Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > General Hardware

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-15-2011, 02:04 PM   #1
formulav8
Diamond Member
 
formulav8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 6,151
Default eeepc 900 Dirt Slow on XP

I just installed WinXP Pro on an Asus eeePc900 netbook and the 8gb ssd drive light stays on basically all the time. The computer is dirt slow when doing even stuff like opening the control panel or the file explorer.

What tweaks can I do that will truly speed up the computer? The netbook came with WinXP so it should be able to run it ok.

Thanks for any help! Thanks


Jason
formulav8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 02:17 PM   #2
sm625
Diamond Member
 
sm625's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4,567
Default

You should install flashfire. It was made for that machine. But you need to make sure you're not running out of ram and constantly hitting the swap file. Make sure you have at least 25% ram free at all times. Flashfire does use ram.

http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/fil...scription.html
__________________
I am looking for a cheap upgrade to my 3 year old computer.
AT forum member #1: Buy a 4790k

I am looking for a way to get 10 more fps in TF2.
AT forum member #2: Buy a 4790k

Last edited by sm625; 11-15-2011 at 02:22 PM.
sm625 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 02:34 PM   #3
formulav8
Diamond Member
 
formulav8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 6,151
Default

It has 2gb of ddr2 ram. I also disabled the swap file/virtual memory and I think I disabled write caching.

I was wondering if its possible to take out the ssd and put in a regular hard drive instead?

I will check out that flashfire app as well. Thanks
formulav8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 03:44 PM   #4
DaveSimmons
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 37,044
Default

Look at what processes and services are running, there may be some programs and services you can stop from running at startup.
DaveSimmons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 04:06 PM   #5
sm625
Diamond Member
 
sm625's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4,567
Default

If you have 2GB of ram then yes flashfire will be a godsend. Just make sure you do regular backups because if you lose power or crash before the software cache is flushed you could get into trouble. I think its worth the risk considering how fast it makes your computer run.
__________________
I am looking for a cheap upgrade to my 3 year old computer.
AT forum member #1: Buy a 4790k

I am looking for a way to get 10 more fps in TF2.
AT forum member #2: Buy a 4790k
sm625 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 04:08 PM   #6
wirednuts
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7,121
Default

with only 2gb of ram, shouldnt you have a swap file? couldnt that be the reason why its constantly writing, because you dont have a swap file enabled?
wirednuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 05:06 PM   #7
formulav8
Diamond Member
 
formulav8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 6,151
Default

I tried with and without a swap file and no real difference either way. sm625 was definitely correct about flashfire! The lappy is actually usable now! Thanks alot for the help. If theres something else I could do, I want to know. You can Never have to much responsiveness and speed.
formulav8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 08:52 PM   #8
mfenn
Elite Member
Moderator
General Hardware
 
mfenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 20,449
Default

The "SSDs" in the original Eee PCs were SSDs in name only. They were more like glorified USB flash sticks stuck inside the chassis.
mfenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 09:15 PM   #9
Fox5
Diamond Member
 
Fox5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,664
Default

You could put in a new SSD, if that's possible.

Also, Linux is way better on systems with constrained memory or disk drive performance. Think about giving Ubuntu a try? I'd bet you're not doing anything on the computer that wouldn't be supported in Linux.
__________________
ebay
Look up bluefox451

heatware
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=35565
Fox5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 10:19 AM   #10
formulav8
Diamond Member
 
formulav8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 6,151
Default

When I got it it had Easy Peasy. It worked perfectly fine with it. It originally came with Windows XP so thats why I went the xp route. It now runs much better with XP but still not as good as easy peasy. I'm still not 100% sure what to do in the long run....
formulav8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 10:21 AM   #11
formulav8
Diamond Member
 
formulav8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 6,151
Default

I also put a 4gb SD card in it. Can it be used for caching or something else to help wih performance? Just wondering if extra storage space is all I can use is for...
formulav8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 06:37 PM   #12
Fox5
Diamond Member
 
Fox5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,664
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by formulav8 View Post
I also put a 4gb SD card in it. Can it be used for caching or something else to help wih performance? Just wondering if extra storage space is all I can use is for...
Running Linux is probably going to be the biggest performance improvement you could make. Windows Vista and 7 can use SD cards for their ReadyBoost caching feature, but I don't think XP can. It didn't help much anyway.

Hardware wise, can you upgrade ram or replace the SSD?
__________________
ebay
Look up bluefox451

heatware
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=35565
Fox5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.