· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions

Old 06-30-2011, 06:33 PM   #1
MrEgo

Default Is Dr. Oz legit? What's his speciality in, and how does that relate to nutrition?

Not a rhetorical question. Just wondering if anyone has any educated opinions on him.
MrEgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 08:41 AM   #2
DisgruntledVirus
Lifer

Well, the nutritionist that I work with who has been doing it for years and works with marathoners, ultra marathoners, and people during rehab says that he is full of shit basically. I'm not a professional (and I just have my self-education in nutrition), but I completely agree with her FWIW.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Texashiker View Post
So dont hate on me for jumping to conclusions without the reading the whole story.
DisgruntledVirus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 08:46 AM   #3
Whisper
Diamond Member

If I'm remembering correctly, I think he's a cardiologist...? Which means if he's learned anything about nutrition, it's general information from medical school coupled with whatever he's decided to read in his spare time afterward (unless he's done some sort of continuing ed in it), I believe.
Whisper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 09:53 AM   #4
wheresmybacon
Diamond Member

He's a heart surgeon. I've seen his show a few times, and IMO he doesn't seem to try and come off as anything other than he is.

One show I saw that I like he had Tim Ferriss as a guest. Interesting stuff.

Specifically, I came to know of Ferriss by way of his blog and these posts in particular:

Lose 20 Pounds of Fat in 30 Days Without Exercise:
http://www.fourhourworkweek.com/blog...-any-exercise/

Gain 34 Pounds of Muscle in 4 Weeks
http://www.fourhourworkweek.com/blog...le-in-4-weeks/

Last edited by wheresmybacon; 07-01-2011 at 09:57 AM.
wheresmybacon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 10:21 AM   #5
highland145
Lifer