Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-03-2011, 05:26 PM   #1
SickBeast
Lifer
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 14,293
Default Can I connect a gigabit switch to my router and still use the internet?

Hi Guys,

I'm wondering if I can hook up a gigabit switch to my existing wireless router, and then connect computers to the switch. Will the computers still have access to the internet with that type of setup?

I'd like to upgrade to gigabit ethernet, and going with a switch is cheaper than getting a new router.
SickBeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 05:27 PM   #2
spidey07
No Lifer
 
spidey07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 65,476
Default

Absolutely
__________________
___
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")
spidey07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 05:38 PM   #3
SickBeast
Lifer
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 14,293
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spidey07 View Post
Absolutely
Awesome, thanks very much.

The Asus gigabit switch is $25 whereas I can get a new router for $40. Should I just pocket the $15 and go with the switch?

Will it use more electricity to keep my existing router and add the switch compared to just getting a new router?
SickBeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 06:41 PM   #4
Diogenes2
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 2,141
Default

A little bit. Just look at the specs on the units and it should tell you the wattage..
__________________

Diogenes2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 07:23 PM   #5
JackMDS
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
JackMDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,560
Default

This is a bitter switch.

It $24.99 Ship free, so you will save $5 more.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833156259

__________________
Jack
Microsoft, MVP - Networking.
JackMDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 10:06 PM   #6
SickBeast
Lifer
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 14,293
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JackMDS View Post
This is a bitter switch.

It $24.99 Ship free, so you will save $5 more.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833156259

Thanks very much. I noticed that Trendnet switch at NCIX for $25 as well but I was not sure about the brand.

It looks like my router only consumes 5 watts, so I think I am just going to get the switch and not worry about the power usage.
SickBeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 07:11 AM   #7
severtki
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Northern NY State
Posts: 177
Default

Thanks for these answers -- I was just hopping onto this forum to ask this same question! Except I made one 50' ethernet pull through my walls from my router to my home office area and would like to locate a switch in the office for multiple devices to connect through the router.

Sounds like I can upgrade to gigabit for the switched part of the network at the same time -- bonus.
severtki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 12:35 PM   #8
Golgatha
Lifer
 
Golgatha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 11,472
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SickBeast View Post
Thanks very much. I noticed that Trendnet switch at NCIX for $25 as well but I was not sure about the brand.

It looks like my router only consumes 5 watts, so I think I am just going to get the switch and not worry about the power usage.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833156251

I have this Trendnet (linked above) switch and it seems to work very well. It's also all metal construction and runs very cool. I have it uplinked to my main Netgear 8port switch that runs the rest of the house, and this Netgear switch (see link below) is uplinked into my AT&T U-Verse provided router. I can pump 80-90 MB/s all day long through either switch and they still run cool to the touch. I am a big fan of all metal construction. Plastic is an insulator of heat for crying out loud!

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833122111
__________________
Heatware under Golgatha (300+ all positive)

ASRock Z77 Extreme4 Motherboard | Core i7 3770k@4.0Ghz | 16GB DDR3 RAM | Sandisk Extreme II 2x480GB SSD in RAID 0
240GB Crucial M500 using Intel RST to cache 2x 1TB WD RE4 drives in RAID 0 | eVGA GTX Titan SLI
Golgatha is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.