Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-05-2011, 11:20 AM   #1
Texashiker
Lifer
 
Texashiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SouthEast Texas
Posts: 15,994
Default Need to boost range for linksys wrt54g wireless router

I need a way to boost the range of a linksys wrt54g wireless router. The router is at the far end of the office, with 2 laptops that connect through wireless.

Since the router is on one side of the office, I thought about going with a Trendnet 14 db directional antenna. But I dont know if the trendnet antenna needs an adapter to connect to the linksys wrt54g.

We do not have the option of moving the router to the middle of the office.

I thought about going with a omni-directional antenna, but I dont know if that is going to give us the signal boost that we need.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atomic Playboy View Post
Sometimes Texashiker is almost reasonable, and at least capable of rational discussion, and other times he appears to have the intellect of a Tickle-Me-Elmo doll whose on/off switch was set to "Retard."

Last edited by Texashiker; 07-05-2011 at 11:23 AM.
Texashiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 02:32 PM   #2
bobdole369
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,504
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Texashiker View Post
I need a way to boost the range of a linksys wrt54g wireless router. The router is at the far end of the office, with 2 laptops that connect through wireless.

Since the router is on one side of the office, I thought about going with a Trendnet 14 db directional antenna. But I dont know if the trendnet antenna needs an adapter to connect to the linksys wrt54g.

We do not have the option of moving the router to the middle of the office.

I thought about going with a omni-directional antenna, but I dont know if that is going to give us the signal boost that we need.
Adding signal strength is almost always a bad idea - you'll quickly run afoul of the law.

Is purchasing an additional wrt54g a possibility (or any other similarly priced WAP's?) You can set up dd-wrt on the first wrt54g and do the same with the second - but set it up as WDS, which will repeat the signal.

a 14dbi directional generally has a fairly narrow bandwidth. 2.4ghz blocking objects will still block the same 2.4ghz with gain.
__________________
Things that make you smile.

Administration of a drug to an addict will cause re-establishment of chemical dependence upon the addictive substance. Quit smoking and using nicotine in ***all*** its forms today.
bobdole369 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 07:50 PM   #3
Emulex
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: ATL
Posts: 9,540
Default

just upgrade to a modern n router like buffalo wzr series. even the 2wire junk uverse gives you is 400mw. buffalo airstation are 834mw legal. very potent
__________________
-------------------------
NAS: Dell 530 Q6600 8gb 4tb headless VHP
KID PC1: Mac Pro Dual nehalem - 6gb - GF120 - HP ZR30W
Browser: Dell 530 Q6600 4GB - Kingston 96gb -gt240- hp LP3065 IPS - 7ult
Tabs: IPAD 1,2,3 IPOD3,HTC flyer, Galaxy Tab - all rooted/jb
Couch1: Macbook Air/Macbook White
Couch2: Macbook Pro 17 2.66 Matte screen - 8GB - SSD
HTPC: Asus C2Q8300/X25-V - Geforce 430- 7ult - Antec MicroFusion 350
Emulex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 08:05 PM   #4
Dark Shroud
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 1,575
Default

There are plenty of guides on the net on making little boosters for the antennas.
__________________
Core i7 2600K / Noctua NH-U12P SE2
Sapphire AMD HD 6970 2GB / Dell SP2309w @ 2048x1152
Samsung 830 128GB & WD Black HDs
LiteOn BD-ROM, Plextor DVD-RW with Light Scribe
Gigabyte P67A-UD3-B3 / Corsair Vengence (2 x 4GB) 1600 (8-8-8-24)
Cooler Master HAF 932 / Corsair HX1000 watts
Killer 2100
Dark Shroud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 09:11 PM   #5
JackMDS
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
JackMDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,235
Default

It is a business so do not look for "silly" Enthusiasts solution.

If the office has partitions and obstacles, Antenna will not do much.

Lay a cable toward the center of the space and install a second Wireless Router acting as a n Access Point.

Use the same Password and SSID for the Access point but put it on a different channel than the Linksys.

Using a Wireless Router as a switch with an Access Point - http://www.ezlan.net/router_AP.html

If opt to, you can get an a/b/g/n Wireless and provide more inclusive service than just b/g.



__________________
Jack
Microsoft, MVP - Networking.

Last edited by JackMDS; 07-05-2011 at 09:31 PM.
JackMDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 07:40 AM   #6
Texashiker
Lifer
 
Texashiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SouthEast Texas
Posts: 15,994
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JackMDS View Post
It is a business so do not look for "silly" Enthusiasts solution.
The wrt54g wireless router was already in place when I got there. I thought about getting a better unit, but I dont know if they want to fork out the money.

Instead of trying to extend the range, we might just replace the router with something more up-to-date.

This is a small doctors office with 4 work stations (1 work station is rarely used), and 2 new laptops. The 2 laptops are wireless and the doctor carries them from room to room for the electronic medical records.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atomic Playboy View Post
Sometimes Texashiker is almost reasonable, and at least capable of rational discussion, and other times he appears to have the intellect of a Tickle-Me-Elmo doll whose on/off switch was set to "Retard."
Texashiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 09:07 AM   #7
JackMDS
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
JackMDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,235
Default

Put a better Router instead of the WRT54G and if still needed, use the WRT54G as an additional Access Point.

Hmm..A doctor office that can not judge spending $60 expense to do work right ???

I wonder how they judge medication usage when they prescribe them???


__________________
Jack
Microsoft, MVP - Networking.
JackMDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 09:14 AM   #8
Modelworks
Lifer
 
Modelworks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 16,237
Default

Doctors office are special cases for wireless. do they use any equipment like EKG machines, xray in the office ? All of these require some thought, some EKG do not like wifi and will misbehave if the machine is near a strong signal , others are designed to send the data via wifi, so something to consider. I know of an office that chose to put low profile wifi antenna with small repeaters in the trouble spots vs trying to use one high power solution because of the interference it caused.

The antennas they use are like this:

http://www.l-com.com/content/FAQ.aspx?Type=FAQ&ID=4891

Last edited by Modelworks; 07-06-2011 at 09:16 AM.
Modelworks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 09:18 AM   #9
Texashiker
Lifer
 
Texashiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SouthEast Texas
Posts: 15,994
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Modelworks View Post
Doctors office are special cases for wireless. do they use any equipment like EKG machines, xray in the office ?
Xray - yes
EKG - no

I like the low profile antenna you linked to, that might be a good option.

There are only 2 rooms that they are having problems with the signal. If we can get the signal boosted just a little bit, I think everything is going to be ok.

Or, add a second router, set up some kind of bridge mode, and set the second router at the end of the hall so it has good line of sight to the main router where the modem is at.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atomic Playboy View Post
Sometimes Texashiker is almost reasonable, and at least capable of rational discussion, and other times he appears to have the intellect of a Tickle-Me-Elmo doll whose on/off switch was set to "Retard."
Texashiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 10:47 AM   #10
bobdole369
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,504
Default

Ya man this isn't that hard of a case. You don't even need to have ethernet to the "repeater" on WDS - in fact that would make a broadcast loop. Issue is that the WAPs need to be the same. For that level of traffic this is probably best as the WDS induced reduction in bandwidth is not huge for a couple users.

Experiment with antenna height? Mount the thing to the wall about eye level? Just a thought.
__________________
Things that make you smile.

Administration of a drug to an addict will cause re-establishment of chemical dependence upon the addictive substance. Quit smoking and using nicotine in ***all*** its forms today.
bobdole369 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.