Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-04-2011, 12:23 PM   #1
gamerguy2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 134
Default Wireless Range Booster

Hello.

I wanted to extend the range on my Time Warner Wireless Modem. Its an Ubee model. I just want a basic range extender to extend the range of the Ubee. There are so many products.

Can anyone recommend a Range Booster that is easy to install and more importantly will extend the range of my current wireless modem?
__________________
1st) C2Duo@3.2 ATI 5850 GFX 8gb ddr2 RAM Vista Home Prem Antec 650 27" Acer LCD Seagate 1Tbyte hdd.
2nd) AMD 8 Core@ 3.1 ATI 5850 GFX 8gb ddr3 RAM Windows 7 Home Prem 750 PSU 27" Crossover IPS LCD WD 300gb hdd. 50 Watt Audiosource Amp 2 B&W Bookshelf speakers.
gamerguy2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 01:06 PM   #2
JackMDS
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
JackMDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,306
Default

1. What exactly you mean by range booster?

2. How many devices (wire/wireless) will use the Rnage extended signal?

3. Give a description of the general environment.
----------------

In general.

The general approach that I take for Coverage issues is the following.

The best way is to lay few CAT6 cables to central locations in the house, install Access Points, or Cable/DSL Routers configured as an Access Points ( Using a Wireless Cable/DSL Router as a Switch with an Access Point - http://www.ezlan.net/router_AP.html ), and connect them to the Main Router.

You do not want/can not/hate/your client hate to lay any Cables.

Start with One affordable Wireless Router that can do WDS (the reason to start with WDS capable Router is that in case you need to add more Wireless WDS hardware the original Router has to support it).

If you are lucky and your environment is conducive to get covered with one Good Wireless Router and you are done.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wireles...ibution_System.

Buffalo, Linksys, Asus and others have Wireless Routers that can do WDS when flashed with DD-WRT firmware.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Main_Page

http://meanderingpassage.com/2007/04...on-system-wds/

Using a Laptop loaded with Wirelessnetview, do a Wireless survey, http://majorgeeks.com/WirelessNetView_d6102.html

According to the signal strength reading, identify spots that have strong signal. and spot with weak, or No signal.

Evaluate how you can cover the space and start placing WDS units.

Additional Wireless Routers in WDS Mode (Wireless Network - Configuration Modes. ) has to be placed in spots were the signal is good about Half way to the dead spots.

How many WDS units are needed? It depends on your specific environment (that is a good the reason to buying WDS units one at the time, try it, and decide on the Next step).

More about the topic (the pages bellow were written a while ago, ignore the specific hardware recommendation just stick to the principle and get current hardware)

Extending Distance - http://www.ezlan.net/Distance.html

Wireless Router as an AP - http://www.ezlan.net/router_AP.html

Wireless Modes - http://www.ezlan.net/Wireless_Modes.html

Wireless Bridging - http://www.ezlan.net/bridging.html



__________________
Jack
Microsoft, MVP - Networking.
JackMDS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 01:41 PM   #3
gamerguy2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 134
Default

The two that seem most suited to my use are;


http://www.amazon.com/Linksys-RE1000...750310&sr=1-10

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833995088

These are for home use. Movies work etc (Ubee modem) is on first floor. Probably 2-3 upstairs computers/laptops (used simultaneously). Also a wired server downstairs will be running. How do they compare in quality and function?
__________________
1st) C2Duo@3.2 ATI 5850 GFX 8gb ddr2 RAM Vista Home Prem Antec 650 27" Acer LCD Seagate 1Tbyte hdd.
2nd) AMD 8 Core@ 3.1 ATI 5850 GFX 8gb ddr3 RAM Windows 7 Home Prem 750 PSU 27" Crossover IPS LCD WD 300gb hdd. 50 Watt Audiosource Amp 2 B&W Bookshelf speakers.

Last edited by gamerguy2; 10-04-2011 at 01:46 PM. Reason: addendum
gamerguy2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 06:44 PM   #4
collstal
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1
Default

Woo thankfully I found a post that isn't outdated. I've been using a similar Ubee modem that you've been talking about and I have to tell you that you need to make sure that your connection will be able to handle a decent amount of data. Simply because I was using an older model and it gave me some problems.

I used the DD-WRT link that JackMDS mentioned earlier (http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Main_Page) to help me get setup and sort of helped simplify things. When I did get a repeater I looked around for a bit and the two that you are looking at are alright but you gotta look at the consumer reviews to really know if they are a good fit for you. Hope that this helps!

Last edited by JackMDS; 10-13-2011 at 07:34 PM. Reason: Commercial links.
collstal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.