Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > CPUs and Overclocking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-05-2011, 04:07 PM   #1
GamingDaemon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 423
Default Celeron i3-G530: Overclock?

Hi Everyone,

Is it possible to overclock the Celeron i3-G530? If so, it it done by modifying the BLCK multiplier? And can I do that on an H61 mobo, or does it need to be on a Z68 mobo?

Thanks in advance...
__________________
Current Gaming Rig:
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.0GHz (22x165, 33C idle, 69C load) - Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD4H (BIOS F8) - G.Skill 16GB RipJaws DDR3-1600 - EVGA nVidia 680 GTX - SanDisk Extreme 120GB SATA III(for OS) - Crucial 240GB SATA III (Data) - 640GB WD - 1TB WD - LG CH10LS20 Blu-Ray Reader - HP ZR30W 30-inch monitor - Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
GamingDaemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 04:34 PM   #2
Kristijonas
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 787
Default

It is not i3-G530, it's "Celeron G530".

And no, it's not possible to overclock the processor, on no motherboard. But, it should be possible to overclock the integrated graphics.
__________________
Intel Pentium G860 | Sapphire HD7790 1Gb Dual-X | MSI B75A-G41 | 2x4Gb 1333 RAM | 1 Tb 7200rpm WD Blue | Enermax Pro82+ 525w | Sound Blaster Zxr | S2340L | Edifier Studio 8
Kristijonas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 04:38 PM   #3
IntelEnthusiast
Intel Representative
 
IntelEnthusiast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Utah
Posts: 582
Default

The Intel® Celeron® G530 isnt designed to be an unlocked processor so while you can get some small overclocking out of it it won't be anything like the Intel Core™ i5-2500K. We have two chipset in the "6" that does allow the overclocking of the Intel Core i5-2500K that is the P67 and the Z68 chipset. H61 and H67 and Q67 won't allow overclocking of the core clock speed.

Christian Wood
Intel Enthusiast Team
IntelEnthusiast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 04:49 PM   #4
GamingDaemon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 423
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IntelEnthusiast View Post
The Intel® Celeron® G530 isnt designed to be an unlocked processor so while you can get some small overclocking out of it it won't be anything like the Intel Core™ i5-2500K. We have two chipset in the "6" that does allow the overclocking of the Intel Core i5-2500K that is the P67 and the Z68 chipset. H61 and H67 and Q67 won't allow overclocking of the core clock speed.

Christian Wood
Intel Enthusiast Team
Ok, thank you. You have answered two of my posts today! This is going in a low-power HTPC, with a discrete nVidia 430 video card, so overclocking really won't be necessary. I was more curious than anything else.

The i3-G530 can do Blu Ray playback, of course. But, I am going with the nVidia 430 card so I have more options to handle the nefarious 23.976Hz issue that everyone struggles with. This article helped me decided on the 430:

http://www.anandtech.com/show/4380/d...us-shootout/16
__________________
Current Gaming Rig:
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.0GHz (22x165, 33C idle, 69C load) - Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD4H (BIOS F8) - G.Skill 16GB RipJaws DDR3-1600 - EVGA nVidia 680 GTX - SanDisk Extreme 120GB SATA III(for OS) - Crucial 240GB SATA III (Data) - 640GB WD - 1TB WD - LG CH10LS20 Blu-Ray Reader - HP ZR30W 30-inch monitor - Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
GamingDaemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 05:04 PM   #5
toyota
Lifer
 
toyota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: time out
Posts: 12,185
Default

lol, stop calling it an i3.
__________________
Win 8.1 64 bit | 4770k@4.4 | Asus Z87 Pro | MSI GTX780 Gaming | G.SKILL Ares 16GB DDR3 2133 | Seagate SSHD 2TB | Corsair 500R | Corsair TX650 V2 | Sound Blaster Zx | Gateway 23inch 1920x1080 IPS
toyota is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 05:13 PM   #6
GamingDaemon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 423
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toyota View Post
lol, stop calling it an i3.
Ok I keep thinking it is in the i3 class/category.
__________________
Current Gaming Rig:
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.0GHz (22x165, 33C idle, 69C load) - Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD4H (BIOS F8) - G.Skill 16GB RipJaws DDR3-1600 - EVGA nVidia 680 GTX - SanDisk Extreme 120GB SATA III(for OS) - Crucial 240GB SATA III (Data) - 640GB WD - 1TB WD - LG CH10LS20 Blu-Ray Reader - HP ZR30W 30-inch monitor - Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
GamingDaemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 05:35 PM   #7
T_Yamamoto
Lifer
 
T_Yamamoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: North Carolina State University
Posts: 13,747
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GamingDaemon View Post
Ok I keep thinking it is in the i3 class/category.
but its not xD
__________________
Intel i5 4430, MSI B85M-P33, Gigabyte Windforce R9 270x, 6GB ram, Intel 530 128gb SSD, WD 150gb HDD, Toshiba Canvio 1tb External HDD, Windows 7, NZXT Vulcan, Dell E2414H, ROCCAT Kova+ Max, TG3 BL82

Mid 2014 13" Macbook Pro, Intel Core i5-4278U 2.6Ghz, Intel Iris 5100 GPU, 8GB ram, 128gb SSD
Heatware | Steam
T_Yamamoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 08:33 PM   #8
Zap
Super Moderator
Off Topic
Elite Member
 
Zap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Somewhere Gillbot can't find me
Posts: 22,378
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GamingDaemon View Post
Ok I keep thinking it is in the i3 class/category.
Slight distinction. The i3 has Hyperthreading and 3MB cache. The G530 doesn't have Hyperthreading, and only has 2MB cache. Also, I think it lacks Quicksync support that the i3 has.
__________________
The best way to future-proof is to save money and spend it on future products. (Ken g6)

SSD turns duds into studs. (JBT)
Zap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 03:37 PM   #9
Bman123
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Bottom of the map
Posts: 2,742
Default

For the price the celeron is a very good cpu, i have no issues with mine at all
__________________
Psn id- Comeonvideogame
LG G2
Vizio E60LI-A3 tv
Bman123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 12:05 AM   #10
Zap
Super Moderator
Off Topic
Elite Member
 
Zap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Somewhere Gillbot can't find me
Posts: 22,378
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bman123 View Post
For the price the celeron is a very good cpu
I agree, but some may not feel the same. I was telling my boss about it and his first reaction was "ugh, Celeron." He just couldn't get over the name due to historic reasons, even after I told him it was a Sandy Bridge dual core.
__________________
The best way to future-proof is to save money and spend it on future products. (Ken g6)

SSD turns duds into studs. (JBT)
Zap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 01:52 AM   #11
Spikesoldier
Diamond Member
 
Spikesoldier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 6,766
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IntelEnthusiast View Post
The Intel® Celeron® G530 isnt designed to be an unlocked processor so while you can get some small overclocking out of it it won't be anything like the Intel Core™ i5-2500K. We have two chipset in the "6" that does allow the overclocking of the Intel Core i5-2500K that is the P67 and the Z68 chipset. H61 and H67 and Q67 won't allow overclocking of the core clock speed.

Christian Wood
Intel Enthusiast Team
Correct. Intel killed overclocking on low and almost all mid and high-range chips beginning with Sandy Bridge.

In OP's case, the last sub-$99 chip that you could overclock significantly would be the first gen Core i3/Pentium Clarkdales, and as an added bonus, these chips also don't care if you are using a low or high end Intel chipset.

I love my Core i5 750 @ 4.0 though. The days of picking up a lower end Intel chip and overclocking like crazy is over. Now you gotta pay to play. Sucks for us gamers and enthusiasts on a budget.
__________________
i5 750 4000MHz (200x20)
MSI P55-GD65
Noctua NH-D14
(4) G.Skill RipjawsX 4GB PC3-12800 DIMM 9-9-9-24-1T
(4) 80GB X25-M G1 RAID0
Gigabyte Windforce HD7950 3GB 1200/1250
ASUS Xonar D1
Lite-On IHOS104-06 BDROM
PC Power & Cooling 750W Silencer (Black)
Lian-Li PC-E8L + Lian Li CR-25B
Yamakasi Q270LED
Logitech Illuminated Keyboard, Logitech G500, Puretrak Talent
Swans M200 Mkiii
Spikesoldier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 02:14 PM   #12
Bman123
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Bottom of the map
Posts: 2,742
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zap View Post
I agree, but some may not feel the same. I was telling my boss about it and his first reaction was "ugh, Celeron." He just couldn't get over the name due to historic reasons, even after I told him it was a Sandy Bridge dual core.
I would be lying if i tried to say i didnt think the same thing at first until i did some research. The old celerons were terrible but this g530 is a whole different class of cpu. I really wish intel wouldnt of named it celeron that alone will steer people away from it unless they do some kind of research.
__________________
Psn id- Comeonvideogame
LG G2
Vizio E60LI-A3 tv
Bman123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 02:23 PM   #13
sm625
Diamond Member
 
sm625's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4,620
Default

Why not buy one of those $329 Gateway A6-3400M notebooks and use that as an HTPC?
__________________
I am looking for a cheap upgrade to my 3 year old computer.
AT forum member #1: Buy a 4790k

I am looking for a way to get 10 more fps in TF2.
AT forum member #2: Buy a 4790k
sm625 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 02:28 PM   #14
KayVeeEmm
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sm625 View Post
Why not buy one of those $329 Gateway A6-3400M notebooks and use that as an HTPC?
I have not seen an A6-3400M laptop this cheap. Perhaps it's an A4-3300M or lower?

If it's indeed an A6-3400M, then I will want a link on that.
KayVeeEmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 01:47 PM   #15
GamingDaemon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 423
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bman123 View Post
I would be lying if i tried to say i didnt think the same thing at first until i did some research. The old celerons were terrible but this g530 is a whole different class of cpu. I really wish intel wouldnt of named it celeron that alone will steer people away from it unless they do some kind of research.
I'm a believer after only just a few days of using it. In my mind, it's an "Intel G530 Sandy Bridge". Period.
__________________
Current Gaming Rig:
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.0GHz (22x165, 33C idle, 69C load) - Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD4H (BIOS F8) - G.Skill 16GB RipJaws DDR3-1600 - EVGA nVidia 680 GTX - SanDisk Extreme 120GB SATA III(for OS) - Crucial 240GB SATA III (Data) - 640GB WD - 1TB WD - LG CH10LS20 Blu-Ray Reader - HP ZR30W 30-inch monitor - Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
GamingDaemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 05:14 PM   #16
ElFenix
Super Moderator
Off Topic
 
ElFenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 93,895
Default

the "old" i3-530 is a tremendous overclocker.

the celeron g530 is pretty well locked down so no real overclocking potential.

stock clocks the i3-530 is going to be trading blows with the celeron g530.

overclocked the i3-530 would destroy the celeron g530.

problem is, the i3-530 is on a now EOL'd platform.
__________________
I killed and ate the Fun Mod with some jellybeans and a little Chianti.

AnandTech Mean Moderator
ElFenix is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 05:17 PM   #17
toyota
Lifer
 
toyota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: time out
Posts: 12,185
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElFenix View Post
the "old" i3-530 is a tremendous overclocker.

the celeron g530 is pretty well locked down so no real overclocking potential.

stock clocks the i3-530 is going to be trading blows with the celeron g530.

overclocked the i3-530 would destroy the celeron g530.

problem is, the i3-530 is on a now EOL'd platform.
I dont see how the Celeron g530 could trade blows with the i3 530. Sandy Bridge only has a 10% advantage clock for clock with the same specs and the i3 530 is clocked much higher, has more cache and has HT.
__________________
Win 8.1 64 bit | 4770k@4.4 | Asus Z87 Pro | MSI GTX780 Gaming | G.SKILL Ares 16GB DDR3 2133 | Seagate SSHD 2TB | Corsair 500R | Corsair TX650 V2 | Sound Blaster Zx | Gateway 23inch 1920x1080 IPS

Last edited by toyota; 12-14-2011 at 05:24 PM.
toyota is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 05:23 PM   #18
ElFenix
Super Moderator
Off Topic
 
ElFenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 93,895
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toyota View Post
I dont see how the Celeron g530 could trade blows with the i3 530. the i3 530 is clocked much higher and has HT.
maybe not quite trading blow but it's going to be close. the pentium G620 is wins a few and is close in nearly everything else compared to a i3 530
http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/406?vs=118

the G530 only differs from the G620 by a couple hundred MHz and some cache so i don't think it's that much slower. could be wrong. the comparometer doesn't have the G530, unfortunately.
__________________
I killed and ate the Fun Mod with some jellybeans and a little Chianti.

AnandTech Mean Moderator
ElFenix is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 04:52 PM   #19
pepeOO
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zap View Post
I agree, but some may not feel the same. I was telling my boss about it and his first reaction was "ugh, Celeron." He just couldn't get over the name due to historic reasons, even after I told him it was a Sandy Bridge dual core.

Sorry for my english

Okey, this is an ooooold topic, but I have to say than the G530 is a very powerful procesor and incredible for the price. I have an internet cofee and when I tested it and looked the price I just updated my 20 machines with them. It almost can run 2 1080p youtube videos at the same time (almost because you see a little shuttering with 2) and 1 with less than 50% cpu use (it is less than 50 but I don't remember now exactly how much), and it is ultra responsive. For HD movies, web surfing and office, it is a rocket (of course with all the aero efects on)

I have a i7-2600 and I build a pc for my girlfriend with a g530 and a dell 24' with 1920*1200 resolution, it isn't easy to see the diferent in normal use.

Sorry to resurect this topic but this "celeron" deserved it

You can only overclock the gpu of the procesor with any mobo from the 20 multi to 24-25

Last edited by pepeOO; 04-12-2013 at 04:59 PM.
pepeOO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 06:00 PM   #20
lagokc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 806
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bman123 View Post
I would be lying if i tried to say i didnt think the same thing at first until i did some research. The old celerons were terrible but this g530 is a whole different class of cpu. I really wish intel wouldnt of named it celeron that alone will steer people away from it unless they do some kind of research.
The only "old celerons" that were terrible were the original L2-cacheless 266 and 300 from 1998. Starting with the 300A Celerons were great bang for your buck and highly overclockable. Ok the Pentium 4 based ones were awful but the Pentium 4 was just awful so you can't really blame the Celerons for that.
lagokc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 06:04 PM   #21
SammichPG
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 149
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IntelEnthusiast View Post
The Intel® Celeron® G530 isnt designed to be an unlocked processor so while you can get some small overclocking out of it it won't be anything like the Intel Core™ i5-2500K. We have two chipset in the "6" that does allow the overclocking of the Intel Core i5-2500K that is the P67 and the Z68 chipset. H61 and H67 and Q67 won't allow overclocking of the core clock speed.

Christian Wood
Intel Enthusiast Team
Intel killed budget overclocking trying to sell higher end parts, my (small) business will go to AMD instead.

A disgruntled e2160@3ghz owner.
SammichPG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 07:20 PM   #22
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 25,405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lagokc View Post
The only "old celerons" that were terrible were the original L2-cacheless 266 and 300 from 1998. Starting with the 300A Celerons were great bang for your buck and highly overclockable. Ok the Pentium 4 based ones were awful but the Pentium 4 was just awful so you can't really blame the Celerons for that.
Well, the P4 Celerons were very cache-straited, so that's why they were so much worse than a "real" P4, even though compared to modern CPUs, the P4 isn't much of a CPU either.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 08:37 PM   #23
SPBHM
Platinum Member
 
SPBHM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,382
Default

Celeron 300A, 633, e3300, g1011 and a few others could be overclocked by 50%!

ahh, the good old days before lga 1155...
G530 is limited to around 5% OC.
SPBHM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 05:07 AM   #24
lagokc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 806
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SPBHM View Post
Celeron 300A, 633, e3300, g1011 and a few others could be overclocked by 50%!

ahh, the good old days before lga 1155...
G530 is limited to around 5% OC.
A lot of those early Celerons (300A, 366) could even be hacked to run in dual-socket boards in addition to a 50% overclock. I knew more than one guy with a cheap powerful dual-CPU computer back in the day.
lagokc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.