Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-20-2011, 04:58 PM   #1
NiceCold
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 543
Default help seeking for motherboard that support IDE hard drive

can someone help me look for a motherboard that support IDE hard drive?

my system broken down and my hard drive still works and have data i want to keep and use. i want to buy a new motherboard to use the hard drive but most modern hard drive is SATA.

i went to ewiz and newegg and navigate hard drives.... it only says SATA and ATA. can someone link me a motherboard that support IDE hard drive in either ewiz or newegg?


look for motherboard
- amd cpu
- IDE hard drive

Last edited by NiceCold; 05-20-2011 at 05:50 PM.
NiceCold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2011, 05:16 PM   #2
corkyg
Moderator
Peripherals
 
corkyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 24,130
Default

You could use any motherboard and inerts controller card for PATA drives. Take the opportunity to de-legacy yourself. You can have both.

If you must have on board PATA, check out the Asus P5LD2 mobo on E-Bay.

You can also put your PATA drive in an external case and access it from any computer.
__________________
CorkyG - Tucson, AZ

In my view you cannot claim to have seen something until you have photographed it.... Emile Zola

Last edited by corkyg; 05-20-2011 at 05:38 PM.
corkyg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2011, 05:49 PM   #3
NiceCold
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 543
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by corkyg View Post
You could use any motherboard and inerts controller card for PATA drives. Take the opportunity to de-legacy yourself. You can have both.

If you must have on board PATA, check out the Asus P5LD2 mobo on E-Bay.

You can also put your PATA drive in an external case and access it from any computer.
is PATA same thing as IDE? i really dont know about this stuff. the plug that plugs in the hard drive has 4 holes. the psu wire has 4 holes thats plug into the hard drive.
NiceCold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2011, 06:07 PM   #4
SViscusi
Golden Member
 
SViscusi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 1,127
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NiceCold View Post
is PATA same thing as IDE?
Yes

Quote:
i really dont know about this stuff. the plug that plugs in the hard drive has 4 holes. the psu wire has 4 holes thats plug into the hard drive.
There are two wire that need to plug into a hard drive. The data wire, which in the case of PATA hard drives is an 80 wire ribbon cable

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:ATA_cables.jpg

And a power cable which with PATA is a 4 pin molex connector.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Mo..._connector.jpg
SViscusi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2011, 09:22 PM   #5
Zap
Super Moderator
Off Topic
Elite Member
 
Zap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Somewhere Gillbot can't find me
Posts: 22,378
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NiceCold View Post
i went to ewiz and newegg and navigate hard drives.... it only says SATA and ATA. can someone link me a motherboard that support IDE hard drive in either ewiz or newegg?
I just took a quick peek and at least 3 out of 4 had an IDE port out of the dozen I looked at. You are unable to sort or search for them. You have to look at the pictures.

If you want a more specific recommendation, we need more information. Which CPU do you have? Some boards can't take the higher wattage chips. Do you need ATX or micro ATX? Do you run dual graphics cards? Is your RAM DDR3 or DDR2?
__________________
The best way to future-proof is to save money and spend it on future products. (Ken g6)

SSD turns duds into studs. (JBT)
Zap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2011, 07:21 AM   #6
NiceCold
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 543
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zap View Post
I just took a quick peek and at least 3 out of 4 had an IDE port out of the dozen I looked at. You are unable to sort or search for them. You have to look at the pictures.

If you want a more specific recommendation, we need more information. Which CPU do you have? Some boards can't take the higher wattage chips. Do you need ATX or micro ATX? Do you run dual graphics cards? Is your RAM DDR3 or DDR2?
well the hdd was in a Emachines T6212 system. may you please link me to the cheapest rpice that is compatible with all the components thats in the T6212? and this t6212 seems dead thats why i need a new motherboard to get the hard drive that was in it to work. ima get new case too.


the T6212 upgraded current spec is
- athlon64 3200+
- 2.5gb ram
- x850xt pci express
- win xp


i want to see the cheapest price in retail site like newegg, ewiz and tiger direct i dont want to buy at ebay.
NiceCold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2011, 10:02 AM   #7
Emulex
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: ATL
Posts: 9,554
Default

i've got a couple of old nforce motherboards with geforce 6100 i am pretty sure they have a sata port. let me know.
__________________
-------------------------
NAS: Dell 530 Q6600 8gb 4tb headless VHP
KID PC1: Mac Pro Dual nehalem - 6gb - GF120 - HP ZR30W
Browser: Dell 530 Q6600 4GB - Kingston 96gb -gt240- hp LP3065 IPS - 7ult
Tabs: IPAD 1,2,3 IPOD3,HTC flyer, Galaxy Tab - all rooted/jb
Couch1: Macbook Air/Macbook White
Couch2: Macbook Pro 17 2.66 Matte screen - 8GB - SSD
HTPC: Asus C2Q8300/X25-V - Geforce 430- 7ult - Antec MicroFusion 350
Emulex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2011, 11:09 AM   #8
Zap
Super Moderator
Off Topic
Elite Member
 
Zap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Somewhere Gillbot can't find me
Posts: 22,378
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NiceCold View Post
- athlon64 3200+
- 2.5gb ram
Socket 939 with DDR. You won't find new boards for this CPU or RAM.
__________________
The best way to future-proof is to save money and spend it on future products. (Ken g6)

SSD turns duds into studs. (JBT)
Zap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2011, 01:16 PM   #9
Dark Shroud
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 1,575
Default

I've been here just upgrade and use an adapter parts & combos are cheap:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboD...t=Combo.638725

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboD...t=Combo.651763
__________________
Core i7 2600K / Noctua NH-U12P SE2
Sapphire AMD HD 6970 2GB / Dell SP2309w @ 2048x1152
Samsung 830 128GB & WD Black HDs
LiteOn BD-ROM, Plextor DVD-RW with Light Scribe
Gigabyte P67A-UD3-B3 / Corsair Vengence (2 x 4GB) 1600 (8-8-8-24)
Cooler Master HAF 932 / Corsair HX1000 watts
Killer 2100
Dark Shroud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2011, 01:47 PM   #10
corkyg
Moderator
Peripherals
 
corkyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 24,130
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NiceCold View Post
is PATA same thing as IDE?
IDE = Integrated Drive Electronics There are two kinds of IDE drives, Serial ATA (SATA) and Parallel ATA (PATA.) IDE applies equally to both types, common usage not withstanding.
__________________
CorkyG - Tucson, AZ

In my view you cannot claim to have seen something until you have photographed it.... Emile Zola
corkyg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 06:54 AM   #11
Old Hippie
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6,361
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emulex View Post
i've got a couple of old nforce motherboards with geforce 6100 i am pretty sure they have a sata port. let me know.
Watch it.

I got a warning for a statement like that.

Seems like it was considered a proposition and there are
Quote:
NO SALES OUTSIDE FS/FT
__________________
Rick
You Get What You Pay For!
Old Hippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.