Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Social > The Garage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-26-2011, 01:11 PM   #1
oslama
Platinum Member
 
oslama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: sangrila
Posts: 2,896
Default Chevy Prizm: Heater/Fan issue

The fan does not work at low(1), med(2), med high(3) settings. It will work at the highest(4) but takes a while for the heater to warm up. The other thing i noticed is the headlights slightly dim when fan turned to highest setting.

The fan did make a high pitch noise for the last 2-3 yrs and the battery is about 5 yrs old.

could it be the fan switch or motor? also, do i need a new battery?

TIA

Specs:

Chevy Prizm 1999, Automatic with 95,500 miles (half of the miles put on in last 4 yrs)
__________________
AMD Sempron 140 unlocked to AMD Athlon II X2 4400e| Asus M4A88T-M| G.Skill 4GB DDR3| Seagate 120 GB| AMD Radeon R7-240

Sony Tap 11 tablet for work
oslama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 01:47 PM   #2
5150MyU
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 327
Default

Blower motor is most likely a bad resistor.When set on high speed the resistor is not used, at all other speeds it is.
Pretty sure it is located behind the glove box. 5 screws-2 on bottom and 3 on top.
Then 2 more screws hold in the resistor
You may have to remove the "A" pillar trim to get to the right hand screws of glove box.
The resistor should be a little left of the blower motor.
5150MyU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 03:51 PM   #3
herm0016
Diamond Member
 
herm0016's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 5,149
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5150MyU View Post
Blower motor is most likely a bad resistor.When set on high speed the resistor is not used, at all other speeds it is.
Pretty sure it is located behind the glove box. 5 screws-2 on bottom and 3 on top.
Then 2 more screws hold in the resistor
You may have to remove the "A" pillar trim to get to the right hand screws of glove box.
The resistor should be a little left of the blower motor.
great answer.
__________________
heat
Oil and gas logging Engineer
KD8DYO
herm0016 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 03:56 PM   #4
pcgeek11
Diamond Member
 
pcgeek11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5,718
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5150MyU View Post
Blower motor is most likely a bad resistor.When set on high speed the resistor is not used, at all other speeds it is.
Pretty sure it is located behind the glove box. 5 screws-2 on bottom and 3 on top.
Then 2 more screws hold in the resistor
You may have to remove the "A" pillar trim to get to the right hand screws of glove box.
The resistor should be a little left of the blower motor.
This. I have seen this on Pontiacs as well. Although on the pontiac the resistors wer mounted on the firewall.
__________________
pcgeek11

How to annoy a liberal: Work Hard and be Happy. In the words of John Smith who saved the Jamestown settlement: Those that don't work; will not eat. We need to learn from history.
pcgeek11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 06:36 PM   #5
woodie1
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 28 27' 20"N 98 16' 20"W
Posts: 5,947
Default

Had a Toyota with this problem. The resistors were mounted on the board along with the blower speed switch. Whole assembly needed to be replaced. Easy to do.
woodie1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 11:13 PM   #6
oslama
Platinum Member
 
oslama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: sangrila
Posts: 2,896
Default

Is the assembly board widely available at auto store or has to be ordered from dealer?
__________________
AMD Sempron 140 unlocked to AMD Athlon II X2 4400e| Asus M4A88T-M| G.Skill 4GB DDR3| Seagate 120 GB| AMD Radeon R7-240

Sony Tap 11 tablet for work
oslama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 11:32 PM   #7
Zenmervolt
Supermoderator
The Garage
Elite member
 
Zenmervolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 24,388
Default

Generally those will be a model-specific part. While some parts stores may be able to order them, or you may be able to get them from someplace like Rock Auto online, I doubt anywhere would have them in stock locally.

ZV
__________________
Futures and Options

TANSTAAFL
Zenmervolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 03:21 AM   #8
5150MyU
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 327
Default

Blower resister should be available at NAPA,etc.
As for location my op, should be correct.
I can give you an OEM number for the part although I don't know if it will be correct.
5150MyU is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.