Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > CPUs and Overclocking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-16-2011, 06:00 AM   #1
Dufus
Member
 
Dufus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 192
Default Sandy Bridge and stress testing with Linpack (Linx, IBT, OCCT)

Thought I'd share some test results of stress testing SB with Linpack to show the difference between running with the new AVX (256bit registers) and the older SSE (128bit registers). SSE results gave ~47GFlops @ 3.4GHz while AVX results gave ~83GFlops @ 3.4GHz.

Stock CPU clocks, 33x multi with 34x 4 core turbo.
Stock Vcore (Auto).
Stock cooler.
EIST disabled.
C1E, C3, C6 disabled. This means higher idle temps/power but makes it easier to see what is happening with the loadline.

The first run is using the standard SSE 128bit registers.

Measured power into the VRM was ~89W


The second run is using the AVX 256bit registers. I haven't heard if there's going to be support for use of the AVX registers in Windows versions earlier than W7 SP1.

Measured power into the VRM was ~108W


On the 4th run some turbo throttling can be seen, turbo shown as yellow. This seemed to happen a little before PROCHOT and TDP.

Working with CPU temperature and VRM power seems to show an increase of ~20% in power usage over running SSE while the Intel energy register shows ~30%. Some further investigation is required for the discrepancy.


Notes:
Realcore EIST TM mode works a little like TMonitor. Core numbers are APIC numbers and may appear odd but there are only 4 cores. Time in seconds on the Y axis and multiplier/load on the x-axis. Sampling is 100x per second. Averaged multi shown under the core number is calculated over the first section which in this case is 0.0 to 1.0 seconds.

Realcore PECI uses the PECI interface to report the hottest core with a 1/64th degree resolution.
Dufus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 07:36 PM   #2
MangoTBG
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 3,102
Default

Thanks for this!

I wanted to see how my Phenom x6 1055 @ 3.5GHz faired against these beasts. My results were 68.xx GFlops.
MangoTBG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 10:46 PM   #3
Dufus
Member
 
Dufus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 192
Default

Your welcome, glad it was helpful.

AFAIK Linpack is optimized for Intel processors so your 68.xx result might not be showing the full potential of your chip. I wonder what the results would be if AMD produced an AMD optimized benchmark to solve the same set of linear equations as Linpack.

The main reason for posting this was to make people aware that stressing SB with AVX will use significantly more power. Once SP1 is released for W7 then we might see some posters needing to tame down their high clocks. Then again maybe they will feel it's not necessary because currently there is very little in the way of software that will stress the chip that high.

Not sure how long it will be before good use of AVX is made in software. Maybe some number crunching software will incorporate AVX quite quickly but for normal users it might take some time before their use is seen, perhaps years.
Dufus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 11:13 PM   #4
Dadofamunky
Platinum Member
 
Dadofamunky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2,183
Default

+1
__________________
i7 2600K@4.35 GHz, Asus Sabertooth Z77, 16 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24-1T 1.5V, Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD , 2x1TB Spinpoint F3 Raid 0, Seagate 3TB external USB3 drive, Samsung BluRay, Corsair GS600, CM Hyper 212+ push-pull, EVGA GTX 570, 2x Samsung 2333T PVA panels, Win 7 64-bit

What's that chip you got, a Dorito?
Dadofamunky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 06:05 AM   #5
reb0rn
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 69
Default

I had 5.2Ghz stable on air ~95C (no avx linx and prime) and now i can only manage ~4.8Ghz maybe 4.9 with win7 SP1 and avx linx .... the problem is temperature now at 5Ghz in 20 secands it hit 99C and start to trottle down
also i had to bump voltage up 0.01v

4.8Ghz gave me 122Gflops

btw windows sp1 is RTM so its final
reb0rn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 01:45 AM   #6
Dufus
Member
 
Dufus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 192
Default

Thanks for the feedback reb0rn. AFAIK SP1 has not been made official yet although there seem to be leaked version(s) claiming to be RTM. Once MS releases SP1 officially we should see a lot more 3 figure Linpack benchmarks for OC'd SB users.
Dufus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 06:02 AM   #7
neosapien
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 33
Default

Where can I download this "realcore" program you're using? I tried googling, found nothing.
neosapien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 06:27 AM   #8
smakme7757
Golden Member
 
smakme7757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,301
Default

Where can i download Windows 7 SP1 so i can try as well?
__________________
Currently running Debian 7.1 and Windows 8.1
Blog: http://jack-brennan.com
smakme7757 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 08:01 AM   #9
AdamK47
Lifer
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 10,723
Default

Is LinX specifically coded to use the AVX 256-bit registers then?
__________________
Intel Core i7 5960X - Gigabyte X99 Gaming G1 - 32GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 - Four Nvidia GTX 980s in 4-Way SLI - 256GB Samsung 850 Pro SSD - Four 1TB Samsung 840 EVO SSDs in 4TB RAID-0 - 4TB Deskstar 7K4000 HDD - Pioneer BDR-206 BD-RW - Corsair 750D case - Thermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate cooler - LEPA G1600 power supply - Razer BlackWidow Ultimate keyboard - CST LaserTRAC 2545W trackball - BenQ BL3200PT monitor - Shure SRH1440 headphones - Windows 8.1 Pro x64
AdamK47 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 02:00 PM   #10
Dufus
Member
 
Dufus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 192
Default

@neosapien Realcore isn't publicly available.

@smakme7757 If you can not wait for the final release then the SP1 used above was a RC downloaded from Microsoft.

@AdamK47 It is Linpack that is coded to use AVX, in particular ver 10.3. Linx, IBT and OCCT are front ends designed to make the running of Linpack a little easier to use via a GUI and help in reporting the results.

Here's what Linpack looks like natively when run from the command line. (The actual CPU frequency was 3.4GHz)
Dufus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 02:13 PM   #11
jones377
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 431
Default

Dufus, that's a much better Linpack score. I was starting to worry about SB efficiency running AVX for a while there. Now at 87% of peak. I bet with further compiler optimizations it will go up a bit further.
jones377 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 02:22 PM   #12
Dufus
Member
 
Dufus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 192
Default

The problem size / amount of memory makes a difference. Those first 2 only had 1GB.
Dufus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 10:20 AM   #13
reb0rn
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 69
Default

Anyone has problem with linx with new linpak (avx+win 7 sp1) produce errors after 3-4h of a test?
I just updated new bios on asus and even tested at stock speed but after 3h 12m i got this:
18265 18280 4 41.861 97.0566 2.828071e-010 3.005782e-002
18265 18280 4 41.705 97.4195 2.828071e-010 3.005782e-002
18265 18280 4 41.801 97.1976 2.666694e-008 2.834264e+000

Stooped upon error ..
reb0rn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 12:21 PM   #14
SickBeast
Lifer
 
SickBeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 14,194
Default

What I do lately as a stability test is to run LinX, SuperPi (32m), and the Prime95 "blend test" simultaneously.
SickBeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 12:46 PM   #15
reb0rn
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 69
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SickBeast View Post
What I do lately as a stability test is to run LinX, SuperPi (32m), and the Prime95 "blend test" simultaneously.
I agree,
but so far i am not sure if linx + new linpak have a bug, atm runing intel burn test with new linpak to see if it gona reproduce error also...
reb0rn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 02:05 PM   #16
Bryf50
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 1,207
Default

Holy crap AVX takes a lot of power. I have my power draw set to 105W and it was still hitting the limit and downlocking. That said 100 GFlops is pretty cool.
__________________
Desktop: i7 4770k@4.6ghz, Asus Z87-Pro, XFX R9 290, 16GB DDR3 1600,
250gb Samsung 840 Evo & 2x1TB Samsung F3s Raid 0, NZXT Hale90 750w, Win 8
Laptop: Acer P645, i7 4500u, Radeon 8750m, 256gb SSD x 2
HTPC: Pentium G3220, Asrock H81 mini-itx, 4GB DDR3 1600

Last edited by Bryf50; 01-22-2011 at 02:50 PM.
Bryf50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 02:35 PM   #17
SickBeast
Lifer
 
SickBeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 14,194
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MangoTBG View Post
Thanks for this!

I wanted to see how my Phenom x6 1055 @ 3.5GHz faired against these beasts. My results were 68.xx GFlops.
Can you get your x6 any higher than that? I'm considering one for a future upgrade, but I'm hoping for 4.2ghz.
SickBeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 02:52 PM   #18
Bryf50
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 1,207
Default

Also to anyone who wants to give avx a try skip the release candidate service pack 1 and look for the rtm. Its available with a little googling.
__________________
Desktop: i7 4770k@4.6ghz, Asus Z87-Pro, XFX R9 290, 16GB DDR3 1600,
250gb Samsung 840 Evo & 2x1TB Samsung F3s Raid 0, NZXT Hale90 750w, Win 8
Laptop: Acer P645, i7 4500u, Radeon 8750m, 256gb SSD x 2
HTPC: Pentium G3220, Asrock H81 mini-itx, 4GB DDR3 1600
Bryf50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 07:22 AM   #19
Dufus
Member
 
Dufus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 192
Default

AFAIK Linux has been AVX ready since the middle of 2009 so thought it only proper to add a result for that platform too. This was run on a 2500k @ 3.4GHz using Fedora 14 run from the live CD (no installation).

Dufus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 08:17 AM   #20
JAG87
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,598
Default

Good info.

Are there any actual everyday applications that use AVX instructions yet?
JAG87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
avx, ibt, linpack, linx, occt

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.