Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Video Cards and Graphics

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-12-2011, 10:35 PM   #1
GUTZnGORE
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Default Help with AMD 760G (Radeon 3000)

Hello, I just got a new PC and would like to be able to play games on it. I would like to be able to run games like Counter-Strike, Battlefield 2&3 aswell as new games coming out preferably with higher end graphics. I was reading that the AMD 760G is compatible with certain Radeon graphics cards, and I was wondering what my best option is. I'll list my specs (in very new to computer tech so bare with me) and please let me know what I can do to bump up my gaming power!
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
System model: Lenovo H405
Processor: AMD Athlon II X2 255 ~3.1GHz
Memory: 3072MB RAM
Graphics: AMD 760G (ATI Radeon 3000 Graphics)(256 MB primary VRAM)
App. Total Memory: 1403 MB

If I left out any info that would help you please let me know and I'll look it up right away.
GUTZnGORE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 06:00 AM   #2
WT
Diamond Member
 
WT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: York, PA
Posts: 4,240
Default

First of all, welcome to the forums, Gutz !! What you have is an integrated video chipset, built into the mainboard of the Lenovo desktop. It is clearly your bottleneck in regards to any modern game you may want to play.

Now, where the problem with an easy upgrade for you lies is finding out the specs of your power supply, which will ultimately determine what card you can put in there AND supply the proper voltage to it as well. Look on the power supply itself for any identifying info, but what we most need you to report is the +12 rating of the power supply.

It should be listed as such [+12] - 24a <- the 24 in front of the 'a' is simply a number, not indicative of what you will see on yours.

Which that info, it will be a lot easier to find you a better card, but not one that won't run at all due to your power supply not supplying enough amperage to power the new card.
__________________
For long you live and high you fly.. And smiles you'll give and tears you'll cry.. And all you touch and all you see.. Is all your life will ever be.

Heat - One man's FS is another man's WTB
WT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 06:39 AM   #3
mosox
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 434
Default

Is this your PC?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...scrollFullInfo

A user wrote in there that the PSU is 180W, you should open the case and check that.

What is your monitor?
mosox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 08:32 AM   #4
GUTZnGORE
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WT View Post
First of all, welcome to the forums, Gutz !! What you have is an integrated video chipset, built into the mainboard of the Lenovo desktop. It is clearly your bottleneck in regards to any modern game you may want to play.

Now, where the problem with an easy upgrade for you lies is finding out the specs of your power supply, which will ultimately determine what card you can put in there AND supply the proper voltage to it as well. Look on the power supply itself for any identifying info, but what we most need you to report is the +12 rating of the power supply.

It should be listed as such [+12] - 24a <- the 24 in front of the 'a' is simply a number, not indicative of what you will see on yours.

Which that info, it will be a lot easier to find you a better card, but not one that won't run at all due to your power supply not supplying enough amperage to power the new card.
Where exactly can I find that info? The only pwer related thing i see is 240V. As for my monitor, Im using my HD TV which is a 55 in LG LCD.
And yes that is basically the exact same computer, except mine isnt the FU its the GU.
GUTZnGORE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 08:49 AM   #5
LOL_Wut_Axel
Diamond Member
 
LOL_Wut_Axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: San Juan, PR
Posts: 4,271
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by GUTZnGORE View Post
Where exactly can I find that info? The only pwer related thing i see is 240V. As for my monitor, Im using my HD TV which is a 55 in LG LCD.
And yes that is basically the exact same computer, except mine isnt the FU its the GU.
It more than probably has a 180W to 250W PSU. The PSU won't really do for a graphics card with a PCIe power connector. However, it'll be fine for one that doesn't have it. You can get decently powerful cards that don't require one nowadays like the Radeon HD 5670 DDR5 and the Radeon HD 6670 DDR5 for cheap. The 5670 is cheaper and the difference in performance isn't significant, and it should be enough for the games you want to play at Medium settings at 1680x1050, except perhaps Battlefield 3 and some newer titles. If you want to be able to play most things in High with AA you'll need something more powerful like a Radeon HD 6850. For that, though, you'll definitely need to upgrade the power supply your PC comes with.
LOL_Wut_Axel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 11:56 AM   #6
GUTZnGORE
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LOL_Wut_Axel View Post
It more than probably has a 180W to 250W PSU. The PSU won't really do for a graphics card with a PCIe power connector. However, it'll be fine for one that doesn't have it. You can get decently powerful cards that don't require one nowadays like the Radeon HD 5670 DDR5 and the Radeon HD 6670 DDR5 for cheap. The 5670 is cheaper and the difference in performance isn't significant, and it should be enough for the games you want to play at Medium settings at 1680x1050, except perhaps Battlefield 3 and some newer titles. If you want to be able to play most things in High with AA you'll need something more powerful like a Radeon HD 6850. For that, though, you'll definitely need to upgrade the power supply your PC comes with.
This is the exact PC that I have. According to the website, the power supply is 280W. I have no idea what that means, so hopefully you all do!

My PC Specs
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...271&amp;CatId=4928
GUTZnGORE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 04:16 AM   #7
mosox
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 434
Default

As for the 5670 it will likely work on your PSU as other people said. Check the videos in here, you will be able to play those at lower resolutions. A card with 1GB VRAM might help for your TV.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pBuE1VgXofg

A bigger upgrade for about $200 after the rebates

HD 6870

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814131378

Antec NEO ECO 520C 520W

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817371030
mosox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.