Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-04-2011, 10:46 PM   #1
Eug
Lifer
 
Eug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 18,087
Default WiFi beacon interval - Is it really this easy?

I'd been having problems with reliability with my Trendnet access points (TEW-432BRP and TEW-452BRP) mating with my iOS devices, particularly the iPad 2. Periodically, esp. after sleep, I'd lose connectivity between the iPad and the net. To get it back I'd have to either cycle off/on WiFi, or else try to renew the DHCP lease. I tried all sorts of security combinations and various settings on the APs to no avail. Checking the WiFi settings on the iPad, it looked like it was sometimes losing the DHCP IP lease, but even if it had the lease sometimes I couldn't get onto the net. Setting a fixed IP address reduced the issues but didn't eliminate them. I also noticed this from time to time on the iPhone 4.

Finally, I saw a couple of mentions online to reduce the Beacon Interval on the access points to 50 (from the default of 100). So far this seems to have greatly reduced the problem. We'll see if the problem is completely gone or not with time, but the situation has certainly improved.

However, what I've also noticed is that with these 802.11g access points, my MacBook Pro speeds WiFi have gone from 16ish Mbps (but with lots of fluctuation) to 22-23 Mbps (usually solid above 20 Mbps in the same room). My understanding is that this is close to the real-world max of standard 802.11g, but nonetheless it's a 40% increase to what I was getting before.

Can it really be that easy, just by reducing the Beacon Interval?

I was going to upgrade to 802.11n (Buffalo WZR-HP-G300N with the Buffalo DD-WRT firmware), but at these speeds I think I may just stick with 802.11g for the time being, esp. if everything is working well now.
__________________

OS X: 27" iMac Core i7 870 | 13" MacBook Pro C2D 2.26 P8400 + SSD | 13" MacBook C2D 2.4 T8300 + SSD
iOS: iPad Air 2 | iPad 2 | iPhone 5s
Windows: X3400 Athlon II X3 435 | 11.6" 1810TZ Pentium SU4100 + SSD | Revo R3610 Atom 330 + SSD
Android: Nexus 7 (2012)
Eug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 12:35 AM   #2
theevilsharpie
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,320
Default

Decreasing your beacon interval will increase the amount of bandwidth your access point uses for beaconing. Unless something is seriously wrong with your access point, there is no way that this would increase your usable bandwidth.
theevilsharpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 01:14 AM   #3
Eug
Lifer
 
Eug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 18,087
Default

Check out this thread.

https://discussions.apple.com/messag...15493&tstart=0

Also this thread:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost...8&postcount=15

Decreasing beacon interval increases usable bandwidth with the iPad for those people. I suppose the max would be lower because of the higher overhead but if the prior real speeds are way below max then there is still room for much improvement. Eg.

Default beacon interval: 1 Mbps
Reduced beacon interval: 10 Mbps
__________________

OS X: 27" iMac Core i7 870 | 13" MacBook Pro C2D 2.26 P8400 + SSD | 13" MacBook C2D 2.4 T8300 + SSD
iOS: iPad Air 2 | iPad 2 | iPhone 5s
Windows: X3400 Athlon II X3 435 | 11.6" 1810TZ Pentium SU4100 + SSD | Revo R3610 Atom 330 + SSD
Android: Nexus 7 (2012)

Last edited by Eug; 08-05-2011 at 01:18 AM.
Eug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 09:43 AM   #4
Megatomic
Lifer
 
Megatomic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Lakeland, FL
Posts: 19,836
Default

Eug, I have the same issue with my lowly Aspire One netbook. Maybe I'll give this a shot on my wifi router. Thanks for the tip.
__________________
Evals: 223-0-0 Heatware

OG MotoX
Megatomic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 10:06 AM   #5
spidey07
No Lifer
 
spidey07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 65,476
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eug View Post
Check out this thread.

https://discussions.apple.com/messag...15493&tstart=0

Also this thread:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost...8&postcount=15

Decreasing beacon interval increases usable bandwidth with the iPad for those people. I suppose the max would be lower because of the higher overhead but if the prior real speeds are way below max then there is still room for much improvement. Eg.

Default beacon interval: 1 Mbps
Reduced beacon interval: 10 Mbps
Sounds like a serious bug to me. There should be no need to mess with beacon intervals.
__________________
___
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")
spidey07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 02:25 PM   #6
Eug
Lifer
 
Eug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 18,087
Default

Yeah, you're probably right. Nonetheless I had to do something, and fortunately this seemed to have addressed the problem.
__________________

OS X: 27" iMac Core i7 870 | 13" MacBook Pro C2D 2.26 P8400 + SSD | 13" MacBook C2D 2.4 T8300 + SSD
iOS: iPad Air 2 | iPad 2 | iPhone 5s
Windows: X3400 Athlon II X3 435 | 11.6" 1810TZ Pentium SU4100 + SSD | Revo R3610 Atom 330 + SSD
Android: Nexus 7 (2012)
Eug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 08:40 AM   #7
Emulex
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: ATL
Posts: 9,562
Default

ipad with 4.x has serious dhcp problems. their hacks totally mess with many routers. that's what standford medical and many campuses ban those devices. they do nasty non-rfc dhcp spec things to speed up dhcp at home. which causes all heck on a huge campus with thousands of arp requests and collisions and security alerts.
__________________
-------------------------
NAS: Dell 530 Q6600 8gb 4tb headless VHP
KID PC1: Mac Pro Dual nehalem - 6gb - GF120 - HP ZR30W
Browser: Dell 530 Q6600 4GB - Kingston 96gb -gt240- hp LP3065 IPS - 7ult
Tabs: IPAD 1,2,3 IPOD3,HTC flyer, Galaxy Tab - all rooted/jb
Couch1: Macbook Air/Macbook White
Couch2: Macbook Pro 17 2.66 Matte screen - 8GB - SSD
HTPC: Asus C2Q8300/X25-V - Geforce 430- 7ult - Antec MicroFusion 350
Emulex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 10:14 AM   #8
JackMDS
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
JackMDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,563
Default

Networking and its Devices configuration are Not a "Mirrors" of BIOS configuration, and video Cards Overclocking and "Frame Pushing".

The extra settings in Routers and other devices are for specific issues that come up when using complicated professional Networks.

Putting aside SSID, Channel, and basic security settings, everything else should stay at default when used for regular Home Network.



__________________
Jack
Microsoft, MVP - Networking.
JackMDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 04:13 PM   #9
Eug
Lifer
 
Eug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 18,087
Default

It's been several days now, and since reducing the Beacon Interval to 50, I have not had the problem recur even once. It used to happen several times a day.

Even if it's usually only a professional feature, I am very glad this basic home router had this feature.
__________________

OS X: 27" iMac Core i7 870 | 13" MacBook Pro C2D 2.26 P8400 + SSD | 13" MacBook C2D 2.4 T8300 + SSD
iOS: iPad Air 2 | iPad 2 | iPhone 5s
Windows: X3400 Athlon II X3 435 | 11.6" 1810TZ Pentium SU4100 + SSD | Revo R3610 Atom 330 + SSD
Android: Nexus 7 (2012)
Eug is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.