Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > PC Gaming

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-14-2011, 11:10 PM   #1
Jaiguru
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 317
Default Graphical glitches in Skyrim

I've been having some pretty noticeable texture pop in and some weird blue outline around my weapons since I've installed the game. Both of these problems seem much more apparent when I'm in a dungeon. Ive tried several different AA variations and still can't solve it. Ive even turned AA off entirely.

Right now I'm forcing 4x AA on through the Catalyst control center with it turned off entirely through the game. This is on an i7 950/HD 6950 machine. Any ideas?

Update: Ok, so scratch my original statement about turning AA off entirely not helping the problem. I tried it again and the blue lines that bordered my weapons and hands are gone. I still have no idea why that would be happening. I'm using the current 11.10 Catalyst drivers.

Last edited by Jaiguru; 11-15-2011 at 03:05 AM.
Jaiguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 11:15 PM   #2
RavenSEAL
Diamond Member
 
RavenSEAL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mejico
Posts: 8,671
Default

See sig
__________________
AMD X6 1090T @ 3.8GHz Cooled by CM Hyper212+ P/P | Sapphire AMD HD6870 Vapor-X Crossfire @ 930/1150 | Gigabyte 990XA-UD3 | 8GBs Patriot G2 DDR3-1600Mhz | Corsair FORCE 3 90GB SSD | 1TB WD RAID0 | Antec HCG-750 | CM HAF 932

Lonely HeatWare

RavenSEAL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 11:19 PM   #3
Jaiguru
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 317
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RavenSEAL View Post
See sig
I've mentioned it once in that thread. Didn't get any help there. Just hoping I could get some help from someone that might not even be reading that thread.

A mod can lock this thread if need be though.
Jaiguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 12:19 AM   #4
dennilfloss
Past Lifer
1957-2014
In Memoriam
 
dennilfloss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 30,555
Default

Were those magic weapons with the blue glow?

I occasionally see a sewer grate effect on tree shadows.
__________________
Vintage battleship, battlecruiser and cruiser photographs: http://dennilfloss.blogspot.ca/

Desktop: Phenom II 955BE, M4A79-T DeLuxe, ASUS PA246Q 1900x1200 24" P-IPS monitor, 2 GB HIS IceQ X Turbo 7850, Corsair TX750M PSU, 8GB RAM, Windows 7 HP 64. Laptop: Dell XPS 17 L702x, i7-2760QM, 8GB RAM, 1080p, GT 555M 3GB
dennilfloss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 01:08 AM   #5
Jaiguru
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 317
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dennilfloss View Post
Were those magic weapons with the blue glow?

I occasionally see a sewer grate effect on tree shadows.
Nope, its on all my weapons.
Jaiguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 01:58 AM   #6
JSt0rm
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: la la land
Posts: 11,872
Default

only mega nerds read mega threads.

I've had a bit of texture pop in as well. Also I want high res textures. Things shouldnt looks bad up close anymore.
JSt0rm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 03:35 AM   #7
RavenSEAL
Diamond Member
 
RavenSEAL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mejico
Posts: 8,671
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSt0rm View Post
only mega nerds read mega threads.

I've had a bit of texture pop in as well. Also I want high res textures. Things shouldnt looks bad up close anymore.
Calm down buddy, stuff usually doesn't happen overnight.
__________________
AMD X6 1090T @ 3.8GHz Cooled by CM Hyper212+ P/P | Sapphire AMD HD6870 Vapor-X Crossfire @ 930/1150 | Gigabyte 990XA-UD3 | 8GBs Patriot G2 DDR3-1600Mhz | Corsair FORCE 3 90GB SSD | 1TB WD RAID0 | Antec HCG-750 | CM HAF 932

Lonely HeatWare

RavenSEAL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 07:57 AM   #8
terry107
Senior Member
 
terry107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 891
Default

I have a similar setup (see sig) and am also forcing AA/AF through CCC; however, I haven't noticed any texture pop or a blue outline. Hopefully AMD will release some updated drivers shortly that will fix your problem.
__________________
i7 920 @ 3.4GHz, ASUS P6T LGA 1366, MSI 6950 2GB unlocked, G.Skill 6GB, Corsair 750W, Antec 300
terry107 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 08:02 AM   #9
Rhezuss
Diamond Member
 
Rhezuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 3,143
Default

The blue glow is causes by the in-game AA. What I did is turn off AA/AF from Skyrim options and turn them on (force them on) with my graphics card drivers, in my case in CCC.

2 things happened:

1- More constant FPS, less drops, more fluid gameplay
2- No more blue outlining around items and less texture bugs (like moss on walls and stone road like in Whiterun).
__________________
Maturity is for boring people

Win7 Pro 64-bit | ASRock Z77 Extreme 4 | i7 3770K w/ 212 EVO @ 4.4GHz | G.skill Ares 2x4gb DDR3-1866 | M4 128gb SSD (Boot) + WD RE4 500gb (Games) + WD Blue 320gb (Stuff) | EVGA GTX 970 SSC ACX 2.0 (step-up for the FTW in process) | X-Fi Titanium HD | XFX TS 650W 80+ Gold | Samsung S27D590P 27" LCD 1080p | CM690 II Advanced | Logitech Z623 |
Rhezuss is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 11:58 AM   #10
JSt0rm
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: la la land
Posts: 11,872
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RavenSEAL View Post
Calm down buddy, stuff usually doesn't happen overnight.
Well I was hoping Bethesda would release hi res textures. You would think nvidia and ati wouldnt mind hosting them as it just pushes vid card sales.
JSt0rm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 02:55 PM   #11
Jaiguru
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 317
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhezuss View Post
The blue glow is causes by the in-game AA. What I did is turn off AA/AF from Skyrim options and turn them on (force them on) with my graphics card drivers, in my case in CCC.

2 things happened:

1- More constant FPS, less drops, more fluid gameplay
2- No more blue outlining around items and less texture bugs (like moss on walls and stone road like in Whiterun).
When I turned off the game AA and forced it on through the graphics card instead I did notice the pop in go away and more constant fps but the blue outline wouldn't go away. Right now I have all AA turned off with Fxaa turned on and all the problems have been fixed. Fxaa really doesn't compare to having 8x AA with supersampling on though so I'm still looking for a solution.
Jaiguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 08:56 PM   #12
mrbuh
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaiguru View Post
When I turned off the game AA and forced it on through the graphics card ... the blue outline wouldn't go away.
I have the exact same problem. Have tried various driver versions and just about every combination of AA-related settings in the CCC. Did anyone ever find a solution for this?

Thanks in advance...
mrbuh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 02:52 PM   #13
xchargerfanx
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
Default

I had the same issue as you and I've found a solution to this problem a few weeks back. Through my testing, I came to the conclusions that it doesn't have to do with the AA at all; it is actually your screen resolution that you play the game on. Before, I ran the game at 1280x720, since my monitor is native 720p. However, I tried running at 1920x1080 and the blue outlines magically went away. Right now I have AA turned off and FXAA enabled through the launcher and running at 1920x1080. I've never had the blue outline problem occur ever since I switched resolutions.

Last edited by xchargerfanx; 12-15-2011 at 02:56 PM.
xchargerfanx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 03:36 PM   #14
Dankk
Diamond Member
 
Dankk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mormonville, Utah
Posts: 5,185
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dennilfloss View Post
I occasionally see a sewer grate effect on tree shadows.
That's an awesome term. What exactly does it describe? I know shadows can look crappy in all kinds of different ways. Can you take a screenshot?
__________________
AMD FX-8350 4.2GHz | HIS iPower IceQ X R9 290X
MSI 990FXA-GD80 V2 | G.SKILL 16GB DDR3 1600
Kingston HyperX 120GB SSD | Toshiba DT01ACA200 2TB HD

Steam
Dankk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 03:41 PM   #15
Martimus
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,301
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xchargerfanx View Post
I had the same issue as you and I've found a solution to this problem a few weeks back. Through my testing, I came to the conclusions that it doesn't have to do with the AA at all; it is actually your screen resolution that you play the game on. Before, I ran the game at 1280x720, since my monitor is native 720p. However, I tried running at 1920x1080 and the blue outlines magically went away. Right now I have AA turned off and FXAA enabled through the launcher and running at 1920x1080. I've never had the blue outline problem occur ever since I switched resolutions.
Actually running the game at a higher resolution than your monitor supports will act as a primitive SSAA, where the monitor itself is doing the AA. Of course most monitors don't support higher resolution than their native resolution, so you are kind of lucky in that regard.
__________________
System: Intel i7-2600K, Corsair H60 CPU Heatsink, ASROCK P67 Extreme4, HIS HD6970, HAF-X Case, Seasonic X760 PSU, Crucial C300 128GB SSD, Western Digital Black 2TB HD, 12X LG BluRay burner, HP ZR24w 24" Monitor, 16GB (4x4GB) G.Skill 1600 DDR3 RAM (1.5V, CAS 9), Windows 7 Home Premium (64bit)
Martimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.