012 at 05:54 PM.
kami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 03:12 PM   #2
bobdole369
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,504
Default

That uplink saturates purrrrrty quick on DSL. Is it at least 6mb/768k? A router won't fix that you don't have a broadband connection, but I will say that if you've got 768k uplink - you shouldn't get that much lag when watching netflix (which is typically 1-2.5mbits down)
__________________
Things that make you smile.

Administration of a drug to an addict will cause re-establishment of chemical dependence upon the addictive substance. Quit smoking and using nicotine in ***all*** its forms today.
bobdole369 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 03:50 PM   #3
kami
Lifer
 
kami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Canada
Posts: 17,581
Default

It's a 12/1 connection. The games are still playable but the extra 100+ms is noticeable.

I'm just wondering if a better router could even make a difference.
__________________
3770k @ 4.4GHz, Asus P8Z68 Pro Gen3, 16GB DDR3-1600, Gigabyte Windforce OC GTX 780, Crossover 27QD 27" (2560x1440 IPS), Asus Xonar STX, 500GB Samsung 840 SSD, 12TB in storage drives, Corsair C70 case
kami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 04:09 PM   #4
bobdole369
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,504
Default

Thats no longer plainjane adsl right? (vdsl or some variant, I think they call it uverse down in the US)- Thats enough.

A "better" router might do the trick, the issue is that a decent number of packets are moving across. I've honestly never looked into reducing lag like that.
__________________
Things that make you smile.

Administration of a drug to an addict will cause re-establishment of chemical dependence upon the addictive substance. Quit smoking and using nicotine in ***all*** its forms today.
bobdole369 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 06:11 PM   #5
wirednuts
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7,121
Default

i wouldnt doubt if op is right. i have noticed that most all of the cheaper routers have trouble dealing with simultaneous connections. especially when a lot of data is being transferred.

hopefully someone can suggest the latest model of a good fast router. this would probably be a good start though- http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...Q204N10BKBHQV9
wirednuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 07:24 PM   #6
Sephire
Golden Member
 
Sephire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Roanapur
Posts: 1,333
Default

Try another router.
__________________
Main Rig=>Intel Core i7 970@3.2GHz : ASUS Rampage III Formula X58 : Corsair DDR3 1600 24GB : XFX Radeon HD 6970 : Intel X25 SSD 120GB : 16TB (8x2.0) : Antec P183
File&Media Server=>Intel Core i5 760@2.8GHz : Gigabyte Tech GA-P55 : Corsair DDR3 1333 4GB : XFX Radeon HD 5670 : Areca ARC-1280ML : 30TB (10x1.5)(10x2.0) : NORCO RPC-402
HTPC=>Intel Core i3 530@2.93GHz : Gigabyte Tech H55M-S2H : Corsair DDR3 1333 4GB : Sapphire Radeon HD 5450 : Lian-Li PC-V351
All systems (6) Windows 7 64 bit
Sephire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 01:29 AM   #7
Rifter
Diamond Member
 
Rifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 8,501
Default

Every home/office type router i have tried Qos on has been a dissapointment, i believe the weak ram/CPU's on these devices is just not up to the task of sorting/applying rules to the number of packets with torrents/streaming.

You could go to a commercial grade router with a beefy CPU but thats going to set you back $500+. What i usually do is set up a old desktop to act as a router and then also apply traffic shaping software as well as web caching and firewall as well to get full use out of the machine. I usually use a linux box running squid/iproute/iptables. This usually results in much better pings and service for the network but setting up something like this can be very challenging if you have no network knowlege.
__________________
i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz 1.35V -- Asus P6X58D-E -- Noctua NH-D14 -- Corsair XMS3 6GB 1600Mhz
SLI GTX 460 860Mhz -- Intel 120GB G2 SSD -- 2 x 1TB Seagate 7200.12 1TB in RAID 0
Corsair 850w TX PSU -- Corsair 600T case -- WD Green 2TB -- Seagate LP 2TB

Oppan Gangnam style all up in this mother!
Rifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 02:33 AM   #8
kami
Lifer
 
kami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Canada
Posts: 17,581
Default

My d-link has a 275mhz CPU and only 16mb ram where a lot of modern ones have 500+MHz CPUs and 128mb ram. One I have been eyeing is the Asus rt-n56u ( http://www.asus.com/Networks/Wireless_Routers/RTN56U/ ) which is supposed to be a good performer from what I have read and also has dual band so I could put my PC on the 5ghz band by itself and let everything else stay on 2.4ghz which also may help. If I end up getting something I will update with results but if anyone else has an opinion please post.
__________________
3770k @ 4.4GHz, Asus P8Z68 Pro Gen3, 16GB DDR3-1600, Gigabyte Windforce OC GTX 780, Crossover 27QD 27" (2560x1440 IPS), Asus Xonar STX, 500GB Samsung 840 SSD, 12TB in storage drives, Corsair C70 case
kami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 09:03 PM   #9
vailr
Diamond Member
 
vailr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 4,353
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kami View Post
I could put my PC on the 5ghz band by itself and let everything else stay on 2.4ghz which also may help.
I could be wrong, but wouldn't a wired router connection to the gaming PC give better results compared with a wireless connection?
__________________



vailr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 09:53 PM   #10
kami
Lifer
 
kami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Canada
Posts: 17,581
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vailr View Post
I could be wrong, but wouldn't a wired router connection to the gaming PC give better results compared with a wireless connection?
I tried this with a long cable I had and sloppily ran it up the stairs. No noticeable difference, maybe a few milliseconds. My PC gets a very strong signal - the NIC has an external antenna I could move around to the optimal spot.
__________________
3770k @ 4.4GHz, Asus P8Z68 Pro Gen3, 16GB DDR3-1600, Gigabyte Windforce OC GTX 780, Crossover 27QD 27" (2560x1440 IPS), Asus Xonar STX, 500GB Samsung 840 SSD, 12TB in storage drives, Corsair C70 case
kami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 12:03 AM   #11
vailr
Diamond Member
 
vailr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 4,353
Default

My suggestion would be: move the DSL modem and the router location to: wired & adjacent to the gaming computer. Also: use a dedicated DSL-only line between the telephone company access box and the DSL modem, if that's not already in place.

Edit: also, see if there's an updated firmware available for your D-Link DIR-655.
__________________




Last edited by vailr; 12-30-2011 at 08:38 AM.
vailr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 09:07 AM   #12
Kartajan
Senior Member
 
Kartajan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 660
Default

FYI- I just updated my DIR-655 to firmware 1.35, and that resolved my issues... The "check for updates" link from the router itself did not display that update, so that would be something that I would try to see if you get improved performance...
__________________
S-1150 4690S; 16G DDR3 1600; 240G OCZ Vector 150 SSD; 1GB HD-5770; Dual Asus VH238H 1920*1080 Monitor. All the good stuff is on the server.
Kartajan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.