Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Social > The Garage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-19-2011, 10:42 AM   #1
Semidevil
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,988
Default Honda insight error code A1 help

ok, my car is about at 10k miles now, and an A1 code popped up. so according to my manual, an A1 error code means to it is time to rotate the tires and change the oil. It also says that my car has 10% oil life.

The problem is that I had my oil changed at 7k a while back. Does the code pop up based on a set number of miles, or does it actually read my oil somehow and tells me that I really do have 10% oil life? And when they say '10% oil life,' it's the quality of the oil, not the amount of the oil right?
Semidevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 11:37 AM   #2
nedfunnell
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 277
Default

Yes, it actually has a way to measure your oil's useful life. If I recall correctly, it's based on the history of how the engine's been driven (babied driving = longer oil life) and may actually be taking some measurement of viscosity or pressure drop as well.
__________________
Heat: Ned Funnell
Formerly a lifer. Came back for FS/T.
Ned Funnell's blog
nedfunnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 11:54 AM   #3
LTC8K6
Lifer
 
LTC8K6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Under an American chemtrail
Posts: 18,010
Default

Also, Honda likes you to keep the factory oil in for a long time for engine break in, I believe, so that may be why the code popped up now.
__________________
no offense, but does he have some sort of mental dissability? -nick1985

Brainwashed, mentally unstable, and stupid Intel user, screwed by Intel and located directly under a chemtrail.

Don't be a moron! Buy AMD!
LTC8K6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 01:57 PM   #4
NutBucket
Lifer
 
NutBucket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: West SFV
Posts: 21,926
Default

And you do need to reset the oil life monitor manually This probably why it popped up now. I got service code A1 at 15% oil life after putting about 8500 miles on my CR-Z.

It also bugs me that Honda would actually specify that only the oil needs to be changed, not the filter. That's crazy! Code A is oil only, B is oil and filter. Just seems like recipe for disaster.
NutBucket is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 02:20 PM   #5
Semidevil
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,988
Default

So is it because my oil needs to be changed or is it because the monitor was not reset?

The center that did my oil change says its good for 7k, so technically have about 2k left.
Semidevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 02:25 PM   #6
NutBucket
Lifer
 
NutBucket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: West SFV
Posts: 21,926
Default

They did not reset it. There's really nothing wrong with changing oil too frequently except wasting money. On my car I plan on changing it when the ECU tells me with synthetic oil and replacing the filter every time.
NutBucket is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 02:36 PM   #7
bbs lm-r
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 301
Default

Lol, yea it's supposed to mean the quality of the oil, not the quantity. You'd have some serious problems if you were running with only a tenth of the normal amount of oil.
bbs lm-r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 04:25 PM   #8
vshah
Lifer
 
vshah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,716
Default

the system in my civic is definitely only based on miles/engine rotations/rpm, not any sort of actual measurement of the oil. i know bmws do have more advanced oil life sensors.

whether i beat on it or do 5000 miles highway, it always lights up around 4000 miles.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 || Asus P6T Deluxe V2 || Noctua NH-U12P|| 12GB DDR3-1600
GTX 670 || Intel x-25m 80gb || 1TB Caviar Black || Antec 902 ||Antec 550w
HEAT
XBL: the4ner85
vshah is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.