Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Console Gaming

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-06-2008, 08:28 PM   #1
soybeast
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 230
Default Connect Xbox 360 to computer through HDMI

Hey everyone, I just bought a 360 after the price drop and want to hook it up to my computer/monitor. I was wondering if anyone knows if it's possible to plug a hdmi cable into the 360 then into my radeon 4850 via the DVI->HDMI converter? Or would I have to plug it directly into my monitor, forgoing the audio through hdmi?

Thanks!
soybeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 08:41 PM   #2
soybeast
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 230
Default Connect Xbox 360 to computer through HDMI

I also tried using the component HD cable that came w/ the 360 and plugging it into the component HD-> s-video converter that came with my video card but that didn't work either.......
soybeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 08:44 PM   #3
Queasy
Moderator
Console Gaming
 
Queasy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 31,796
Default Connect Xbox 360 to computer through HDMI

You're better off hooking it straight into your monitor. There will be a slight video delay when running it through your computer which will cause problems.

Best bet is to hook it directly to your monitor and find an alternate way to hook it up to your speakers.
__________________
Forza4 Game Night - Weds 9PM EST | XBL - Queasy1 | PSN - Queasy1

Writing Gigs: Examiner Console Gaming | Video Game Writers
Queasy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 08:57 PM   #4
DaveSimmons
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 37,215
Default Connect Xbox 360 to computer through HDMI

Most video cards can't do video capture, just output.

If you bought a high-def capture card it might have HDMI or DVI passthrough but it might have lag, and like Queasy said, many standard-def capture cards do have lag (and they are low-resolution too, only 480p).
DaveSimmons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 09:23 PM   #5
Ruptga
Diamond Member
 
Ruptga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Missurruh
Posts: 6,335
Default Connect Xbox 360 to computer through HDMI

Quote:
Originally posted by: Queasy
You're better off hooking it straight into your monitor. There will be a slight video delay when running it through your computer which will cause problems.

Best bet is to hook it directly to your monitor and find an alternate way to hook it up to your speakers.
audio is easy, any Radioshack should have what you need to convert to a standard 1/8in audio jack
__________________
You don't have to be right to get the last word.
Ruptga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 09:29 PM   #6
soybeast
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 230
Default Connect Xbox 360 to computer through HDMI

awesome, thanks for the quick replies.......

Just curious, would the audio plugs still work while the hdmi is plugged in?
soybeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 09:39 PM   #7
Queasy
Moderator
Console Gaming
 
Queasy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 31,796
Default Connect Xbox 360 to computer through HDMI

Quote:
Originally posted by: soybeast
awesome, thanks for the quick replies.......

Just curious, would the audio plugs still work while the hdmi is plugged in?
Ehhh.....the problem is that MS put the HDMI port too close the A/V port. The connector box on the A/V cable with the optical out is too big to have it and the HDMI hooked up at the same time.

Your options are to either buy the over-priced HDMI AV cable kit or simply take the existing A/V cable housing apart
__________________
Forza4 Game Night - Weds 9PM EST | XBL - Queasy1 | PSN - Queasy1

Writing Gigs: Examiner Console Gaming | Video Game Writers
Queasy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 12:13 AM   #8
soybeast
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 230
Default Connect Xbox 360 to computer through HDMI

wow that's pretty stupid. ah well, I'll just do the 'hack' and I'll be good to go. thanks for the answers!
soybeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.