Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > PC Gaming

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-08-2011, 11:58 AM   #1
Skott
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 5,646
Default Medal of Honor Allied Assault Install Problem

Not sure if this is the correct forum or not to post this. If not, Mods please move it to proper section. wasn't sure whether to put it here, Hardware, or the highly Technical section.

Okay so I got a hankering to play MoHAS again. So I got out my Warchest edition and started installing. I read people had no trouble playing it om W7. Anyway, when it gets to a point about 75% install on second disk I get a pop-up message that says:

Component: Data Files Complete
File Group: Data Files Complete
File: D\main\Pak2.pk3
Error: Data error (cyclic redundancy check)


I've tried installing twice and it always stops there and pops up that message. I'm guessing its telling me its having a problem installing that particular file onto the hard drive? Or is it my drive that has the problem? Like a bad section? Trying to figure out if its the disk file itself or the drive. I'm hoping its not a bad drive problem. I haven't had any problems since I built the rig earlier this year in March. Smooth sailing and gaming. Any help would be appreciated.

Edit: There are no visible marks or scratches on disk.
__________________
-SG03 Case, Corsair H50, 1 - 120mm Scythe S-Flex SFF21F Case Fan, Corsair HX520w, Intel i5 750, GA P55M-UD2, 4GB GSkill RAM, Gigabyte GTX460, Lite-On LH20A1H, WD6401AALS 640GB HDD, X-Fi XtremeGamer, XP Pro SP2, Logitech G5,Saitek Eclipse II, 22" 1680x1050 LCD
-Lian-Li V354, 4-Noctua NF-P12 120mm fans, ASUS P8P67-M Pro, 8GB GSkill RAM, Intel i5 2500K, Corsair H50, WD Black 1TB HDD, Optiarch Slim ODD, ATI 6950, Corsair HX850w, W7 Pro 64, Logitech G5, Saitek Eclipse II, I-INC 28" 1900x1200 LCD

Last edited by Skott; 07-08-2011 at 12:01 PM.
Skott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 12:11 PM   #2
CuriousMike
Golden Member
 
CuriousMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Bay Area,Ca
Posts: 1,364
Default

1- you might try making a copy of the disk, and using the copy during the install. (see if there is an error during the copy)
2- are you overclocked and *really* stable? maybe you're in the midst of a decompress and it just so happens to be a unicorn spot that kills your machine
3 - can you do the install in safe mode?

edit: per your sig, you have two machines. see if it installs on the 2nd.
__________________
Acer C720 Chromebook

CuriousMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 09:04 PM   #3
BFG10K
Lifer
 
BFG10K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 20,387
Default

You could also try manually copying Pak2.pk3 across with Windows Explorer.
__________________
4790K | Titan | 16GB DDR3-1600 | Z97-K | 128GB Samsung 830 | 960GB Crucial M500 | 1TB VelociRaptor | X-Fi XtremeMusic | Seasonic X 560W | Fractal Arc R2 Midi | 30" HP LP3065
BFG10K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 11:16 AM   #4
Skott
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 5,646
Default

The main PC is unclocked and quite stable. Got it to install on other PC (SG03) without problems. It needs to be run as admin to get it to start as well but I was kinda expecting that having read some of the problems people were having with it and W7. I'll have to tinker with the main PC some and see if I can get it to install and run on it.
__________________
-SG03 Case, Corsair H50, 1 - 120mm Scythe S-Flex SFF21F Case Fan, Corsair HX520w, Intel i5 750, GA P55M-UD2, 4GB GSkill RAM, Gigabyte GTX460, Lite-On LH20A1H, WD6401AALS 640GB HDD, X-Fi XtremeGamer, XP Pro SP2, Logitech G5,Saitek Eclipse II, 22" 1680x1050 LCD
-Lian-Li V354, 4-Noctua NF-P12 120mm fans, ASUS P8P67-M Pro, 8GB GSkill RAM, Intel i5 2500K, Corsair H50, WD Black 1TB HDD, Optiarch Slim ODD, ATI 6950, Corsair HX850w, W7 Pro 64, Logitech G5, Saitek Eclipse II, I-INC 28" 1900x1200 LCD
Skott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 10:16 PM   #5
BFG10K
Lifer
 
BFG10K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 20,387
Default

Mine doesn't need to be run as admin. Have you tinkered with your UAC settings?
__________________
4790K | Titan | 16GB DDR3-1600 | Z97-K | 128GB Samsung 830 | 960GB Crucial M500 | 1TB VelociRaptor | X-Fi XtremeMusic | Seasonic X 560W | Fractal Arc R2 Midi | 30" HP LP3065
BFG10K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 04:21 AM   #6
PrayForDeath
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,487
Default

Sounds like a disk error.
__________________
Quote:
Originality isn't one of PrayForDeath's strong points.
-Gamespot

PrayForDeath is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.