Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-04-2008, 12:33 PM   #1
imported_Jubei
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 56
Default Need help with S.M.A.R.T. Capable but Command Failed error

I installed a new 250G hard disk into my PC and all seemed fine after formatting. The next day when I started up the PC, on POST I got the following error :

"Ultra D.M.A. Mode 5 S.M.A.R.T. Capable but Command Failed. Press F1 to resume."

After pressing F1, the screen goes blank, a cursor blinks for a few seconds then goes away. I get a blank screen for over 5 minutes, I get fed up and reboot. On reboot, PC enters windows without any problems. I can transfer files to the new drive and delete then without any problems as far as I can see.

The error on boot problem is persistent on the 1st boot but disappears on reboot. What's the deal?
imported_Jubei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 09:51 PM   #2
imported_Jubei
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 56
Default Need help with S.M.A.R.T. Capable but Command Failed error

OK. solved - my dumb - bad SATA cable . . .
imported_Jubei is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.