Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Console Gaming

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-27-2011, 03:20 PM   #1
DigitalCancer
Diamond Member
 
DigitalCancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Portage, IN
Posts: 3,647
Default Is there anyway to get Blockbuster on Demand to stream to ps3?

So...I've looked around a bit but have been unsuccessful in finding an answer.

It seems as though I'm out of luck, but maybe someone here knows of a good work around to get On Demand to stream to a ps3?

The 360 does it, but it seems like it only streams it from a pc via the media center extender? (i'm not certain as I can't find any info on it!)

So, in response to it streaming from media center to the 360, it seems like there would be SOME WAY to do this for the ps3 as well? I currently have Ps3 Media Server running on my server that streams all of my media files to my ps3, so, there has to be a way right?
__________________
I wish my lawn was emo so it'd cut itself. =/

PsN = Digitalcancer
HEAT = 240-0-0
MediaServer: A8-3800 (70w Quad) - AsRock A75M-HVS - 8GB G.Skill Sniper DDr3
WD Black 2TB - WD Green 2TB (RAID 1 ARRAY), Windows 7 Pro - All in a nice racked case
DigitalCancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 09:26 AM   #2
DigitalCancer
Diamond Member
 
DigitalCancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Portage, IN
Posts: 3,647
Default

No one has any ideas??
__________________
I wish my lawn was emo so it'd cut itself. =/

PsN = Digitalcancer
HEAT = 240-0-0
MediaServer: A8-3800 (70w Quad) - AsRock A75M-HVS - 8GB G.Skill Sniper DDr3
WD Black 2TB - WD Green 2TB (RAID 1 ARRAY), Windows 7 Pro - All in a nice racked case
DigitalCancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 10:34 AM   #3
alent1234
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,915
Default

get netflix?
alent1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 10:37 AM   #4
DigitalCancer
Diamond Member
 
DigitalCancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Portage, IN
Posts: 3,647
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alent1234 View Post
get netflix?
I wanted Blockbuster specifically for the 2-at a time (games/dvd/bluray/OnDemand) for $17/month....

Otherwise, I'll need the $17 + $8 for NetFlix or Hulu (which I've been trying and don't care too much for their selection). Has Netflix's Streaming selection gotten any better over the past 2yrs that I've not been with them? They used to just have a bunch of 'B'-movies primarily.

Edit: I noticed that the WD Live boxes can even do Blockbuster's OnDemand and some TV's have the app...why not PS3/Wii???
__________________
I wish my lawn was emo so it'd cut itself. =/

PsN = Digitalcancer
HEAT = 240-0-0
MediaServer: A8-3800 (70w Quad) - AsRock A75M-HVS - 8GB G.Skill Sniper DDr3
WD Black 2TB - WD Green 2TB (RAID 1 ARRAY), Windows 7 Pro - All in a nice racked case
DigitalCancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 11:31 AM   #5
Queasy
Moderator
Console Gaming
 
Queasy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 31,796
Default

There currently isn't any way to stream from Blockbuster On Demand to any console.

However, you can try out VuDu which has some of the many same new releases to stream as Blockbuster On Demand at pretty much the same prices. There's also movies to download in the Playstation Store that are new releases.

The release schedule for movies kind of goes like this.

Theaters -> PPV/Downloadable Releases -> Movie Channels -> Netflix Streaming
__________________
Forza4 Game Night - Weds 9PM EST | XBL - Queasy1 | PSN - Queasy1

Writing Gigs: Examiner Console Gaming | Video Game Writers
Queasy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 11:36 AM   #6
DigitalCancer
Diamond Member
 
DigitalCancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Portage, IN
Posts: 3,647
Default

Blockbuster informed me that you CAN stream via 360...but it's something to do with the media extender stuff (lost the link, sorry).

VuDu I have, pretty decent if you want to rent per movie but, blockbuster's OnDemand is free streaming like NetFlix or am I mistaken??

I'm trying to get rid of my cable bill, I'm saving about $100 by only having the net and NetFlix/Blockbuster for streaming tv shows/movies.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Queasy View Post
There currently isn't any way to stream from Blockbuster On Demand to any console.

However, you can try out VuDu which has some of the many same new releases to stream as Blockbuster On Demand at pretty much the same prices. There's also movies to download in the Playstation Store that are new releases.

The release schedule for movies kind of goes like this.

Theaters -> PPV/Downloadable Releases -> Movie Channels -> Netflix Streaming
__________________
I wish my lawn was emo so it'd cut itself. =/

PsN = Digitalcancer
HEAT = 240-0-0
MediaServer: A8-3800 (70w Quad) - AsRock A75M-HVS - 8GB G.Skill Sniper DDr3
WD Black 2TB - WD Green 2TB (RAID 1 ARRAY), Windows 7 Pro - All in a nice racked case
DigitalCancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 11:41 AM   #7
Queasy
Moderator
Console Gaming
 
Queasy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 31,796
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalCancer View Post
Blockbuster informed me that you CAN stream via 360...but it's something to do with the media extender stuff (lost the link, sorry).
Yep, you are right. My bad. I've stopped considering the Media Extender for most stuff and just think of stuff that is baked in.

Quote:
VuDu I have, pretty decent if you want to rent per movie but, blockbuster's OnDemand is free streaming like NetFlix or am I mistaken??
Yeah, Blockbuster On Demand is not pay one price and free streaming like Netflix. You have to pay a fee for each movie (around $4 to rent).
__________________
Forza4 Game Night - Weds 9PM EST | XBL - Queasy1 | PSN - Queasy1

Writing Gigs: Examiner Console Gaming | Video Game Writers
Queasy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 12:06 PM   #8
DigitalCancer
Diamond Member
 
DigitalCancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Portage, IN
Posts: 3,647
Default

Thank you for the info!! I looked into it a little deeper on their site and you are correct that it costs extra, lol.

I'll just go with NetFlix then b/c I'm looking for a sub to streaming is all...Hulu doesn't have enough 'newer content' compared to Netflix (at least when I had them).

Thanks again!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Queasy View Post
Yep, you are right. My bad. I've stopped considering the Media Extender for most stuff and just think of stuff that is baked in.



Yeah, Blockbuster On Demand is not pay one price and free streaming like Netflix. You have to pay a fee for each movie (around $4 to rent).
__________________
I wish my lawn was emo so it'd cut itself. =/

PsN = Digitalcancer
HEAT = 240-0-0
MediaServer: A8-3800 (70w Quad) - AsRock A75M-HVS - 8GB G.Skill Sniper DDr3
WD Black 2TB - WD Green 2TB (RAID 1 ARRAY), Windows 7 Pro - All in a nice racked case
DigitalCancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 12:12 PM   #9
Queasy
Moderator
Console Gaming
 
Queasy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 31,796
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalCancer View Post
I'll just go with NetFlix then b/c I'm looking for a sub to streaming is all...Hulu doesn't have enough 'newer content' compared to Netflix (at least when I had them).
Yeah, I canceled my Hulu Plus subscription after the free trial period ended. It seemed like many of the shows that I wanted to watch were 'Web only' so I didn't see the point of paying for it.

That said, you should check out PlayOn for more streaming options. You install it on your PC to stream to your PS3 or 360. It is $4.99 a month/$39.99 a year/$79.99 lifetime.

http://www.playon.tv/content-channels

I had let my sub with PlayOn lapse because I got tired of my older PC hanging up on it. I may try it out again now that I've upgraded.
__________________
Forza4 Game Night - Weds 9PM EST | XBL - Queasy1 | PSN - Queasy1

Writing Gigs: Examiner Console Gaming | Video Game Writers
Queasy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 12:15 PM   #10
DigitalCancer
Diamond Member
 
DigitalCancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Portage, IN
Posts: 3,647
Default

Nice...I'll definitely have to check that one out when I get home.

I've gotta media-server (Celeron 420/2Gb ram/Win 7) that I use for all of my streaming, and it looks like this PlayOn actually has a few tv channels that it streams...very nice. I'm looking to replace our cable bill with a significantly reduced one, lol.
__________________
I wish my lawn was emo so it'd cut itself. =/

PsN = Digitalcancer
HEAT = 240-0-0
MediaServer: A8-3800 (70w Quad) - AsRock A75M-HVS - 8GB G.Skill Sniper DDr3
WD Black 2TB - WD Green 2TB (RAID 1 ARRAY), Windows 7 Pro - All in a nice racked case
DigitalCancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 12:32 PM   #11
Jeffg010
Diamond Member
 
Jeffg010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 3,194
Default

That PlayOn is this HD? This look interesting.
Jeffg010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 01:00 PM   #12
Queasy
Moderator
Console Gaming
 
Queasy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 31,796
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffg010 View Post
That PlayOn is this HD? This look interesting.
Doesn't support HD yet. According to the devs, it would require a quad-core PC to transcode HD streams on the fly. Not enough of their customers have PCs that powerful enough to spend the effort needed to support it yet.
__________________
Forza4 Game Night - Weds 9PM EST | XBL - Queasy1 | PSN - Queasy1

Writing Gigs: Examiner Console Gaming | Video Game Writers
Queasy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 03:40 PM   #13
Jeffg010
Diamond Member
 
Jeffg010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 3,194
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Queasy View Post
Doesn't support HD yet. According to the devs, it would require a quad-core PC to transcode HD streams on the fly. Not enough of their customers have PCs that powerful enough to spend the effort needed to support it yet.
I'm out then. If it is not HD I'm not watching it.
Jeffg010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.