Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Computer Help

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-26-2011, 08:14 AM   #1
darkcyber20
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
Default Can you step through the boot sequence in XP?

Can you boot up Windows XP and step through each driver that is loaded. Can't remember, but kind of like you use could with Windows 98, where you had to press a key each time to load the next driver. One of my XP machines is hanging up on the blue Windows XP splash screen and I am trying to determine what it is trying to load that is hanging it up. It boots fine into safe mode.

Last edited by darkcyber20; 01-26-2011 at 08:20 AM.
darkcyber20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 09:13 AM   #2
TeeJay1952
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 632
Default

F8 at boot before Windows logo.
Choose Step by Step
TeeJay1952 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 11:27 AM   #3
Lanyap
Elite Member
 
Lanyap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Alabama
Posts: 4,814
Default

Use option "Debug Mode" from the F8 safe mode menu.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/315222
Lanyap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 06:24 AM   #4
denis280
Platinum Member
 
denis280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Shawinigan Qubec Canada
Posts: 2,611
Default

Is that a new p.c. or an older one
denis280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 05:04 PM   #5
fire400
Diamond Member
 
fire400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 4,918
Default

might have to rebuild the startup process.

sometimes if you install tweaks, it puts files into the windows folder and messes up normal startup functions, for example.

so if you can get into safe mode, something is trying to load and preventing a successful start up.

unless you're familiar with XP start up files, might be better to restore to an earlier state or restore the system, if all else fails.

the problem with trying to find out what file it is or files, is that sometimes if it's really bad, you won't find any file(s) because another program might of modified the start up files and a single/multiple binary(ies),etc. is screwed.
__________________
♥사 랑 해 // 蔡依林
~tRaNcE ♥'(^-9);♥ sPeCiAlIsT~
http://www.mindtools.com/
.,.`~錄Glorious DayS體~,`
Don't you have any worries? Aren't you sad? Are you all alone?
Hold the light and the darkness closely with both hands; a life of coexistence, a life of competition...

○*○.`.`*[連By-NoRiA語]*..○*○
fire400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.