Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Social > Off Topic

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-01-2011, 10:49 PM   #1
SandEagle
Lifer
 
SandEagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Middle East Side
Posts: 16,684
Default Can I sell my tax software after already using it?

My neighbor wants to buy my copy of Turbotax since I am already done with it. It doesn't require you to register so I think it can be used again? any downside to reselling it?
__________________
Fear is what keeps you alive. Never not be afraid.
SandEagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 10:54 PM   #2
zinfamous
No Lifer
 
zinfamous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 62,669
Default

I think it's fine. the original purchase usually gives one "free" electronic submission or something like that.

the only difference for your neighbor is that offer would have expired and he would have to pay for it.

all identifying account info is stored with the IRS, or Turbotax uses that to track your info year by year for updating. ...something like that.
__________________
PAB: My dad blew a tranny. I've been asked to see if I can get one replaced free.
brianmanahan: zinfamous is such a fool
he's known as AT:OT's tool
mentally he's such a klutz
his head is made of 50 butts
zinfamous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 10:56 PM   #3
SandEagle
Lifer
 
SandEagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Middle East Side
Posts: 16,684
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zinfamous View Post
I think it's fine. the original purchase usually gives one "free" electronic submission or something like that.

the only difference for your neighbor is that offer would have expired and he would have to pay for it.

all identifying account info is stored with the IRS, or Turbotax uses that to track your info year by year for updating. ...something like that.
are you sure? i never registered the product or entered a license key. how does the IRS know unless the software automatically sends an ID number that is unique to each CD with each e-filing?
__________________
Fear is what keeps you alive. Never not be afraid.
SandEagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 10:57 PM   #4
rcpratt
Diamond Member
 
rcpratt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9,697
Default

It'll only let you file state taxes once if you have the cheapest version. Which means that he could use the free version online and get the same thing.
rcpratt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 11:03 PM   #5
SandEagle
Lifer
 
SandEagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Middle East Side
Posts: 16,684
Default

it's the premier version.
http://turbotax.intuit.com/personal-...pare.jsp#tt_cd

it says up to 5 e-files. i dont get how it knows.
__________________
Fear is what keeps you alive. Never not be afraid.
SandEagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 05:51 AM   #6
rcpratt
Diamond Member
 
rcpratt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9,697
Default

Pretty sure he could use it then.
rcpratt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 06:40 AM   #7
dabuddha
Lifer
 
dabuddha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: NoVA
Posts: 19,337
Default

It'll let him download another state form. Few years ago, I had to file 2 state returns so I just installed it on 2 of my PCs and it let me download my free state form twice.
__________________
Monkey see Monkey do

Heatware
dabuddha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 07:04 AM   #8
nanobreath
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 978
Default

My family purchases the H&R block version and shares it amongst ourselves. They are required by law to give 5 free e-files per "cd-key" they give out. The only thing your key should be used for is when you make the actual e-file. It isn't used for install, but as a voucher when you get to the end of the process and try to e-file. If you don't have the cd-key, or if it has been used 5 times already you will need to pay them like $25 for the e-file. You can print out your return and send it to the IRS by snail mail for no fees whatsoever.
nanobreath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 07:59 AM   #9
bruceb
Diamond Member
 
bruceb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wayne, New Jersey
Posts: 7,176
Default

Can't say for sure, but I think TurboTax looks at the computer it is installed on to determine if you are trying to get say, NY & NJ state downloads without the extra cost for the second state. I get a copy of TurboTax from friends each year and it installs and get my state download just fine. I also do not E-File .. I prefer to Print and Mail it.
bruceb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 08:07 AM   #10
rasczak
Lifer
 
rasczak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 10,407
Default

i imagine it knows via your ssn, which you have to use in order to complete the filing.
__________________
You cannot beat the cock no matter where you go. - Rubycon
rasczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 08:26 AM   #11
bruceb
Diamond Member
 
bruceb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wayne, New Jersey
Posts: 7,176
Default

I do not think it tracks it by SSN ... too much risk and everyone that files has their own SSN .. so it must keep track of number of E-Files either thru a computer fingerprint or some other method, such as E-files per embedded license code.
bruceb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 08:27 AM   #12
dabuddha
Lifer
 
dabuddha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: NoVA
Posts: 19,337
Default

On a sidenote, I remember turbotax wanted to charge me $25 or some amount of money to efile my state income tax. I ended up going to Virginia's tax website and did an online efile and just plugged the numbers in from the turbotax generated forms. Ended up being free that way.
__________________
Monkey see Monkey do

Heatware
dabuddha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 09:51 AM   #13
SandEagle
Lifer
 
SandEagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Middle East Side
Posts: 16,684
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dabuddha View Post
On a sidenote, I remember turbotax wanted to charge me $25 or some amount of money to efile my state income tax. I ended up going to Virginia's tax website and did an online efile and just plugged the numbers in from the turbotax generated forms. Ended up being free that way.
fvck. turbotax charged me $19.95 to efile. my cc is maxed so they charged me another $29.99 to deduct the fee from my refund. $50 to efile total. im a sucka i know
__________________
Fear is what keeps you alive. Never not be afraid.
SandEagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 11:20 AM   #14
rudeguy
Lifer
 
rudeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: GR, MI
Posts: 42,696
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SandEagle View Post
fvck. turbotax charged me $19.95 to efile. my cc is maxed so they charged me another $29.99 to deduct the fee from my refund. $50 to efile total. im a sucka i know
I heard TurboTax is ran by Jewish people....
__________________
RIP my fallen comrades
HappyPuppy, FFMCobalt, PliableMoose, Dividedbyzero, Kirby, Nick1985, MotF Bane, Whoozyerdaddy, Bamacre, Red Dawn, ShinerBurke, Wanescotting, Loke
rudeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 11:30 AM   #15
Imp
Lifer
 
Imp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 11,400
Default

They charge by the file, right?

I did my taxes for the first time digitally last year, and when I saw the $10+ price tag, I just said 'fuck it'. Then I found a free piece of software released by some accounting dude in Ottawa. Worked good, got it done, will use again this year, and will try to donate some money to the guy.
Imp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 11:32 AM   #16
AMDZen
Lifer
 
AMDZen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 12,634
Default

Why wouldn't you just give it to him if you're done with it?

If he has to pay the 20$ fee, who cares its cheaper then the software would be for him.
__________________
Atheism Is a Religion Like Abstinence Is a Sex Position
Yum

Gaming Computer - i5 - 2500k @ 4.6 Ghz | Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD3P | G.Skill 8GB DDR3 1600 | MSI GTX 480 | Win7 x64
AMDZen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 11:58 AM   #17
SandEagle
Lifer
 
SandEagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Middle East Side
Posts: 16,684
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rudeguy View Post
I heard TurboTax is ran by Jewish people....
i eat bagels at starbucks. wtf is your point?
__________________
Fear is what keeps you alive. Never not be afraid.
SandEagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 12:10 PM   #18
lothar
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 6,494
Default

Read what it says in the EULA.
lothar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 12:22 PM   #19
rudeguy
Lifer
 
rudeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: GR, MI
Posts: 42,696
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SandEagle View Post
i eat bagels at starbucks. wtf is your point?
just poking fun at ya


I didn't know people still bought tax software. With all the free sites out there that do a good job, why spend the money?

I've used Taxact for the past 3 or 4 years and I never pay more than $20 total for state and federal.
__________________
RIP my fallen comrades
HappyPuppy, FFMCobalt, PliableMoose, Dividedbyzero, Kirby, Nick1985, MotF Bane, Whoozyerdaddy, Bamacre, Red Dawn, ShinerBurke, Wanescotting, Loke
rudeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 12:27 PM   #20
EagleKeeper
Discussion Club Moderator
Elite Member
 
EagleKeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Bumps west of Denver
Posts: 42,600
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rudeguy View Post
just poking fun at ya


I didn't know people still bought tax software. With all the free sites out there that do a good job, why spend the money?

I've used Taxact for the past 3 or 4 years and I never pay more than $20 total for state and federal.
Majority of the sites do not allow you to make a binary copy - only PDF.

So switching between sites can be a pain if you have alot of detailed info previosuly entered that gets saved off.

Also, then playing what/if games using online S/W is a pain and very impractical.

I can make a master copy of a return and then easily subtract items to see what ould happen.
then I do not have to go through the effort of re-entering. Just pull back my master copy.
__________________
F15 Air Superiority Fighter - Never has one been lost in aerial combat (104 kills)
EagleKeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 12:28 PM   #21
EagleKeeper
Discussion Club Moderator
Elite Member
 
EagleKeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Bumps west of Denver
Posts: 42,600
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rudeguy View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by SandEagle View Post
fvck. turbotax charged me $19.95 to efile. my cc is maxed so they charged me another $29.99 to deduct the fee from my refund. $50 to efile total. im a sucka i know
I heard TurboTax is ran by Jewish people.....
Where is Intuit based?
__________________
F15 Air Superiority Fighter - Never has one been lost in aerial combat (104 kills)
EagleKeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 12:28 PM   #22
rudeguy
Lifer
 
rudeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: GR, MI
Posts: 42,696
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EagleKeeper View Post
Majority of the sites do not allow you to make a binary copy - only PDF.

So switching between sites can be a pain if you have alot of detailed info previosuly entered that gets saved off.

Also, then playing what/if games using online S/W is a pain and very impractical.

I can make a master copy of a return and then easily subtract items to see what ould happen.
then I do not have to go through the effort of re-entering. Just pull back my master copy.
I see what you're saying. So the software lets you do that kind of thing?

I don't itemize, so my returns are pretty simple.
__________________
RIP my fallen comrades
HappyPuppy, FFMCobalt, PliableMoose, Dividedbyzero, Kirby, Nick1985, MotF Bane, Whoozyerdaddy, Bamacre, Red Dawn, ShinerBurke, Wanescotting, Loke
rudeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 12:29 PM   #23
rudeguy
Lifer
 
rudeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: GR, MI
Posts: 42,696
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EagleKeeper View Post
Where is Intuit based?
Iraq?
__________________
RIP my fallen comrades
HappyPuppy, FFMCobalt, PliableMoose, Dividedbyzero, Kirby, Nick1985, MotF Bane, Whoozyerdaddy, Bamacre, Red Dawn, ShinerBurke, Wanescotting, Loke
rudeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 12:40 PM   #24
SandEagle
Lifer
 
SandEagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Middle East Side
Posts: 16,684
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rudeguy View Post
just poking fun at ya


I didn't know people still bought tax software. With all the free sites out there that do a good job, why spend the money?

I've used Taxact for the past 3 or 4 years and I never pay more than $20 total for state and federal.
i know dude, just fvckng with ya. does taxact allow direct deposit? i just like the turbotax interface. so easy, even capt caveman can do it.
__________________
Fear is what keeps you alive. Never not be afraid.
SandEagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 12:46 PM   #25
dabuddha
Lifer
 
dabuddha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: NoVA
Posts: 19,337
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rudeguy View Post
just poking fun at ya


I didn't know people still bought tax software. With all the free sites out there that do a good job, why spend the money?

I've used Taxact for the past 3 or 4 years and I never pay more than $20 total for state and federal.
Dude they have GPS in their program! GPS!
__________________
Monkey see Monkey do

Heatware
dabuddha is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.