Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Video Cards and Graphics

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-21-2011, 05:21 PM   #1
Castiel
Golden Member
 
Castiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: East Coast
Posts: 1,772
Default Amd HD 6990 Photo's

From what i can tell it looks like two 8 pin's


Quote:
AMD APU processor platform today, published in the conference, AMD "accidentally" the latest, most (known) single-card dual-core graphics card-HD6990 out, "Dian" with me (show off) and, according to sources, this card Wang HD6990 is expected to be officially listed in the first quarter, but the cards have been exposed to under the current entity, I believe you should see it soon on the scene. (卡超長的XD) (Card extra long XD)

We are sure AMD dual-core in a single card design capabilities on the graphics card from AMD before 5970 will prove the technical R & D capability, but having said that, although the Fermi NVIDIA rivals the early architecture by AMD pressing play, but improved after GTX 580,570 are still full of good market response, and now is active in the recently introduced C / P value of super-high 560 to grab the mainstream market, then if AMD do not make a timely response, and then in the mainstream graphics card market There will be a hard fight.


__________________
Core I7 2600K - 4.6Ghz 1.320v
Asus ROG Maximus IV Extreme
Corsair 4GB Dominators - 8-8-8-24 1.5v DDR3 1866
Asus GTX 580 DirectCU II 1000c/1200m
Corsair AX1200
Castiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 05:22 PM   #2
Grooveriding
Diamond Member
 
Grooveriding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto, CA
Posts: 6,138
Default

Look at the size of that thing, it's massive.
__________________
5960X @ 4.5 | X99 Deluxe | 16GB 2600 GSkill DDR4 | 780ti SLI | Evo 500GB Raid 0 | Dell U3011 | EVGA 1300W G2
under custom water
Grooveriding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 05:23 PM   #3
Aristotelian
Senior Member
 
Aristotelian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 846
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grooveriding View Post
Look at the size of that thing, it's massive.
That's what she said.
__________________
"In the way proper to fellow-citizens, indeed, it is possible to be the friend of many and yet not be obsequious but a genuinely good man; but one cannot have with many people the friendship based on virtue and on the character of our friends themselves, and we must be content if we find even a few such." (EN. IX.10)
Aristotelian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 05:54 PM   #4
thilanliyan
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,142
Default

at least its not wooden eh?
__________________
Intel 4670k
Asus Z87-Expert
8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3-1600
3x7950 3gb (mining)
Corsair HX1050 Gold
thilanliyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 06:12 PM   #5
OVerLoRDI
Diamond Member
 
OVerLoRDI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 5,247
Default

that is some serious epenis.

Still curious about the power consumption. If it is Cayman based I wonder how much they had to clock down to get it to fit in 300 watts. Either that or it will come horrible crippled by powertune, and you can crank it up and it will pull >300 watts and run well.
__________________
TROOPER: Caselabs M8, i5 3570k, 16gb DDR3, 2x7970, X-1050
TARDIS: 750D, i5 2550k, 8gb DDR3, 7970, AX850, 8TB storage
CUBE: INWIN BQS656, Celeron something?, 4gb RAM, 32gb SSD
http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=73710
OVerLoRDI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 06:14 PM   #6
happy medium
Lifer
 
happy medium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Philadelphia , P.A.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thilanliyan View Post
at least its not wooden eh?
You beat me to it.

Any word on a release date, I'm hearing after the chinese new year.
__________________
Antec 1200 case (7fans) with a Asus P5Q board, q9550 @ 4ghz @ 1.39 with Tuniq cooler (prime stable @68c), 4 gigs ddr2 1000,2 1tb hard drives, 2 6870 2gb cards @ 980 core, 370$AR shipped, Corsair tx 750, @ 1080p. Shes finally maxed out!
happy medium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 06:15 PM   #7
sandorski
No Lifer
 
sandorski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: coquitlam, bc
Posts: 57,346
Default

That was a difficult read.
__________________

FX 8320@4ghz||Zalman LQ310||AsusM5A99X EVO R2
||XFX 5870 1gb||16gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3||Seasonic M12 II 500watts||Zalman Z9 Plus||Asus MS238H

Science inspires us towards a better tomorrow, Fundamentalism wants us to die.
sandorski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 06:31 PM   #8
zebrax2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 816
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grooveriding View Post
Look at the size of that thing, it's massive.
And here i thought that was a brick for houses
zebrax2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 06:35 PM   #9
Gloomy
Golden Member
 
Gloomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,246
Default

It looks heavy. I still love the square AMD reference shroud. Hate non-reference designs... they look less solid. It's not rear-exhaust is it?
Gloomy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 06:37 PM   #10
badb0y
Diamond Member
 
badb0y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,788
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gloomy View Post
It looks heavy. I still love the square AMD reference shroud. Hate non-reference designs... they look less solid. It's not rear-exhaust is it?
It feels like a tank too, I feel like I can throw it at the wall and the wall may break but the card will still be solid.
__________________
i7 2600k @ 4.4 ghz with NH-D14 - GTX 780 SLI (Stock) - 12GB DDR3 1600 G.Skill Ripjaws RAM - SilverStone SG10 - NZXT Hale90 750W PSU -ASUS Maximus V Gene - Crucial MX100 512GB
Heatware: badboydiablo 23-0-0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil deGrasse Tyson
God is an ever-receding pocket of scientific ignorance.
badb0y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 07:23 PM   #11
Barfo
Lifer
 
Barfo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: in your mom
Posts: 27,168
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thilanliyan View Post
at least its not wooden eh?
A video card with a wooden cooling shroud would be epic awesomeness.
__________________
3570K | ASUS P8Z77-V |16 GB | Sapphire 7950 w/ boost | HAF 922| Seasonic 550W |Win7 x64

http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/10/21/7yjuny7a.jpg
Barfo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 07:30 PM   #12
Stoneburner
Diamond Member
 
Stoneburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 3,486
Default

amd makes external hard drives now?
__________________
My paranoia will get me killed one day.
Stoneburner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 08:01 PM   #13
thilanliyan
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,142
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barfo View Post
A video card with a wooden cooling shroud would be epic awesomeness.
ask jen-hsun...im sure he has a couple laying around.
__________________
Intel 4670k
Asus Z87-Expert
8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3-1600
3x7950 3gb (mining)
Corsair HX1050 Gold
thilanliyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 08:25 PM   #14
notty22
Diamond Member
 
notty22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beantown
Posts: 3,305
Default

Staying on the carpentry jokes (wood screws)
lets hope AMD measures twice before they 'cut' this time
http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2128012
__________________
I5 750@3940mhz , Gigabyte p55 ud4p
1600mhz ddr3 4GB
GTX 660 2gb SC
Let's make sure history never forgets... the name... 'Enterprise'. Picard out.
notty22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 10:30 PM   #15
Powermoloch
Lifer
 
Powermoloch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Close to the Pacific
Posts: 10,057
Default

looks like a magazine used for a berret
__________________
Gaming rig: Corsair 650-TX/ CM 690 Adv II / CM V-8 Cooler / 955 BE Phenom II / 16gb G.Skill Ares / Sapphire HD 7950 CF / Gigabyte MA785GT-UD3H/ Hitachi 500 Gb - Samsung F3 1 TB/ 39" Insignia LED TV
Browsing rig: Gateway DX-4200 09/ 2x2 Gb Ram DDR2 / Phenom 9150e / PNY GTS 250 XLR8 / BFG 550W Mod PSU
HTPC /Photochop rig: Phenom II 640 / 2x2 Gb Ram / MSI TFIII HD 7850/ 20" Acer LED
Powermoloch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 10:54 PM   #16
Spike
Diamond Member
 
Spike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Washington
Posts: 6,672
Default

Thats no moon... it's a space station!!!

I'm must admit that I'm almost tempted by this. However, I would also not mind dualing up my 6970 as well...

Dang it, I swore off dual cards years ago. Why oh why AMD do you tempt me?!!?!?
__________________
Main - i5 2500k @ 4.4 | Asrock P67 Extreme 4 | 16GB DDR3-1600 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB | Antec 902 v3
HTPC - e8400 | ECS GF7050VT-M | 4GB DDR2-800 | 5870
| NZXT H2
LAN - i3 2120| Asrock Z68 Pro3-M | 8GB DDR3-1600 | XFX 6970 2GB
| Antec 300
WHS 11 Server - e5200 | Asus P5KPL-CM | 4GB DDR-800 | P180
Mobile - Lenovo Y580 | i7-3610 | 8GB DDR3-1600 | 660M 2GB
Spike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 11:50 PM   #17
Destiny
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,264
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grooveriding View Post
Look at the size of that thing, it's massive.
If a robber runs into my house and tries to burglarize me, I will rip that card from my PC and use it as a weapon to scare him away! Looks like it can do some real damage to someone!
__________________
I joined AnAndTech to become informed so I won't get suckered by Tech Companies...

Destiny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 06:27 AM   #18
nitromullet
Diamond Member
 
nitromullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,645
Default

where's the fan...?
__________________
PC - Gigabyte Z87X-UD3H | Intel Core i5-4670K @ 4.0GHz | Phanteks PH-TC14PE | 16GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Radeon HD 2400 | Kingston V300 120GB SSD | HGST 2.5" 750GB & 500GB RAID 1 | Corsair AX850 | Lian Li PC-7A | Win 8.1 Pro
MacBook Pro 15" - Corsair Neutron 256GB SSD | 16GB G.Skill DDR3 1600 | MOTU Track 16 | JBL LSR305
Shared I/O - Deck Legend Blue | Logitech G500s | NEC PA271W
Console - Xbox 360 Elite
nitromullet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 07:20 AM   #19
flexcore
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 193
Default

The fan is under his fingers in the middle of the card. Similar to the 5970 Black Ed.

__________________
AMD Phenom II X6 1055T @ 3.5
GIGABYTE GA-890GPA-UD3H
2 X 4GB Gskill DDR3 1600
Samsung 830 256GB + F3 1TB
Sapphire HD 6870
Lancool PC-K58 + Seasonic X650
flexcore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 08:22 AM   #20
soccerballtux
Lifer
 
soccerballtux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10,078
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grooveriding View Post
Look at the size of that thing, it's massive.
when are they going to come up with a solution to keep it from bending the PCI-e 16x slot down and the card's PCB warping?

Currently I've rigged my 8pin power conns to pull the card up via tension.
__________________
HOW TO nested quote
Install this into Firefox then click this, then click "quote" as usual, then click "Nested Quote" to the right of the title bar.
4.0Ghz&2.6Ghz-CPU-NB Ph2-965BE || GA790X-UD4P 8GB DDR800 || Gigabyte GTX670 || Soyo 24" PMVA Heatware
soccerballtux is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 08:24 AM   #21
soccerballtux
Lifer
 
soccerballtux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10,078
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by notty22 View Post
Staying on the carpentry jokes (wood screws)
lets hope AMD measures twice before they 'cut' this time
http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2128012
looks like that has room to me?
__________________
HOW TO nested quote
Install this into Firefox then click this, then click "quote" as usual, then click "Nested Quote" to the right of the title bar.
4.0Ghz&2.6Ghz-CPU-NB Ph2-965BE || GA790X-UD4P 8GB DDR800 || Gigabyte GTX670 || Soyo 24" PMVA Heatware
soccerballtux is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 08:44 AM   #22
at80eighty
Senior Member
 
at80eighty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 328
Default

it looks like a 'roided up VHS tape
at80eighty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 09:19 AM   #23
Zargon
Lifer
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: IL
Posts: 11,799
Default

looks likes it missing about 3 6pin PCIe power connectors....
__________________
heatware | steam | ebay
Reaumur(Gamer): Silverstone Raven02, Antec HCG900, Z77 Fata1ity/3770K, 16GB DDR3-1833, 2x7950@1Ghz, 27" IPS
Kelvin(3D-HTPC):Q9550 w/H50, P5G41, 4GB DDR2-1066, 5870 w accellero xtreme
Chill(Server): Thuban x6@3.3 wH50 8gb ddr3 4x1.5tb ESXi
Zargon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 10:49 AM   #24
tincart
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 630
Default

Sooner or later they'll just have to make the GPU casing as big as a computer case so you can fit all your other components inside of it.
tincart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 02:02 PM   #25
calvin0416
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 90
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tincart View Post
Sooner or later they'll just have to make the GPU casing as big as a computer case so you can fit all your other components inside of it.
If we take away the space constraints think they can make GPU that are infinitely more powerful and low cost?

What if they make a motherboard/case that leaves a PCIE slot that can be slide in from outside the case? Then we can have GPU as big as we want and it'll be 'external' but still connected to the motherboard like a normal gpu.
calvin0416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.