· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions

Old 07-26-2011, 02:01 PM   #1
Soul Reputation

Default How to get rid of a Flash super tracking cookie that is impossible to delete?

I've been deleting Flash cookies on a daily basis for many months now. I manually delete them because I discovered that CCleaner and CleanUp! will not delete each and every Flash cookie. I have found that manually deleting them is the most efficient way to get them off my hard drive. I've deleted hundreds of them without so much as blinking an eye.

Until today.

Today I found a virtually immortal Flash cookie (com.jeroenwijering.sol) in my XP #SharedObjects folder that I cannot delete. When I try and delete it to the Recycle Bin it completely disappears, as you would expect. And then, seconds later, like magic, it reappears as if it just came back from the dead. I tried deleting it with Unlocker but that failed to delete it. Any ideas on how to get rid of it for good?
Soul Reputation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 04:26 PM   #2
Fardringle
Diamond Member

If the file is automatically being replaced when you delete it, then something else is running in the background on the computer (possibly a virus or spyware) that is recreating the file when it is removed.
"Greendale is a bodaciously small town, Lane... I can't even Find-A-Drug here!" - Charles De Mar (Better Off Dead)
"I did not have BOINC relations with that woman, Rosetta@Home!" - Bill Clinton
Fardringle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 01:19 AM   #3
denis280
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fardringle View Post
If the file is automatically being replaced when you delete it, then something else is running in the background on the computer (possibly a virus or spyware) that is recreating the file when it is removed.
Yes i agree with Fardringle.What antivirus are u running.
denis280 is offline   Reply With Quote