Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Video Cards and Graphics

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-28-2011, 01:36 PM   #1
kwq_e_500
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
Default Intel HD Graphics Core i3 OK for World of Warcraft?

Hello,
I just got a new PC which has integrated graphics with the mobo - Intel HD Graphics Core i3, with shared memory (128mb min) - my pc has 6GB RAM.
I'd like to start playing some games - namely World of Warcraft, and was wondering if my graphics would be adequate - I have a PNY GeForce 8600GT w/ 256MB DDR3 which I've not installed because I've had it for a while in my bits and pieces box, and when I did try to install it I ran the driver which I downloaded from the web, and when I plugged the monitor in, all it displayed were lines of alternating colors, so I'm really not sure what that means, so I just went back to the board graphics.
Do I have to get a new vid card to be able to play this on a 18" screen w/ 1366x768 resolution.
kwq_e_500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 02:02 PM   #2
viivo
Diamond Member
 
viivo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,225
Default

The original and the first expansion might work, but later expansions increased the graphic requirements quite a bit.

Look up video card baking. It might fix your other card.
__________________
Heatware
Gamertag: Black Hole Box
viivo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 02:11 PM   #3
bryanW1995
Lifer
 
bryanW1995's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 10,928
Default

It might work ok at that low of a res with minimal detail settings. You could also try the aforementioned baking procedure in an attempt to resurrect the 8600gt. Only if both of those proove unsatisfactory would I look at buying a new card.
__________________
4770k, Noctua nh-d14, 2x256gb m4, xfx 850w, 7970, HAF-x, Asus z87-pro, 2x8gb Hyper X
2500k @ 4.54, hyper 212+, ga-z68ma-d2h, wd20ears, 2x4gb ddr3 1600, gtx 480
MSI GT 70 2oc, i7 4700 mq, gtx 770m, 8gb ram, 240gb crucial m500, 750 gb hdd
bryanW1995 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 03:40 PM   #4
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 26,753
Default

get a 6850
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 03:48 PM   #5
RavenSEAL
Diamond Member
 
RavenSEAL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mejico
Posts: 8,671
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by viivo View Post
The original and the first expansion might work, but later expansions increased the graphic requirements quite a bit.

Look up video card baking. It might fix your other card.
a GT6600 won't be much faster.
__________________
AMD X6 1090T @ 3.8GHz Cooled by CM Hyper212+ P/P | Sapphire AMD HD6870 Vapor-X Crossfire @ 930/1150 | Gigabyte 990XA-UD3 | 8GBs Patriot G2 DDR3-1600Mhz | Corsair FORCE 3 90GB SSD | 1TB WD RAID0 | Antec HCG-750 | CM HAF 932

Lonely HeatWare

RavenSEAL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 03:57 PM   #6
yh125d
Diamond Member
 
yh125d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6,704
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RavenSEAL View Post
a GT6600 won't be much faster.
Huh?


And OP, basically no. You need something discrete. Probably 5670 on up
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by girlsname View Post
actually this election was between a buick and a lambo only once you got the lambo you realized it was really a fiero kitcar
yh125d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 05:11 PM   #7
Zap
Super Moderator
Off Topic
Elite Member
 
Zap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Somewhere Gillbot can't find me
Posts: 22,378
Default

kwq_e_500, welcome to AnandTech Forums

On the notebook I'm typing this message using, with everything turned down all the way I get around 6FPS in town (Stormwind). Of course this notebook uses a CULV SU7300 (1.3GHz) with GS45 IGP.

Since I'm visiting my parents, I should copy WoW over to my mom's computer to test it. It is a Pentium G9650 (basically Core i3 with less cache, no HT, 2.8GHz).

My prediction will be that it is playable at low settings. "Playable" to me would be minimum above 20FPS in populated areas. Of course those into big raids are probably SOL with this IGP.

Come to think of it, maybe I'm wasting my time? AnandTech's Sandy Bridge review had WoW benchmarks.

WoW 1024x768 "Fair" settings with weather turned down
Core i5 660 (733MHz graphics core) 24.3FPS

Now, the Core i3 5XX has the same graphics core at the same speed, so performance should be similar.

OTOH what if the OP has a "new" Core i3? Unlikely, but what if?

WoW 1024x768 "Fair" settings with weather turned down
Core i3 2100 (6 core HD 2000 graphics) 39.5FPS
Core i5 2500K (12 core HD 3000 graphics) 48.2FPS
Core i7 2600K (12 core HD 3000 graphics) 56.7FPS

Interesting. They all have the same graphics, except the Core i3 version is cut down. First thing is that any of these should be reasonably playable for those that aren't super hardcore WoW players. The other interesting thing is that the i7 was a decent amount better with the same graphics, showing how WoW scales with CPU.

This actually is pretty exciting for notebooks because all the notebook Sandy Bridge chips will have the 12 core HD 3000 graphics, raising the graphics capability floor of mainstream notebooks.
__________________
The best way to future-proof is to save money and spend it on future products. (Ken g6)

SSD turns duds into studs. (JBT)
Zap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 06:23 PM   #8
Idontcare
Administrator
Elite Member
 
Idontcare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: 台北市
Posts: 20,560
Smile New Member Welcome!

Welcome to the forums kwq_e_500!
Idontcare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 07:41 PM   #9
RavenSEAL
Diamond Member
 
RavenSEAL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mejico
Posts: 8,671
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yh125d View Post
Huh?


And OP, basically no. You need something discrete. Probably 5670 on up
I went from a 6600GT to a onboard nV9400. 9400 was better in every single aspect. I doubt the IGP for that CPU could be worse.
__________________
AMD X6 1090T @ 3.8GHz Cooled by CM Hyper212+ P/P | Sapphire AMD HD6870 Vapor-X Crossfire @ 930/1150 | Gigabyte 990XA-UD3 | 8GBs Patriot G2 DDR3-1600Mhz | Corsair FORCE 3 90GB SSD | 1TB WD RAID0 | Antec HCG-750 | CM HAF 932

Lonely HeatWare

RavenSEAL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 07:54 PM   #10
dudeofdur
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 110
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualLarry View Post
get a 6850
+1
__________________
i5 2500k| AsRock p67 Extreme 4 | 8 Gb G.Skill Ripjaw 1600 | HIS Radeon HD 6850 1gb |Ultra 750W | Xclio A380BK Full Tower | Corsair H50 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
dudeofdur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 08:50 PM   #11
yh125d
Diamond Member
 
yh125d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6,704
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RavenSEAL View Post
I went from a 6600GT to a onboard nV9400. 9400 was better in every single aspect. I doubt the IGP for that CPU could be worse.
yeah, but he was talking about getting the OPs 8600GT working again, not 6600GT
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by girlsname View Post
actually this election was between a buick and a lambo only once you got the lambo you realized it was really a fiero kitcar
yh125d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 09:30 PM   #12
Throckmorton
Lifer
 
Throckmorton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 16,837
Default

I don't know what GPU the i3 has but the 3000 is a little better than a 9600M, which can run WoW OK.
__________________
K&N air filter = 45x as much dirt in your engine (working link)
http://i52.tinypic.com/50lf0y.gif
"It has already been proven that the concept of a "living wage" is a liberal fantasy." - Patranus
Throckmorton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 09:32 PM   #13
Throckmorton
Lifer
 
Throckmorton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 16,837
Default

Says here it's slower than the 9400M... which is pretty bad http://www.techspot.com/news/35905-c...nchmarked.html
__________________
K&N air filter = 45x as much dirt in your engine (working link)
http://i52.tinypic.com/50lf0y.gif
"It has already been proven that the concept of a "living wage" is a liberal fantasy." - Patranus
Throckmorton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 09:43 PM   #14
faxon
Platinum Member
 
faxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,098
Default

yea i'd honestly look at getting a discrete card. even a cheap discrete card will do wonders for you at that res. 5670, as said, would do a great job. didnt they add some DX11 features with the last expansion as well? http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814125360
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsavo View Post
I ordered 3 screens from Dell and two of them came packed in dead oompa loompas. The third oompa loompa was alive.
2600k@4.6GHz, 3x Sapphire 7950s, MSI P67A-GD80, 4x4GB GSkill DDR1600, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050w, 2x 1Tb F1 RAID1. D5>Apogee XT>MCR320-QP>FrozenQ Res for the CPU.
faxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.