Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-31-2011, 07:37 PM   #1
pakotlar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 432
Default C300 Stuttering

Hey everyone,

Have a 64GB C300, stutters when playing media files. Latest AHCI drivers, running off T61 (ICH8M), with updated SATA II bios. Tried turning off AHCI power management, but none of the common wisdom for SSD performance during "idling" situations seems to apply. Sometimes the stutters are very long lived. Up to 30 seconds. Any ideas?
__________________
Heat: pakotlar (30-0-0) http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=20631
pakotlar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 08:45 PM   #2
pakotlar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 432
Default

Just to clarify this is clearly an SSD I/O issue. While HDD is relatively idle (like during movie playback) hard drive led will randomly go solid for up to a minute. Happened today while watching netflix. It's absolutely unfortunate, because the SSD is pretty nice. The problems did not manifest with a Sandforce based SSD, although I did not do extensive testing on my Sandforce drive since it perma-BSOD'd on me about a week after install (boot drive). The problem is supposed to be down to AHCI power management, but I've tried disabling it using regedit and so far the problem has not disappeared.

No one has had this issue? 002 firmware btw. 006 introduces random i/o stutters for people.
__________________
Heat: pakotlar (30-0-0) http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=20631
pakotlar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 11:31 PM   #3
adamantinepiggy
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 174
Default

Try this: Go to Device Manager, double-click on the C300. In the new device properties window that pops up, click on the Policies tab and ENABLE "enable write caching on this device" AND ENABLE "turn off windows write-cache flushing ..." Now reboot.

Has seemed to work to fix stuttering issues with 06 firmware and certain Intel AHCI drivers.
adamantinepiggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 10:16 AM   #4
pakotlar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 432
Default

I will give it a shot again, although I did have that setting enabled before, with no difference, though that may have been before I messed with the AHCI power settings.
__________________
Heat: pakotlar (30-0-0) http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=20631
pakotlar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 10:28 AM   #5
Rubycon
Madame President
 
Rubycon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: For A Moment It Seemed Like The Clouds Stopped Moving
Posts: 16,801
Default

Have you checked for excessive DP latency?

Head over here and download this handy utility and run it to see if you have a problem.


http://www.thesycon.de/eng/latency_check.shtml
Rubycon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 04:35 PM   #6
Arcadio
Diamond Member
 
Arcadio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 5,101
Default

Damn.. now I got this problem with my brand new C300.. I guess it's my punishment for not waiting for the C400 to come out.

...starts looking for solutions and trying them out....
__________________
e^(i * pi) + 1 = 0
Arcadio is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 06:25 AM   #7
Old Hippie
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6,361
Default

Have you changed the power management settings on your computer to always on?

Some laptops come with proprietary programs and some use the OS's program but they must be set to always on.
__________________
Rick
You Get What You Pay For!
Old Hippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 06:45 AM   #8
Burner27
Moderator
Memory and Storage
Video Cards and Graphics
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,546
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pakotlar View Post
No one has had this issue? 002 firmware btw. 006 introduces random i/o stutters for people.
My 2 x 128GB C300s in my desktop have the 0006 FW on them and I have NEVER experienced any stuttering. I would try any of the suggestions here but moving to 0006 FW may also fix your issues.
Burner27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 07:42 AM   #9
Arcadio
Diamond Member
 
Arcadio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 5,101
Default

My C300 is brand new, with the 0006 FW and all. It still stutters once in a while. Event Viewer shows "The device, \Device\Ide\iaStor0, did not respond within the timeout period."
__________________
e^(i * pi) + 1 = 0
Arcadio is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 09:12 AM   #10
Old Hippie
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6,361
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arcadio View Post
My C300 is brand new, with the 0006 FW and all. It still stutters once in a while. Event Viewer shows "The device, \Device\Ide\iaStor0, did not respond within the timeout period."
What's your computer set-up?
__________________
Rick
You Get What You Pay For!
Old Hippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 09:18 AM   #11
Burner27
Moderator
Memory and Storage
Video Cards and Graphics
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,546
Default

http://forum.crucial.com/t5/Solid-St...-me/td-p/38766
Burner27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 09:22 AM   #12
Arcadio
Diamond Member
 
Arcadio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 5,101
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Hippie View Post
What's your computer set-up?
Asus P8P67 Deluxe Motherboard
Intel Core i7 2600k Processor, not overclocked
8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series DDR3 1600
Crucial C300 128GB with 0006 FW
WD Caviar Black 2TB
Gigabyte 5770 Graphics Card
ASUS DVD-RW Drive
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Antec P183 V3 Case

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burner27 View Post
I tried that. It didn't work.
__________________
e^(i * pi) + 1 = 0

Last edited by Arcadio; 03-30-2011 at 09:27 AM.
Arcadio is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 09:31 AM   #13
Burner27
Moderator
Memory and Storage
Video Cards and Graphics
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,546
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arcadio View Post
Asus P8P67 Deluxe Motherboard
Intel Core i7 2600k Processor, not overclocked
8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series DDR3 1600
Crucial C300 128GB with 0006 FW
WD Caviar Black 2TB
Gigabyte 5770 Graphics Card
ASUS DVD-RW Drive
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Antec P183 V3 Case



I tried that. It didn't work.

Try disabling C6 reporting in the BIOS and report back.

Last edited by Burner27; 03-30-2011 at 09:37 AM.
Burner27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 09:56 AM   #14
Arcadio
Diamond Member
 
Arcadio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 5,101
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burner27 View Post
Try disabling C6 reporting in the BIOS and report back.
That didn't fix the problem... within 2 minutes of booting up after disabling C6, the computer froze for a few seconds. I checked the Event Viewer, and there it was:

10 instances of the error:

"The device, \Device\Ide\iaStor0, did not respond within the timeout period."
__________________
e^(i * pi) + 1 = 0
Arcadio is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 10:21 AM   #15
adamantinepiggy
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 174
Default

Try the built-in MSACHI driver rather than the Intel AHCI driver.. It's the most compatible driver and the performance difference is small.
adamantinepiggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 10:27 AM   #16
Burner27
Moderator
Memory and Storage
Video Cards and Graphics
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,546
Default

Damn,

I meant disable C3 reporting. Sorry, my bad.
Burner27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 10:49 AM   #17
finbarqs
Diamond Member
 
finbarqs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: West Covina, CA
Posts: 3,533
Default

it's times like this that makes me worried about going to anything but intel!
finbarqs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 02:58 PM   #18
Martimus
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,244
Default

I just purchased a C300 and a P67 MB, so I will probably have this same issue :/

I hate worrying about crap like this, I just want all my stuff to work, especially after spending so much for all of it.
__________________
System: Intel i7-2600K, Corsair H60 CPU Heatsink, ASROCK P67 Extreme4, HIS HD6970, HAF-X Case, Seasonic X760 PSU, Crucial C300 128GB SSD, Western Digital Black 2TB HD, 12X LG BluRay burner, HP ZR24w 24" Monitor, 16GB (4x4GB) G.Skill 1600 DDR3 RAM (1.5V, CAS 9), Windows 7 Home Premium (64bit)
Martimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 06:04 AM   #19
Old Hippie
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6,361
Default

Fresh OS install?

Enable write caching and turn off write cache buffer in the device manager?

SATA3 or SATA6 Intel ports?
__________________
Rick
You Get What You Pay For!
Old Hippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 06:07 AM   #20
Burner27
Moderator
Memory and Storage
Video Cards and Graphics
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,546
Default

Try disabling C3 reporting.
Burner27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 06:26 AM   #21
Old Hippie
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6,361
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burner27 View Post
Try disabling C3 reporting.
How do you do that?
__________________
Rick
You Get What You Pay For!
Old Hippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 07:19 AM   #22
Burner27
Moderator
Memory and Storage
Video Cards and Graphics
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,546
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Hippie View Post
How do you do that?

It's in the BIOS. I don't remember under which heading to look under.
Burner27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 08:05 AM   #23
zod96
Platinum Member
 
zod96's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ca
Posts: 2,529
Default

I think its luck of the draw. I have the C300 and a P67 motherboard. Mine stuttered and I too get that error in event viewer. I did the fix posted at crucial forums and its been all good since. For some the fix works and for others it doesn't yet we have almost the same hardware go figure...
__________________
Evga Z75 SLI
I7 3770K
16GB Dominator
Evga Gtx 780
Asus PB278Q
Samsung 840 Pro
zod96 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 08:24 AM   #24
taltamir
Lifer
 
taltamir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 13,509
Default

the c400 uses the same exact controller, only with 25nm NAND instead of 34nm NAND, and slightly tweaked firmware. It probably would have fared the same in whatever situation you are in, and would be more likely to have issues due to being new and less widely tested.

do you have TRIM?
The C300 and C400 on a non TRIM capable machine drop to unacceptably bad performance when hammered with random writes. Anandtech m4 review mentioned that and said they will stutter without TRIM.
http://www.anandtech.com/show/4253/t...0-ssd-review/2

Also, did you update firmware?
__________________
How to protect your data guide
AA Naming Guide

I do not have a superman complex; for I am God, not superman!
The internet is a source of infinite information; the vast majority of which happens to be wrong.

Last edited by taltamir; 03-31-2011 at 08:28 AM.
taltamir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 08:25 AM   #25
Old Hippie
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6,361
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zod96 View Post
I think its luck of the draw. I have the C300 and a P67 motherboard. Mine stuttered and I too get that error in event viewer. I did the fix posted at crucial forums and its been all good since. For some the fix works and for others it doesn't yet we have almost the same hardware go figure...
There has to be something in common with the hardware or settings and the drives that aren't functioning correctly.

I've had no problems with my 256GB C300 on an Intel ICH10 or LSI 9240 set-ups.

There has to be something in common.
__________________
Rick
You Get What You Pay For!
Old Hippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.