Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Video Cards and Graphics

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-21-2011, 10:23 AM   #1
gredhead
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 33
Default Problems with new GeForce GTX-260

I put together a new system with a GeForce GTX 260, and the installation of Win7 froze with a black screen during installation. I put in a GeForce 8400, and did fresh installation to completion of win7.

I put the GTX 260 back in, booted fine, win7 said it had installed drivers for the gtx 260, and a restart was needed. On the restart, got to a black screen again. Its not "no signal" on the monitor, but an actively black screen.

The win7 install with the geforce 8400 was different from the point win7 said something like "optimizing display", so the fail point in the install was also probably related to the installation of the gtx 260 drivers.

Question: Is there possibly a problem with the win7 drivers for the gtx 260, could it be a problem with me not knowing the proper use of dual DVI connectors, or is it a bad gtx 260 card?

The 260 has two DVI's and I connect to the top DVI with a DVI/VGA adapter, then to the monitor. The 8400 has a special high density connector to a dual DVI pigtail, and again, I connect to one of those DVI's with a VGA adapter.

Would next step be to boot with 8400 in, install latest 260 drivers, shut down, install 260?

Also, here is a link to an earlier thread over in operating systems, when the problem first occurred:

http://forums.anandtech.com/showthre...8#post31100588
gredhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 11:48 AM   #2
Jaydip
Diamond Member
 
Jaydip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,284
Default

Have you used the latest driver for your card?i would also suggest to use Driver Sweeper just in case.
Jaydip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 12:04 PM   #3
bryanW1995
Lifer
 
bryanW1995's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 10,915
Default

He doesn't need driver sweeper, it was a fresh install with generic drivers.

@OP, download gtx 260 drivers from nv website, install the 260, boot into safe mode, install driver, then boot to windows. My gtx 260 works fine with win home premium x64. If that dowdy work test your ram, I've had issues install drivers in the past when I had either bad ram or a conflict Btwn mobo and ram. In fact, try installing the 260 with only one stick of ram, that could very well be your issue.
bryanW1995 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 02:20 PM   #4
ValkyrAssassin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bryanW1995 View Post
I've had issues install drivers in the past when I had either bad ram or a conflict Btwn mobo and ram. In fact, try installing the 260 with only one stick of ram, that could very well be your issue.
Why would the 8400 work with no problems though? Surely if it was anything else, then the problem would occur regardless.
ValkyrAssassin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 03:09 PM   #5
gredhead
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 33
Default

Ran two passes memory test from restore tools on win7 boot dvd, everything fine.

I downloaded latest driver from nvidia, dated 1/18/11. AND I see that it is the exact same driver file for both the gtx260 and the 8400. Have same situation - 8400 works fine, gtx260 ends up with black screen.

All the mobo express gate and boot spash screens are fine, all graphics fine, but the text screen that says "hit any key to boot from CD" is garbled.

I'm starting to guess the gtx260, although not DOA, was BOA (broken on arrival).

any other suggestions?
gredhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 03:25 PM   #6
bryanW1995
Lifer
 
bryanW1995's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 10,915
Default

sounds like rma time to me.
__________________
4770k, Noctua nh-d14, 2x256gb m4, xfx 850w, 7970, HAF-x, Asus z87-pro, 2x8gb Hyper X
2500k @ 4.54, hyper 212+, ga-z68ma-d2h, wd20ears, 2x4gb ddr3 1600, gtx 480, antec 900
i7 920 @ 3.95, TRUE, evga x58 sli, 9600 gso, wd6400aaks, hx 620, 2x2 ddr3, antec 900
MSI GT 70 2oc, i7 4700 mq, gtx 770m, 8gb ram, 240gb crucial m500, 750 gb, bd reader, win 8
HP dv7tqe, i7 2670, 6670m 1gb, 8gb ram, 160gb intel 320 ssd, 750 gb 7200 rpm,win 7 x64
bryanW1995 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 04:19 PM   #7
zagood
Diamond Member
 
zagood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4,103
Default

Bad card or PSU.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by tannat View Post
Now, back to the fud, insults and the hairsplitting. please.
zagood is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.