Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > CPUs and Overclocking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-23-2011, 01:27 AM   #1
AnitaPeterson
Diamond Member
 
AnitaPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 5,313
Default AMD A6-3650 vs. AMD Athlon II X4 640

Here's a strange one, folks... As I contemplate building a dedicated PC for video editing and transcoding (and yes, some gaming, why not?), I've come to a crossroads... the CPU architecture.

Basically, I'm wondering which of the two CPUs listed above would be better, in terms of computing power.

And since the CPUs themselves only tell half the story, here's what they'd be paired with:

For the A6-3650, I'm looking at the following motherboard: http://canadacomputers.com/product_i...item_id=039821
For the Athlon II X4 640, the motherboard would be this: http://canadacomputers.com/product_i...item_id=030936
The videocard in the system would be this: http://canadacomputers.com/product_i...item_id=040635

Any thoughts?
__________________
May you live in interesting times!
AnitaPeterson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 01:47 AM   #2
AtenRa
Diamond Member
 
AtenRa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Athens Greece
Posts: 6,458
Default

I would get the motherboard in the link in order to be able to upgrade to Bulldozer in the future plus it has the latest chipsets.

http://www.canadacomputers.com/produ...item_id=039838
AtenRa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 03:27 AM   #3
Arkaign
Lifer
 
Arkaign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19,249
Default

Oof, that's a hard one. I think you're better off with an AM3+ build personally, though the mobo price will be a little more expensive than regular AM3 mobos. It gives you tons of options, and given you mention both gaming and encoding, I think the added capability is a win for you even if you don't immediately have the $$ for a BD upgrade when it hits, or a better GPU. You also might score a used PhII X6 when the BD comes out as AMD top-enders dump their old setups for the new, and an X6 is no slouch for encoding or gaming.
__________________
Death is the answer.
Arkaign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 04:08 AM   #4
dawp
Diamond Member
 
dawp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: here until I move again
Posts: 6,738
Default

unless you were planning on using the on-board video of the A6-3650, I'd go with an AM3+ board like the one AtenRa linked to and get a cheap AM3 Phenom X4 until BD is released.

With a dedicated video card, you don't really need the A6-3650.

I would also consider a Phenom 955 X4 BE, larger cache and unlock multipliers, and for not much more than the 960.
http://www.canadacomputers.com/produ...item_id=027383

even if you never OC, the added cache will help, 4 time as much as the 960.
__________________
We Have Met The Enemy and He Is Us

ASUS p8z77 v, i7 3770k, crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB, XFX HD7970 Black Edition

Last edited by dawp; 07-23-2011 at 04:18 AM.
dawp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 04:39 AM   #5
AnitaPeterson
Diamond Member
 
AnitaPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 5,313
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dawp View Post
unless you were planning on using the on-board video of the A6-3650, I'd go with an AM3+ board like the one AtenRa linked to and get a cheap AM3 Phenom X4 until BD is released.

With a dedicated video card, you don't really need the A6-3650.

I would also consider a Phenom 955 X4 BE, larger cache and unlock multipliers, and for not much more than the 960.
http://www.canadacomputers.com/produ...item_id=027383

even if you never OC, the added cache will help, 4 time as much as the 960.
Wow, really? I was looking at that CPU until I saw a few benchmarks at Tom's hardware which said that there's less than 10% difference between it and the 640....
__________________
May you live in interesting times!
AnitaPeterson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 04:55 AM   #6
dawp
Diamond Member
 
dawp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: here until I move again
Posts: 6,738
Default

well, the benches here at anand is pretty much the same, some have a wider spread than others:

http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/188?vs=88

there wasn't a 640 here so i settled for a 645, should be pretty close to what you would expect for either cpu.
__________________
We Have Met The Enemy and He Is Us

ASUS p8z77 v, i7 3770k, crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB, XFX HD7970 Black Edition
dawp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 07:44 AM   #7
TakeNoPrisoners
Platinum Member
 
TakeNoPrisoners's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2,535
Default

Well the A6 has a gpu in it. I would imagine if you were going to put in it that is faster than the one in the A6 then overall the system with the X4 640 would be faster.
__________________
i7 3770k at 4.4Ghz | ASRock Z77 Extreme4 | Cooler Master Hyper 212+ | 16GB DDR3 at 2000Mhz | Dual MSI Gaming R9 290 4GB Crossfire | 128 GB Samsung 830 SSD | 2TB Seagate ST2000DM001 | Corsair TX850M | CM HAF 932 | 3 x Acer 21.5" 1080p IPS Eyefinity | Windows 8.1 64bit
TakeNoPrisoners is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 07:55 AM   #8
dma0991
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,709
Default

As your workload can make full use of more cores, Llano should not be your choice. I would suggest something like a Core i5 2500K, Core i7 2600K or the 6/8 core Bulldozer. I would usually reserve Llano recommendations for users with less demanding workloads.
dma0991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.