Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-16-2011, 08:42 AM   #1
perdomot
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,360
Default Free cloning software for SSD?

Just ordered a Crucial 64GB SSD and want to clone from my current OCZ Agility and keep the aligned partition. Is anyone offering free software that does this?
__________________
Intel i5-760 @ 4Ghz.
Asrock P67 Transformer
HD 6770
8GB DDR3 1333
128GB Samsung 830 SSD
1TB Caviar Black
X-FI Extremegamer audio card
Two Acer 22 inch monitors
White Fractal R3 case
Windows 7 64bit
perdomot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 12:23 PM   #2
Gillbot
Lifer
 
Gillbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Outside Bartman39's Tent
Posts: 28,437
Default

Many of the larger tier manufacturers offer cloning suites such as Seagate's DiscWizard but they will only work using their drives. Perhaps look through Crucial and OCZs pages to see if they have an offering? Otherwise maybe try one of the other utilities like Parted Magic?
__________________
My Heatware
Michelle
Gillbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 12:56 PM   #3
RhoXS
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 112
Default

Try EASEUS Disk Copy. Its a free download and is in the form of an iso. Burn the iso to a CD and boot from the CD. Makes perfect plug and play clones and is intuitive and easy to use.
RhoXS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 03:58 PM   #4
Binky
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 3,623
Default

You can always repair the alignment later if it gets screwed up.
Binky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 04:02 PM   #5
razel
Golden Member
 
razel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sunny Los Angeles
Posts: 1,128
Default

Looks like you have a WD and they offer Acronis for free. If you keep your WD HDD plugged in, especially in a SATA port. IIRC, last that I used it, you can use Acronis on your Crucial.
razel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 09:32 AM   #6
perdomot
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,360
Default

Thanks for the info. Downloaded Easeus and will try it.
__________________
Intel i5-760 @ 4Ghz.
Asrock P67 Transformer
HD 6770
8GB DDR3 1333
128GB Samsung 830 SSD
1TB Caviar Black
X-FI Extremegamer audio card
Two Acer 22 inch monitors
White Fractal R3 case
Windows 7 64bit
perdomot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 09:41 AM   #7
semo
Senior Member
 
semo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 292
Default

There's a bunch of tools on UBCD that can do this. You can also try clonezilla but not the easiest to use

Last edited by semo; 02-17-2011 at 09:45 AM.
semo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 10:44 AM   #8
Diogenes2
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 2,110
Default

Just use the Win7 image backup utility ..
__________________
3930K @ 4.4g - AsRock X79 Extreme9 - 212+ EVO - 16gb PC1333 GTX 560Ti 448
Diogenes2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 10:53 AM   #9
RhoXS
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 112
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by perdomot View Post
Thanks for the info. Downloaded Easeus and will try it.
I like EASEUS because it boots from a CD and requires nothing to be installed that will use up precious SSD space and load services that use up resources. It is simple, straight forward, and works like a charm. I tested it by cloning my 80 GB G2 SSD to a HDD. The HDD booted without issue when I plugged it in, albeit a lot more slowly. EASEUS reminds me of a refined Ghost 2003. I used Ghost 2003 for years and loved it because of its simplicity and reliability.

EASEUS is slow but that is a small price to pay for a free application that works so well.

One impoprtant bit of advice. Make sure the backup drive, the drive you are writing to, is a clearly different size than the drive you are backing up. This will make it much easier to clearly identify the souce drive and destination drive and reduce the chance of inadvertently selecting the wrong drive to back up and writing over your SSD, obviously a tragic error.
RhoXS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 11:05 AM   #10
RaiderJ
Diamond Member
 
RaiderJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: VA
Posts: 7,573
Default

I've personally always had great luck with Clonezilla. Not one non-user error the whole time I've used it.
__________________
Heatware..... raiderj (300+)
12TB ZFS Server Build Log: Link

Contact me with any console repair or modding questions!
RaiderJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 09:19 PM   #11
Emulex
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: ATL
Posts: 9,540
Default

acronis that comes with an intel drive works with any intel system.

intel anything iirc. intel cpu and no intel drive = cool
amd cpu and no intel drive = no dice

also acronis easy clone is 30 day trial - which is what you want. just uninstall the registry entry and the trial and keep re-using.
__________________
-------------------------
NAS: Dell 530 Q6600 8gb 4tb headless VHP
KID PC1: Mac Pro Dual nehalem - 6gb - GF120 - HP ZR30W
Browser: Dell 530 Q6600 4GB - Kingston 96gb -gt240- hp LP3065 IPS - 7ult
Tabs: IPAD 1,2,3 IPOD3,HTC flyer, Galaxy Tab - all rooted/jb
Couch1: Macbook Air/Macbook White
Couch2: Macbook Pro 17 2.66 Matte screen - 8GB - SSD
HTPC: Asus C2Q8300/X25-V - Geforce 430- 7ult - Antec MicroFusion 350
Emulex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 10:25 PM   #12
hans007
Lifer
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Culver City, CA
Posts: 19,953
Default

i tried EASEUS and it works, but eht problem is it does a sector by sector copy.

if your new SSD is a different size than the new one it will put the formatting data of your old SSD on the new one.

so for example i had a samsung 64gb ssd which is 59.6 gb free space.

i copied it to a sanforce 60GB which is like 55.9 gb free space.

so it had this weird situation where in windows it said the sandforce was 59.6gb so it had wrong formatting information.l


acronis readjusts that correctly , so i'd suggest trying a different app thatn EASEUS
__________________
heatwares
hans007 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 12:24 AM   #13
realneil
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Default

Will EASEUS work properly cloning my 256GB SSD over to a 480GB SSD?
realneil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 02:42 PM   #14
corkyg
Moderator
Peripherals
 
corkyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 23,845
Default

Don't know if EASEUS does proportional cloning - Acronis does. That's why I always use it from a bootable media, CD or Thumb Drive.
__________________
CorkyG - Tucson, AZ

In my view you cannot claim to have seen something until you have photographed it.... Emile Zola
corkyg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 10:05 PM   #15
npaladin-2000
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 249
Default

I prefer PartEd Magic myself. Easier to use than CloneZilla, basically you can copy-paste the partitions from the old drive to the new drive (connect one via USB) and resize them however you want. Just remember to set the boot partition as active.

Useful tool to have in general, good for rescuing files from systems that won't boot too. I always keep a copy handy.
__________________
READY
LOAD "*",8,1
npaladin-2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.