Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· AMD Video Cards
· Nvidia
· Displays
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2015
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions

Thread Tools
Old 08-07-2011, 04:08 PM   #1
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
Default Can I mix Corsair Vengeance black and blue?

I have a Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD4-B3 board and I5 2500K CPU. I have installed 1 Corsair Vengeance black, now I want to add another set. The Corsair Vengeance Blue is on sale, so I wonder if there's any problem with mixing them? Is it just color difference? Thanks.

Corsair CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9 Vengeance 8GB
Corsair CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9B Vengeance Blue 8GB

Last edited by garconcn; 08-07-2011 at 04:15 PM.
garconcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 04:44 PM   #2
Diamond Member
Spikesoldier's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 6,766

looks comparable. im guessing the B suffix means Blue.

the specs are the same.

edit: you sure you can use that much memory? 90% of users wouldnt need 12 or 16GB of memory.
i5 3570K 4500MHz | Asrock Fatality Z77 Performance | Noctua NH-D14
(4) G.Skill RipjawsX 4GB PC3-12800 DIMM 9-9-9-24-1T | (2) 256GB Samsung 830 RAID0
MSI Radeon R9 FuryX | ASUS Xonar D1 PCI
Lite-On IHOS104-06 BDROM
PC Power & Cooling 750W Silencer (Black) | Lian-Li PC-E8L + Lian Li CR-25B
Dell 3415W 21:9 Monitor | Logitech Illuminated Keyboard, Logitech G500, Puretrak Talent

Last edited by Spikesoldier; 08-07-2011 at 04:46 PM.
Spikesoldier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 06:27 PM   #3
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 866

sure you could, I am running with a pair of corsair vengeance and a pair of gskill right now.
paul878 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 06:35 PM   #4
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2

Thanks. I needs to run multiple VMs on my computer.
garconcn is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Alpha 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.