Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Consumer Electronics > Mobile Devices & Gadgets

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-14-2011, 08:11 PM   #1
Pliablemoose
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: LA
Posts: 25,198
Default iPhone on Page Plus

One of my co workers has an iPhone 4 on Page Plus for $45/month.

I've been looking at doing that, but this is the first I've heard/seen it working, all the folks that have tried it say that Verizon has the SN/IMEI numbers in a database and have them blocked.

I called up the guy that set it up, he says he'll sell me a new CDMA iP4 for $500 haxxored to Page Plus, unlimited voice & text with 300MB data (not enough). Am almost tempted, but an going to do used iP4's on Straight Talk unlimited talk, text, web for $45/month)...
Pliablemoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 10:53 PM   #2
SAWYER
Lifer
 
SAWYER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 14,977
Default

ST option is better

I bought one of the Nokia e71's refurbd from st that has the special sim needed but have not been able to port over the past two days, some system error. A friend has that sim and phone and I put it in a Captivated and it worked great. Blackberries do not work with data, email ect though. that is very disappointing
SAWYER is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 11:17 PM   #3
Pliablemoose
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: LA
Posts: 25,198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SAWYER View Post
ST option is better

I bought one of the Nokia e71's refurbd from st that has the special sim needed but have not been able to port over the past two days, some system error. A friend has that sim and phone and I put it in a Captivated and it worked great. Blackberries do not work with data, email ect though. that is very disappointing
Yep, have one iP4 bought, looking for another, will be picking up a couple of refurb Nokias from ST, and plan on buying a year's worth of service for $499 for my daughter and her BF.
Pliablemoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 12:06 AM   #4
jpeyton
Moderator
SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 25,219
Default

I had an iP4 on ST for a few months. Works fine. AT&T's network sucks, but that's not the fault of Apple or ST.

Eventually switched to a Moto Atrix 4G on ST. Network speeds are typically 3x as fast as they were on the iP4, and GApps are much better on Android. The phone was also $200 less off-contract.
jpeyton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 12:28 AM   #5
Pliablemoose
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: LA
Posts: 25,198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpeyton View Post
I had an iP4 on ST for a few months. Works fine. AT&T's network sucks, but that's not the fault of Apple or ST.

Eventually switched to a Moto Atrix 4G on ST. Network speeds are typically 3x as fast as they were on the iP4, and GApps are much better on Android. The phone was also $200 less off-contract.
Yeah,if it was for me, I'd do the Atrix too, but the kids want iPhones, they're both music majors in college, so ALL of their friends use iPhones and docks, etc...

I'd likely go with an Android phone on Page Plus, slower, but better coverage, especially at work, we have a CDMA microcell on the roof (or tower or something, not exactly sure what)... Will suffer along with my TBolt I guess till the iPhone gets LTE, maybe next year...

Were you able to get MMS working?
Pliablemoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 12:30 AM   #6
SAWYER
Lifer
 
SAWYER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 14,977
Default

How hard is it to get phones working on pp and what is the cheapest plan you can have with a blackberry?
SAWYER is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 12:42 AM   #7
Ksyder
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,798
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pliablemoose View Post
I called up the guy that set it up, he says he'll sell me a new CDMA iP4 for $500 haxxored to Page Plus, unlimited voice & text with 300MB data (not enough). Am almost tempted, but an going to do used iP4's on Straight Talk unlimited talk, text, web for $45/month)...
I've heard of that being done, and there is a guy on my local Craigslist that says he can do it.... despite being officially banned on Page Plus. I'd like to know what the trick is with that because I'm sure the ESN would be rejected, and even if you did get one in somehow it could be subject to deactivation in the future. What is the deal with the 300 mb data plan? I'm guessing that it is the new plan that hasn't been released yet?

Personally I am using the iphone4 on straight talk and it is awesome... in my area the AT&T coverage has been just as good as Verizon and the data speed slightly better.

After some thought I decided that it was better to go the gsm route because with Verizon iphone there are no options really in prepaid. Well, there is Nation PCS and ACRS but those plans are 65 and 70 a month, respectively, and there is no porting in of any numbers, and customer service is basically non-existent, I don't know of anyone actually using them, or if it actually works.

On the other hand, with a gsm iPhone, at least you can go to h20 wireless for $60 a month unlimited if the Straight Talk sim card stops working for some reason, and I know there are other AT&T mvnos that you could probably use the iPhone on, not to mention T-Mobile.
Ksyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 12:44 AM   #8
ImDonly1
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,224
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SAWYER View Post
ST option is better

I bought one of the Nokia e71's refurbd from st that has the special sim needed but have not been able to port over the past two days, some system error. A friend has that sim and phone and I put it in a Captivated and it worked great. Blackberries do not work with data, email ect though. that is very disappointing
What system error did straighttalk get?

I am trying to activate a refurbished e71 too and they don't know what to do. Their customer service is terrible. Mine originally came with the wrong sim, so I had to get a new one. Then, 2 weeks later I tried to activate the phone with the new sim card and port my number. The guy said he has to send me a another new sim card. I got a new sim card and tried calling them to activate again, they want to send me a new sim card again (a third one). They say they get an error and the system tells them to send me a new sim card. I don't think they know how to activate a phone, they just keep sending cards out.

I can't activate on the website because it says service unavailable in my zip code, but I ordered my phone from their website using that same zip code and it worked fine.

I can't believe the hassle of trying to activate a phone on ST. If I can't get the CS to port my number I'm just going to give up with straighttalk.
ImDonly1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 12:44 AM   #9
Pliablemoose
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: LA
Posts: 25,198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SAWYER View Post
How hard is it to get phones working on pp and what is the cheapest plan you can have with a blackberry?
They won't activate prepaid Verizon phones or any BB's
Pliablemoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 12:45 AM   #10
Ksyder
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,798
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SAWYER View Post
How hard is it to get phones working on pp and what is the cheapest plan you can have with a blackberry?
Its easy to get phones working provided they are smartphones... if it is a feature phone it may need some programming to make mms and web work.

I'm not sure you can have a blackberry due to reasons which I'm not clear on, but something to the effect of Page Plus not licensing a BIS/BES server, and alternately I've heard they banned them due to not working with their billing system properly but I might be wrong on that.
Ksyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 12:46 AM   #11
Pliablemoose
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: LA
Posts: 25,198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ksyder View Post
I've heard of that being done, and there is a guy on my local Craigslist that says he can do it.... despite being officially banned on Page Plus. I'd like to know what the trick is with that because I'm sure the ESN would be rejected, and even if you did get one in somehow it could be subject to deactivation in the future. What is the deal with the 300 mb data plan? I'm guessing that it is the new plan that hasn't been released yet?

Personally I am using the iphone4 on straight talk and it is awesome... in my area the AT&T coverage has been just as good as Verizon and the data speed slightly better.

After some thought I decided that it was better to go the gsm route because with Verizon iphone there are no options really in prepaid. Well, there is Nation PCS and ACRS but those plans are 65 and 70 a month, respectively, and there is no porting in of any numbers, and customer service is basically non-existent, I don't know of anyone actually using them, or if it actually works.

On the other hand, with a gsm iPhone, at least you can go to h20 wireless for $60 a month unlimited if the Straight Talk sim card stops working for some reason, and I know there are other AT&T mvnos that you could probably use the iPhone on, not to mention T-Mobile.
Was wrong about that, I guess it's only 200mb...

I'm thinking they got some gray market CDMA iPhones that weren't intended to be sold in the US, so Verizon doesn't have the IMEI/ESN's

Did you get MMS working?

Last edited by Pliablemoose; 09-15-2011 at 12:50 AM.
Pliablemoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 12:47 AM   #12
ImDonly1
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,224
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ksyder View Post
On the other hand, with a gsm iPhone, at least you can go to h20 wireless for $60 a month unlimited if the Straight Talk sim card stops working for some reason, and I know there are other AT&T mvnos that you could probably use the iPhone on, not to mention T-Mobile.
According to howardforums users, people are saying that h2o wireless is throttling data speeds to 250-500 kbps. Which is why they advertise it as unlimited because it is so slow. Your experience might be different. Att does the same thing with the gophone.
ImDonly1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 12:52 AM   #13
Ksyder
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,798
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pliablemoose View Post
Was wrong about that, I guess it's only 200mb...

Did you get MMS working?
As of right now the Unlimited plan is only 20 mb of data...

Whereas the 1200 TnT plan gave 100 mb so all the unlimited plan people complain about it constantly.

I haven't got mms working yet... Unfortunately I upgraded to 4.3.5 and now I'm stuck with a tethered jailbreak and I'm not terribly happy with that. Apparently I need to purchase tetherme which I haven't done yet.
Ksyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 12:55 AM   #14
Ksyder
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,798
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImDonly1 View Post
According to howardforums users, people are saying that h2o wireless is throttling data speeds to 250-500 kbps. Which is why they advertise it as unlimited because it is so slow. Your experience might be different. Att does the same thing with the gophone.
Hmm I haven't been following that but it sounds disappointing. However, I had a VZW Iphone for a few days and in all of my speed tests the data was around that speed, even in places with a really strong signal. I don't think that the data speed on H20 would be a deal breaker if I had no other option. I'd probably choose the 50 dollar plan instead.
Ksyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 01:05 AM   #15
Ksyder
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,798
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pliablemoose View Post
Yep, have one iP4 bought, looking for another, will be picking up a couple of refurb Nokias from ST, and plan on buying a year's worth of service for $499 for my daughter and her BF.
You sure are one cool dad...
Ksyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 04:45 AM   #16
jpeyton
Moderator
SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 25,219
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pliablemoose View Post
Were you able to get MMS working?
Pretty easily after jailbreaking the iP4 and editing the APN settings. The only thing that didn't work was visual voicemail.
jpeyton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 10:08 AM   #17
SunnyD
Belgian Waffler
 
SunnyD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Waffle House
Posts: 31,464
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pliablemoose View Post
One of my co workers has an iPhone 4 on Page Plus for $45/month.

I've been looking at doing that, but this is the first I've heard/seen it working, all the folks that have tried it say that Verizon has the SN/IMEI numbers in a database and have them blocked.

I called up the guy that set it up, he says he'll sell me a new CDMA iP4 for $500 haxxored to Page Plus, unlimited voice & text with 300MB data (not enough). Am almost tempted, but an going to do used iP4's on Straight Talk unlimited talk, text, web for $45/month)...
Don't do it. Period.

Your "haxxored" iPhone will consist of an iPhone that had an ESN number cloned from some other "donor" phone that is valid to be activated on page plus. ESN cloning is a federal felony.
__________________
It's a long story... and trust me, no, you really don't have time.
Need VPN? Cheap hosting? I can do that.
SunnyD is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 10:26 AM   #18
Ksyder
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,798
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SunnyD View Post
Don't do it. Period.

Your "haxxored" iPhone will consist of an iPhone that had an ESN number cloned from some other "donor" phone that is valid to be activated on page plus. ESN cloning is a federal felony.
I had a feeling that would be the scenario...
Ksyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 06:39 PM   #19
cardiac
Golden Member
 
cardiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Ask Your Mom..
Posts: 1,945
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pliablemoose View Post
They won't activate prepaid Verizon phones or any BB's
They unofficially lifted the BB ban this past spring.... Lots of them on PP now...

Bob
__________________
My Heatware
cardiac is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 06:42 PM   #20
sjwaste
Diamond Member
 
sjwaste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 8,769
Default

Will Straight Talk activate any network-compatible phone or do they have a database of IMEIs that they will activate?
sjwaste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 08:45 PM   #21
Ksyder
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,798
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sjwaste View Post
Will Straight Talk activate any network-compatible phone or do they have a database of IMEIs that they will activate?
Only their IMEI's. You have to activate the sim card in one of their unlimited plan phones (Nokia 6790, or E71) before it will work in another phone.
Ksyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 04:02 AM   #22
jpeyton
Moderator
SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 25,219
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ksyder View Post
Only their IMEI's. You have to activate the sim card in one of their unlimited plan phones (Nokia 6790, or E71) before it will work in another phone.
Also important to note is the fact that you cannot reactivate the StraightTalk phone while your current SIM is active.

My E71 sits in my desk drawer at home. If I were to sell it and someone else activated another SIM using that phone, my current StraightTalk SIM would be booted off the network.
jpeyton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 08:46 AM   #23
SAWYER
Lifer
 
SAWYER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 14,977
Default

The E71 is crappy, I dont see how Nokia is popular if the e71 is a good representation of their phones. Now 5 days later, still no activation on my phone an was told I have to get a new sim...WTF
SAWYER is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 08:50 AM   #24
Ksyder
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,798
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SAWYER View Post
The E71 is crappy, I dont see how Nokia is popular if the e71 is a good representation of their phones. Now 5 days later, still no activation on my phone an was told I have to get a new sim...WTF
Did you get a refurb from their site? They packaged up a ton of the wrong sim cards with the refurbished phones. I went on their facebook page where you get customer service much quicker. I had the correct sim literally the next morning. And yeah, the e71 is crappy. Its hard to believe that is the best they could come up with for a 45 dollar smartphone plan.
Ksyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 01:19 PM   #25
Occ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 270
Default

So what's the typical play for transferring to ST? For instance,

Purchase ST unlimited $45 and select free phone
Transfer current phone number over
Activate SIM in ST phone at your leisure
Swap SIM to GSM phone of choice
Good to go?
Occ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.