Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Video Cards and Graphics

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-17-2011, 10:50 PM   #1
OVerLoRDI
Diamond Member
 
OVerLoRDI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 5,156
Default Disabling GPU accelerated Flash

Is there a way to disable GPU accelerated flash? My video cards are primarily devoted to DC, and I can use my computer normally without much issue, the only exception is GPU accelerated flash which causes an unrecoverable crash of the display driver. The rest of the computer works normally, can still access shares from another computer, etc, just the display hard locks and there is no way to recover besides hard reset.

I'm using the cats 11.4 preview drivers, but this problem has persisted since the release drivers for the 69xx cards.
__________________
TROOPER: Caselabs M8, i5 3570k, 16gb DDR3, 2x7970, X-1050
TARDIS: 750D, i5 2550k, 8gb DDR3, 7970, AX850, 8TB storage
CUBE: INWIN BQS656, Celeron something?, 4gb RAM, 32gb SSD
http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=73710
OVerLoRDI is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 11:06 PM   #2
taltamir
Lifer
 
taltamir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 13,523
Default

I am pretty sure its on a per browser, not global:

1. go to http://us.blizzard.com/en-us/ - must be a site with a large enough flash frame or the flash settings will get "stuck" and require you to reboot your browser.
2. Right click in the middle, select "settings"
3. Select the leftmost tab (tabs are at the bottom)
4. uncheck the GPU acceleration option.

You might have to restart the browser (or just tab in chrome) a few time as its prone to freezing / crashing / doing weird stuff.

Beyond being very buggy (I hate flash with a passion, it burns like a thousand suns!), flash GPU acceleration also causes my GPU to get very loud, very noisy, and waste my precious (expensive) electricity.
IE9 GPU acceleration doesn't do that BTW, just stupid adobe failash
__________________
How to protect your data guide
AA Naming Guide

I do not have a superman complex; for I am God, not superman!
The internet is a source of infinite information; the vast majority of which happens to be wrong.
taltamir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 11:11 PM   #3
Gloomy
Golden Member
 
Gloomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,217
Default

drops frames on 1080p flash videos for me, when I disable GPU acceleration on my laptop
Gloomy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 11:21 PM   #4
taltamir
Lifer
 
taltamir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 13,523
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gloomy View Post
drops frames on 1080p flash videos for me, when I disable GPU acceleration on my laptop
then don't disable it.
__________________
How to protect your data guide
AA Naming Guide

I do not have a superman complex; for I am God, not superman!
The internet is a source of infinite information; the vast majority of which happens to be wrong.
taltamir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 01:26 AM   #5
OVerLoRDI
Diamond Member
 
OVerLoRDI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 5,156
Default

Thanks taltamir
__________________
TROOPER: Caselabs M8, i5 3570k, 16gb DDR3, 2x7970, X-1050
TARDIS: 750D, i5 2550k, 8gb DDR3, 7970, AX850, 8TB storage
CUBE: INWIN BQS656, Celeron something?, 4gb RAM, 32gb SSD
http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=73710
OVerLoRDI is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 02:47 AM   #6
imaheadcase
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,332
Default

You should not have any problem running DC apps and flash at the same time..
imaheadcase is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.