Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Operating Systems

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-18-2011, 10:29 PM   #1
SunnyD
Belgian Waffler
 
SunnyD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Waffle House
Posts: 31,173
Default Antivirus for WHS 2011?

At one point, there was a beta of MSE2 which worked on the Vail beta. Sadly, that doesn't seem to be the case any longer. The common suggestion is ClamAV, but, it's... lacking.

Are there any other free packages that WORK for WHS 2011?
__________________
It's a long story... and trust me, no, you really don't have time.
Need VPN? Cheap hosting? I can do that.
SunnyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 10:31 PM   #2
Emulex
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: ATL
Posts: 9,550
Default

symantec endpoint?
__________________
-------------------------
NAS: Dell 530 Q6600 8gb 4tb headless VHP
KID PC1: Mac Pro Dual nehalem - 6gb - GF120 - HP ZR30W
Browser: Dell 530 Q6600 4GB - Kingston 96gb -gt240- hp LP3065 IPS - 7ult
Tabs: IPAD 1,2,3 IPOD3,HTC flyer, Galaxy Tab - all rooted/jb
Couch1: Macbook Air/Macbook White
Couch2: Macbook Pro 17 2.66 Matte screen - 8GB - SSD
HTPC: Asus C2Q8300/X25-V - Geforce 430- 7ult - Antec MicroFusion 350
Emulex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 10:46 PM   #3
SunnyD
Belgian Waffler
 
SunnyD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Waffle House
Posts: 31,173
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emulex View Post
symantec endpoint?
No thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SunnyD View Post
Are there any other free packages that WORK for WHS 2011?
__________________
It's a long story... and trust me, no, you really don't have time.
Need VPN? Cheap hosting? I can do that.
SunnyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 10:02 AM   #4
zerogear
Diamond Member
 
zerogear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 5,334
Default

I'm still on WHS 1, with no plans to switch until DriveExtender replacement is out + at least 6 months testing on them. Does Avast Free work on WHS 2011?
__________________
My Heatware
zerogear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 10:22 AM   #5
sep
Platinum Member
 
sep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: PA
Posts: 2,540
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zerogear View Post
Does Avast Free work on WHS 2011?
I think it does, but doesn't offer realtime scannning .

SunnyD...great post you beat me to it
__________________
God Bless us All
sep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 07:38 AM   #6
imaheadcase
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,364
Default

Why would you want antivirus for whs??

You plan on backing up viruses to whs from other machines on a regular basis..lol
imaheadcase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 07:54 PM   #7
sep
Platinum Member
 
sep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: PA
Posts: 2,540
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by imaheadcase View Post
Why would you want antivirus for whs??

You plan on backing up viruses to whs from other machines on a regular basis..lol
There is always someone in the crowd!
__________________
God Bless us All
sep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 11:11 PM   #8
Bish
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 167
Default

I'm using Avast. Been since whs v1 through newest whs 2011 rig.. Seems to work, never had an infection.
Bish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2011, 02:29 PM   #9
sep
Platinum Member
 
sep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: PA
Posts: 2,540
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bish View Post
I'm using Avast. Been since whs v1 through newest whs 2011 rig.. Seems to work, never had an infection.
Is this the free version?
__________________
God Bless us All
sep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2011, 06:47 PM   #10
Binky
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 3,637
Default

Avast never had a free version (except maybe in beta). I've run nothing on my WHS machine for years, and I haven't seen a single infection either. Of course, I never actually do anything on that box.
Binky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 09:21 AM   #11
sep
Platinum Member
 
sep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: PA
Posts: 2,540
Default

Well I don't think the free exist for the WHS. The ClamAV hasn't been updated in a long time. If you look at the download stats everyone is staying clear.

The cheapest software looks to be around $40 a year. Oh well, looks like we'll have to inlcude this in overall ownership or take the risk.

Thanks,
-JC
__________________
God Bless us All
sep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 11:51 AM   #12
SunnyD
Belgian Waffler
 
SunnyD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Waffle House
Posts: 31,173
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by imaheadcase View Post
Why would you want antivirus for whs??

You plan on backing up viruses to whs from other machines on a regular basis..lol
Because WHS boxes are external-facing? And all it takes is one bug/exploit for someone to start dropping files on the box? Maybe?
__________________
It's a long story... and trust me, no, you really don't have time.
Need VPN? Cheap hosting? I can do that.
SunnyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 08:00 AM   #13
Exodist
Senior Member
 
Exodist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Walnut, Mississippi, USA
Posts: 331
Default

Doesnt MS Security Essentials work on Windows Home Server? Its free and can be used for small businesses up to 10 computers.
Exodist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 09:19 AM   #14
ViRGE
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
ViRGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 30,129
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Exodist View Post
Doesnt MS Security Essentials work on Windows Home Server? Its free and can be used for small businesses up to 10 computers.
Sadly it does not.
__________________
ViRGE
Team Anandtech: Assimilating a computer near you!
GameStop - An upscale specialized pawnshop that happens to sell new games on the side
Todd the Wraith: On Fruit Bowls - I hope they prove [to be] as delicious as the farmers who grew them
ViRGE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 12:32 PM   #15
Exodist
Senior Member
 
Exodist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Walnut, Mississippi, USA
Posts: 331
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViRGE View Post
Sadly it does not.
That blows then.. Guess next best thing is Avast.
Exodist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2011, 07:30 AM   #16
wlee
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 577
Default

It doesn't have DashBoard support yet, but VIPRE works on WHS2011. You can get a "Family Pack" for about $45 that lets you use it on every ( non commercial use ) machine you own.
I bought a couple licenses when NewEgg had it on special for $15. I'm gonna try to get it installed on my WHS box today. Would have done it last week, but the Hurricane had other ideas for my Power and Internet.

http://www.vipreantivirus.com/
wlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 08:59 PM   #17
sep
Platinum Member
 
sep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: PA
Posts: 2,540
Default

SunnyD, what did you end up with?

What Av are you running on your WHS 2011 Server?

I'm going to run Avast 60 day trial once i'm ready to go live with my server. It's running on my VM-WHS2011 test environment. Hopefully I find something else before the 60 day trial is up.
__________________
God Bless us All
sep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 09:56 AM   #18
SunnyD
Belgian Waffler
 
SunnyD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Waffle House
Posts: 31,173
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sep View Post
SunnyD, what did you end up with?

What Av are you running on your WHS 2011 Server?

I'm going to run Avast 60 day trial once i'm ready to go live with my server. It's running on my VM-WHS2011 test environment. Hopefully I find something else before the 60 day trial is up.
Nothing. I'm in the middle of "rebuilding" my WHS box anyhow, so it's a non-issue.
__________________
It's a long story... and trust me, no, you really don't have time.
Need VPN? Cheap hosting? I can do that.
SunnyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.