Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Console Gaming

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-28-2012, 02:20 PM   #1
Nvidiaguy07
Platinum Member
 
Nvidiaguy07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 2,659
Default Is it possible to use a save file from an android emulator with a PC emulator?

Going back and playing my favorite old games from when i was younger, and some ones i never played.

Ive been playing on my phone up until now, and the emulators i use are: gensoid, snesois, nesiod, fpse (kinda sucks lately - maybe its the phone - Gnex), and i havent used a 64 one in a while (I bought one from the market -N64oid?, but i think it got removed)

Right now i have it so it backs up the save files to my dropbox with dropsync, so even if i decide to play on my old phone, my save is there, and itll update my progress made with that.

Is there anyway that i can do the same thing with my PC? I tried it with fceux and nesoid, and it doesnt work because the save files are different. Anyone know any pc emulators that use the same save file as the emulators im using on android? Specifically gensoid - since im replaying shining force 2.
__________________
Main PC: 3570k, MSI GTX 670, Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H, G.SKILL Ares 8GB, Noctua NH-D14, Antec P280, Corsair 750TX, Intel X25-M 80GB SSD, Catleap 27" 120hz
Living Room PC: Q6600 @ 3.15, EVGA 560ti, GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L, G.SKILL 8GB DDR2, Tuniq Tower, Antec P180, CORSAIR 520HX, WD Raptor 74GB
Laptop: Yoga 13" // Phone: Gnex // XBL/Steam: blackhammer07 // HEAT
Nvidiaguy07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 08:42 AM   #2
karder
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 41
Default

I tried this a while back, and I couldn't get it to work. I gave up very easily though
karder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 09:53 AM   #3
nace186
Platinum Member
 
nace186's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,339
Default

How about running Android emulator on PC, and have that run the console emulator and load the save file?
nace186 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 09:58 AM   #4
karder
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nace186 View Post
How about running Android emulator on PC, and have that run the console emulator and load the save file?
Wish I would have tried that before deleting.
karder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 06:03 PM   #5
Nvidiaguy07
Platinum Member
 
Nvidiaguy07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 2,659
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nace186 View Post
How about running Android emulator on PC, and have that run the console emulator and load the save file?
wouldnt the performance be pretty bad though? Last time i tried an android emulator, it was pretty bad. How hard would it be to program inputs and all that as well?
__________________
Main PC: 3570k, MSI GTX 670, Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H, G.SKILL Ares 8GB, Noctua NH-D14, Antec P280, Corsair 750TX, Intel X25-M 80GB SSD, Catleap 27" 120hz
Living Room PC: Q6600 @ 3.15, EVGA 560ti, GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L, G.SKILL 8GB DDR2, Tuniq Tower, Antec P180, CORSAIR 520HX, WD Raptor 74GB
Laptop: Yoga 13" // Phone: Gnex // XBL/Steam: blackhammer07 // HEAT
Nvidiaguy07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 01:28 PM   #6
Sureshot324
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 3,362
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nace186 View Post
How about running Android emulator on PC, and have that run the console emulator and load the save file?
And while you're at it, run all that in a vmware.
__________________
"My doctor says that I have a malformed public-duty gland and a natural deficiency in moral fibre and that I am therefore excused from saving universe."

Steam: Sureshot324
BF3: Sarev0k
Sureshot324 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.