Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Video Cards and Graphics

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-06-2011, 09:19 PM   #1
Grooveriding
Diamond Member
 
Grooveriding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto, CA
Posts: 6,401
Default Diablo 3 Recommended Video Card Settings

Some folks have been datamining the Diablo 3 beta client and have found Blizzard's recommended settings that will be applied depending on what card is found in your system.

The list is huge: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/...hl=en_US#gid=0

Cliffs notes is basically they feel any DX11 card will run this game on high.

edit Needed to revise my statement about there being support for Anti-aliasing at release. Per Blizzard comments, their plan is to get a DX11 pathway added to the game after release and this will allow FSAA to be enabled. So looks like under DX9, Diablo 3 will be like Starcraft 2, AMD & Nvidia are going to have to brute-force AA via drivers for the title. So expect AA to be a big performance hog under DX9.

__________________
5960X @ 4.5 | X99 Deluxe | 16GB 2600 GSkill DDR4 | 780ti SLI | Evo 500GB Raid 0 | Dell U3011 | EVGA 1300W G2
under custom water

Last edited by Grooveriding; 09-07-2011 at 03:14 PM.
Grooveriding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 09:22 PM   #2
Silverforce11
Diamond Member
 
Silverforce11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,719
Default

And they've been saying PC gaming is dead.. I am eagerly awaiting D3, BF3 and eventually SW.

Having a blast with DeusEx and SC2 atm.
__________________

Rig 1: 3570K | Z77 E4 | Crossfire R290 | 840 250GB + 840EVO 250GB | 8GB G.Skill Ares 2133 | OCZ 850W Gold+ | Nanoxia DS1 | Ghetto Water
Hobby: Mobile Game Dev & Cryptocoin day-trader
Silverforce11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 09:25 PM   #3
OVerLoRDI
Diamond Member
 
OVerLoRDI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 5,290
Default

To be expected since it is Blizzard. They generally don't push the envelope in graphics, they care about lots of people being able to play their games.
__________________
TROOPER: Caselabs M8, i5 3570k, 16gb DDR3, 2x7970, X-1050
TARDIS: 750D, i5 2550k, 8gb DDR3, 7970, AX850, 8TB storage
CUBE: INWIN BQS656, Celeron something?, 4gb RAM, 32gb SSD
http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=73710
OVerLoRDI is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 09:25 PM   #4
tviceman
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,948
Default

I think I am in the extreme minority in anticipating torchlight 2 more than diablo 3. Mods, off line play, and the $20 price point make it more attractive to me.
tviceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 09:29 PM   #5
Silverforce11
Diamond Member
 
Silverforce11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,719
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OVerLoRDI View Post
To be expected since it is Blizzard. They generally don't push the envelope in graphics, they care about lots of people being able to play their games.
This is very true. But what they manage to do is make games look amazing considering the low requirements. They have a very talented art team.

D3 is going to be a blast, team up with a few buddies and have long co-op sessions. I did play torchlight but after a few days it felt dull without the interaction with other players.
__________________

Rig 1: 3570K | Z77 E4 | Crossfire R290 | 840 250GB + 840EVO 250GB | 8GB G.Skill Ares 2133 | OCZ 850W Gold+ | Nanoxia DS1 | Ghetto Water
Hobby: Mobile Game Dev & Cryptocoin day-trader
Silverforce11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 10:19 PM   #6
Fallengod
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: so-cal
Posts: 5,582
Default

I was just going to say, Blizzard is smart, they arnt going to make a game only playable on top tier systems. Blizzard isnt huge on high quality graphics anyways. Keep in mind, this is third person rpg type game, not a first person shooter. Also, every game has quality settings so there is nothing to worry about.

Id guess even lowly 9600GT's with maybe settings lowered would run the thing perfectly fine.

Its completely pointless to "worry" about graphic card performance for a game like D3.
__________________
heatware
Fallengod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 07:45 AM   #7
PrayForDeath
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,490
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Silverforce11 View Post
This is very true. But what they manage to do is make games look amazing considering the low requirements. They have a very talented art team.
I agree. Just look at WC3, which looked brilliant when released despite the extremely low poly counts and low-res textures.
__________________
Quote:
Originality isn't one of PrayForDeath's strong points.
-Gamespot

PrayForDeath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 08:24 AM   #8
Rifter
Diamond Member
 
Rifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 8,501
Default

as long as they dont lock it in at 800x600 his time ill be happy.
__________________
i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz 1.35V -- Asus P6X58D-E -- Noctua NH-D14 -- Corsair XMS3 6GB 1600Mhz
SLI GTX 460 860Mhz -- Intel 120GB G2 SSD -- 2 x 1TB Seagate 7200.12 1TB in RAID 0
Corsair 850w TX PSU -- Corsair 600T case -- WD Green 2TB -- Seagate LP 2TB

Oppan Gangnam style all up in this mother!
Rifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 09:54 AM   #9
TheUnk
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,709
Default

I just wish Blizzard would support Eyefinity/NvSurround. WSGF had members that made hacks to make it work but I think it resulted in bans.

It's like reliving the whole 16:9 vs. 4:3.

OMG you are using you peripheral vision!! HAX0R!
TheUnk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 10:03 AM   #10
WMD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 476
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Silverforce11 View Post
This is very true. But what they manage to do is make games look amazing considering the low requirements. They have a very talented art team.

D3 is going to be a blast, team up with a few buddies and have long co-op sessions. I did play torchlight but after a few days it felt dull without the interaction with other players.
Low requirements for video yes. Starcraft 2 is quite heavy on the cpu.
WMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 10:23 AM   #11
GotNoRice
Senior Member
 
GotNoRice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Pleasant Hill, CA
Posts: 316
Default

It looks like it will require a DirectX9c / SM3.0 capable videocard at an absolute minimum, although i'm not sure why there are Radeon X1800 cards listed as unsupported because those should be DirectX9c capable.

Unfortunately I know at least one friend who is really looking forward to this game and was hoping he would be able to continue using his old X800 (DX9b / SM2.0b only)
__________________
Main Rig: i5-2500K @ 5Ghz - ASUS P8Z68-V - 2x EVGA Geforce GTX680 Superclocked - 16GB DDR3 1600 - X-Fi Titanium PCI-E - Samsung 840 Pro 128G - Antec TruePower Quattro 1000w - Corsair 800D
Server: Core i5 650 @ 3.85Ghz - Asus P7H55-M PRO - 12GB DDR3 - FSP 550w PSU
GotNoRice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 10:30 AM   #12
Plimogz
Senior Member
 
Plimogz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Off Topic
Posts: 601
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WMD
Low requirements for video yes. Starcraft 2 is quite heavy on the cpu.
Having it use only 2 cores was in itself a pretty light requirement.

I'd say it was a definite concession to casual gamers; trading off better performance or a more elaborate game for a larger potential customer base.
__________________
2500K/P67A-UD5/HCP-850/2xTF3 7950/4x4GB RipjawsX 1600/120GB Vertex3/1TB Caviar Black/3x2TB Caviar Green ...
Plimogz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 10:35 AM   #13
Spjut
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 450
Default

I hope they will have fixed better multicore support, slower quads like the Q6600/Athlon II X4 were really hurt by SC2 only supporting 2 cores
Spjut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 12:08 PM   #14
Anubis
No Lifer
 
Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Anger is a gift!
Posts: 74,363
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rifterut View Post
as long as they dont lock it in at 800x600 his time ill be happy.
it was 640*480 untill LOD came out
Anubis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 12:20 PM   #15
IGemini
Platinum Member
 
IGemini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: PA
Posts: 2,095
Default

At least I'll be able to run the game on high. I missed the boat on the first two games, might give this one a try.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GotNoRice View Post
It looks like it will require a DirectX9c / SM3.0 capable videocard at an absolute minimum, although i'm not sure why there are Radeon X1800 cards listed as unsupported because those should be DirectX9c capable.

Unfortunately I know at least one friend who is really looking forward to this game and was hoping he would be able to continue using his old X800 (DX9b / SM2.0b only)
My guess is not enough pixel shaders. I have an X1900XT lying around.
__________________
Fafnir [main]: Intel i5-4670K | Corsair H100i | ASRock Z87M Extreme4 | 2x8GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3L-1600 | HIS IceQ Radeon 7870 2GB | Samsung 840 EVO 250GB | Cooler Master N200 | Seasonic G 450W
Nightstar [HTPC]: Intel Q9650 | ASUS P5Q Deluxe | 2x2GB Patriot DDR2-1066 |
PNY GT 220 1GB | Corsair Force F115 | NZXT Apollo | Antec Neo Eco 400C
[ Heat - WIP ]
IGemini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 12:47 PM   #16
RussianSensation
Elite Member
 
RussianSensation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 14,666
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GotNoRice View Post
It looks like it will require a DirectX9c / SM3.0 capable videocard at an absolute minimum, although i'm not sure why there are Radeon X1800 cards listed as unsupported because those should be DirectX9c capable.

Unfortunately I know at least one friend who is really looking forward to this game and was hoping he would be able to continue using his old X800 (DX9b / SM2.0b only)
With cards like HD5670, HD4650 and even HD4850 often on sale for $40-50 in the last 12-15 months, there is no need for Blizzard to go so low as to provide playability for such an ancient card as the 2004 year X800. Unless your friend is stuck on AGP, then surely he can increase his GPU performance 3-5x by just getting a $30 to $40 GPU. However, with such a slow GPU, chances are his CPU is a huge bottleneck anyway for Blizzard games.
__________________
i5 2500k | Asus P8P67 Rev.3 | Sapphire Dual-X HD7970 1150/1800 1.174V CFX | G.Skill Sniper 8GB DDR3-1600 1.5V
SeaSonic Platinum 1000W | OCZ Vertex 3 120GB + HITACHI 7K1000.B 1TB | Windows 7
Westinghouse 37" 1080P | X-Fi Platinum | Logitech Z5300E 5.1
RussianSensation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 12:59 PM   #17
Gigantopithecus
Diamond Member
 
Gigantopithecus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 7,598
Default

I just built a buddy a D3 box and assumed a 6750 would be sufficient to minimally push it on medium settings at 1080p. Blizzard does not make demanding games. Hope I'm right, otherwise I'll have to upgrade him out of my own pocket!
__________________
HeatWare.
Gigantopithecus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 02:26 PM   #18
PrayForDeath
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,490
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigantopithecus View Post
I just built a buddy a D3 box and assumed a 6750 would be sufficient to minimally push it on medium settings at 1080p. Blizzard does not make demanding games. Hope I'm right, otherwise I'll have to upgrade him out of my own pocket!
That should be plenty for D3
__________________
Quote:
Originality isn't one of PrayForDeath's strong points.
-Gamespot

PrayForDeath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 03:15 PM   #19
Grooveriding
Diamond Member
 
Grooveriding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto, CA
Posts: 6,401
Default

Edited the op with some updated information regarding FSAA support in D3. It's planned for after release under the DX11 path, but at release there will be no support for DX9. So AMD & nvidia will have to add support via drivers like Starcraft 2 for DX9 AA.
__________________
5960X @ 4.5 | X99 Deluxe | 16GB 2600 GSkill DDR4 | 780ti SLI | Evo 500GB Raid 0 | Dell U3011 | EVGA 1300W G2
under custom water
Grooveriding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 02:45 AM   #20
PrayForDeath
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,490
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grooveriding View Post
Edited the op with some updated information regarding FSAA support in D3. It's planned for after release under the DX11 path, but at release there will be no support for DX9. So AMD & nvidia will have to add support via drivers like Starcraft 2 for DX9 AA.
I'm not sure why AA has become such a luxury all of a sudden. Witcher 2, Deus Ex: HR, GTA IV, SC2 all have trouble with traditional (and sometimes control-panel enabled) AA, and only support post-processing enabled AA (GTA IV doesn't even have that.)

And now Diablo 3 has the same issue. WTF is up with that?
__________________
Quote:
Originality isn't one of PrayForDeath's strong points.
-Gamespot


Last edited by PrayForDeath; 09-08-2011 at 02:47 AM.
PrayForDeath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 11:57 AM   #21
Cuular
Senior Member
 
Cuular's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 676
Default

With DX11 it's allowed them to do AA in the post-process phase, where apparently it's easier to do.
__________________
"When I want to speak with my husband I understand that conversations that begin with
Whoa...look at the tits on her Will exclict his close attention" - Geekbabe

"His browser must have a retard to Russian translator to understand ATOT. " - joshsquall
Cuular is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 04:20 PM   #22
SHAQ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 738
Default

So Blizzard is going to release an unfinished game? That's a first. I guess I'd rather have it this year and wait for DX11 I suppose.
__________________
Asrock X79 Extreme 6
i7 3820 @ 4.75 1.36v
Mega Shadow w/ CM R4 Blue 120mm push/pull
16 GB G. Skill Z Series 1666 7-8-8-24 1T 1.56v
EVGA 680 2GB SLI 1272/3200
Intel 80GB SSD, Crucial M4 128GB
WD Caviar Black 1.5TB,750GBX2
CM Silent Power Pro 1000W
CM Storm Sniper Black
SHAQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 05:25 PM   #23
darckhart
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 440
Default

@shaq: lol all their games are released unfinished. the sheer number of patches that come out in such a short time frame (after months of beta) to "balance" things is ridiculous. unless you are referring to other things like bugs or features that are missing, which i guess blizz does a pretty good job at.

re d3 in general, no one really expected a SPECTACULAR looking game anyway. imo, AO did a lot more for SC2 than AA. i expect the same for d3 with dungeon crawls.

in any case, with the (recent) changes (online only, in house auction) to the game, i feel less excited and am debating purchasing. gw2 is looking better by the day.
__________________
1. INTEL i7-920 C0 (200x19 @1.275V), Gigabyte EX58-UD4P, Corsair Ballistix Tactical Low Profile 2x 8GB DDR3-1600 (7-7-7-21-1T @1.35V), Catleap 1440p (120 Hz), Sapphire 290X
heat
ebay
darckhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 05:27 PM   #24
Insomniator
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: jersey
Posts: 5,159
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tviceman View Post
I think I am in the extreme minority in anticipating torchlight 2 more than diablo 3. Mods, off line play, and the $20 price point make it more attractive to me.
I played and beat torchlight but honestly given the choice I'd take Diablo 2 over that any day. Much better game overall and with online play its not even close.

Torchlight really needs online play... these kinds of games are so stale without it.
Insomniator is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 06:58 PM   #25
gmaster456
Golden Member
 
gmaster456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,613
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tviceman View Post
I think I am in the extreme minority in anticipating torchlight 2 more than diablo 3. Mods, off line play, and the $20 price point make it more attractive to me.
I guess I'm in that minority too. Although I have to get through Torchlight 1 first. But so far I'm enjoying it a lot.
gmaster456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.