Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-12-2011, 12:50 PM   #1
Doggiedog
Lifer
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 12,769
Default How fast should an SSD boot Windows?

I was under the impression that Windows would load up in about 5 seconds. I think I am getting about 30 seconds for Window 7 x64 on my Corsair F120.

I just built a new rig from scratch coming from a C2D E6600 so I'm still tweaking everything. I'd just like to know if this is about normal for an SSD. My WEI is 7.7.
__________________
i7 2600K @ 4.43Ghz/1.35v, Asus P8Z68 Pro, 4x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1600, Samsung Evo 840 500GB SSD, Corsair F120 SSD <Dead>, 2x3TB 7200.14 RAID, 2x1TB 7200.11, Asus GTX 770 4GB, Seasonic X-660, CM Hyper 212+, Antec 300 Illusion, HP ZR24w, Dell U2412W, Acer AL2416W, Win7 x64 HP
Doggiedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 01:11 PM   #2
COPOHawk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 252
Default

My setup takes longer in BIOS than it does to boot Windows...maybe 30 sec total.

Of course, I have the SSD, 4 hard drives, a floppy drive and two DVD drives...I should be thankful it doesn't take longer
__________________
Top box: i3570K, Gigabyte X77-UD5H, 2x8 GB Corsair RAM, 160 GB Intel 320, Radeon 6870 1GB, Asgard beams, F302s and hyperdrive (dealer installed).

Plus about 4 other boxes that all serve a purpose.
COPOHawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 01:13 PM   #3
Viper GTS
Lifer
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 36,932
Default

Disk speed can only help so much, there are lots of things during the boot process that take how long they take and there is nothing you can do to shorten it.

Thirty seconds sounds about right, and in line with two of my SSD equipped systems (one of which is a 2500k with a F120).

Viper GTS
__________________
Display shopping?
Viper GTS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 01:29 PM   #4
Doggiedog
Lifer
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 12,769
Default

Ah OK.

Thanks!
__________________
i7 2600K @ 4.43Ghz/1.35v, Asus P8Z68 Pro, 4x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1600, Samsung Evo 840 500GB SSD, Corsair F120 SSD <Dead>, 2x3TB 7200.14 RAID, 2x1TB 7200.11, Asus GTX 770 4GB, Seasonic X-660, CM Hyper 212+, Antec 300 Illusion, HP ZR24w, Dell U2412W, Acer AL2416W, Win7 x64 HP
Doggiedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 03:19 PM   #5
Nothinman
Elite Member
 
Nothinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 30,672
Default

Yea a friend was testing out his new build here at work with his SSD and he had Ubuntu installed which did boot in ~6s after POST was finished, but Windows still took upwards of 30s or more to actually be usable. You may be able to get that down a bit, but not very much just because of the time it takes Windows services to start.
__________________
http://www.debian.org
Nothinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 03:48 PM   #6
Emulex
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: ATL
Posts: 9,554
Default

7s with hardware-state caching on win7
6s for OSX

most of the time its the hardware checks that slow things down like ram check, new hardware check, raid init timeout, etc.

don't get so hungup - you should only need to boot like once a week or so.
__________________
-------------------------
NAS: Dell 530 Q6600 8gb 4tb headless VHP
KID PC1: Mac Pro Dual nehalem - 6gb - GF120 - HP ZR30W
Browser: Dell 530 Q6600 4GB - Kingston 96gb -gt240- hp LP3065 IPS - 7ult
Tabs: IPAD 1,2,3 IPOD3,HTC flyer, Galaxy Tab - all rooted/jb
Couch1: Macbook Air/Macbook White
Couch2: Macbook Pro 17 2.66 Matte screen - 8GB - SSD
HTPC: Asus C2Q8300/X25-V - Geforce 430- 7ult - Antec MicroFusion 350
Emulex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 03:48 PM   #7
Voo
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,684
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nothinman View Post
You may be able to get that down a bit, but not very much just because of the time it takes Windows services to start.
Yeah, so you can just change some services to delayed start. Also worth to look what stuff gets auto started (lots of software puts itself there if you aren't careful~), but all in all a ubuntu install will still be a good bit faster, especially on lower end CPUs.
Voo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 05:29 PM   #8
sygyzy
Lifer
 
sygyzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 14,000
Default

12-15 seconds for my system.
__________________
Peace!
Sygyzy
joshspear
The Perfect Cup of Tea (How-To)
sygyzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 05:32 PM   #9
notty22
Diamond Member
 
notty22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beantown
Posts: 3,317
Default

On my machine it reports 34-36 seconds most times. 20 of it, is bios.
__________________
i5 4670K@4100mhz, 32GB Kingston 1600,H50
MSI GTX 970 gaming Seasonic SS-760XP2

240gb SSD, Win 8.1
Let's make sure history never forgets... the name... 'Enterprise'. Picard out.

Last edited by notty22; 01-12-2011 at 05:39 PM.
notty22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 05:38 PM   #10
taltamir
Lifer
 
taltamir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 13,549
Default

just an FYI, while an SSD will not be all that great for boot speed as explained here by others, it greatly improves a variety of other performance metrics.
Game level/texture loading for example.
__________________
How to protect your data guide
AA Naming Guide

I do not have a superman complex; for I am God, not superman!
The internet is a source of infinite information; the vast majority of which happens to be wrong.
taltamir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 05:55 PM   #11
faxon
Platinum Member
 
faxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,098
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by taltamir View Post
just an FYI, while an SSD will not be all that great for boot speed as explained here by others, it greatly improves a variety of other performance metrics.
Game level/texture loading for example.
also browser performance, especially if you use a large webcache of pages you have previously viewed, and a variety of productivity and creativity apps that use a lot of disk
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsavo View Post
I ordered 3 screens from Dell and two of them came packed in dead oompa loompas. The third oompa loompa was alive.
2600k@4.6GHz, 3x Sapphire 7950s, MSI P67A-GD80, 4x4GB GSkill DDR1600, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050w, 2x 1Tb F1 RAID1. D5>Apogee XT>MCR320-QP>FrozenQ Res for the CPU.
faxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 08:03 PM   #12
Doggiedog
Lifer
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 12,769
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by taltamir View Post
just an FYI, while an SSD will not be all that great for boot speed as explained here by others, it greatly improves a variety of other performance metrics.
Game level/texture loading for example.
I had to switch my Steam folder over from the SSD to a RAID drive. My 120GB SSD was getting filled too quickly.
__________________
i7 2600K @ 4.43Ghz/1.35v, Asus P8Z68 Pro, 4x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1600, Samsung Evo 840 500GB SSD, Corsair F120 SSD <Dead>, 2x3TB 7200.14 RAID, 2x1TB 7200.11, Asus GTX 770 4GB, Seasonic X-660, CM Hyper 212+, Antec 300 Illusion, HP ZR24w, Dell U2412W, Acer AL2416W, Win7 x64 HP
Doggiedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 08:05 PM   #13
taltamir
Lifer
 
taltamir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 13,549
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doggiedog View Post
I had to switch my Steam folder over from the SSD to a RAID drive. My 120GB SSD was getting filled too quickly.
only install to the SSD the games that need it.
__________________
How to protect your data guide
AA Naming Guide

I do not have a superman complex; for I am God, not superman!
The internet is a source of infinite information; the vast majority of which happens to be wrong.
taltamir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 08:21 PM   #14
Doggiedog
Lifer
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 12,769
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by taltamir View Post
only install to the SSD the games that need it.
Can you do that with Steam?
__________________
i7 2600K @ 4.43Ghz/1.35v, Asus P8Z68 Pro, 4x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1600, Samsung Evo 840 500GB SSD, Corsair F120 SSD <Dead>, 2x3TB 7200.14 RAID, 2x1TB 7200.11, Asus GTX 770 4GB, Seasonic X-660, CM Hyper 212+, Antec 300 Illusion, HP ZR24w, Dell U2412W, Acer AL2416W, Win7 x64 HP
Doggiedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 08:28 PM   #15
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 26,106
Default

I noticed that a desktop quad-core with SSD, only booted 2 sec faster than my dual-core laptop with a 5400RPM magnetic drive. Both with Win7 64-bit Home Premium.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 08:34 PM   #16
taltamir
Lifer
 
taltamir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 13,549
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doggiedog View Post
Can you do that with Steam?
not easily. you would have to set virtual paths. or install fewer games.
any other source of games lets you chose your install directory.
__________________
How to protect your data guide
AA Naming Guide

I do not have a superman complex; for I am God, not superman!
The internet is a source of infinite information; the vast majority of which happens to be wrong.
taltamir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 08:55 PM   #17
DominionSeraph
Diamond Member
 
DominionSeraph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Equestria
Posts: 8,261
Default

Upgrade to XP?
__________________
Danse De Raven

"P&N: Not Quite as Bad as Stormfront"
DominionSeraph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 08:59 PM   #18
thescreensavers
Diamond Member
 
thescreensavers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Miami,FL
Posts: 9,820
Default

My 2.5 year old laptop with the 60gb vertex 2 cold boots in 24sec. Bios inilization and loading until the os takes the majority of the time
__________________
Tech TV Tribute

WRB 2013 Subaru WRX Hatch
thescreensavers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 09:50 PM   #19
Zap
Super Moderator
Off Topic
Elite Member
 
Zap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Somewhere Gillbot can't find me
Posts: 22,378
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doggiedog View Post
I was under the impression that Windows would load up in about 5 seconds.
You got it backwards. It isn't a 5 second boot. It is saving 5 seconds on boot.

Actually, the boot time doesn't tell the whole story. How quickly after the Windows desktop comes up can you do... stuff? For instance, as soon as you see the Windows desktop, try opening your web browser right away. Now, try it on a system with a HDD. Now do you notice a difference?

And yeah, how long it takes Windows to boot is nothing. My X58 motherboard takes just as long to POST and stuff before Windows even starts to load.
__________________
The best way to future-proof is to save money and spend it on future products. (Ken g6)

SSD turns duds into studs. (JBT)
Zap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 09:55 PM   #20
Rifter
Diamond Member
 
Rifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 8,501
Default

My brand new intel 120GB boots in 5-6 seconds after selecting windows from my boot loader, so obviously that doesnt count the time the BIOS/POST takes.
__________________
i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz 1.35V -- Asus P6X58D-E -- Noctua NH-D14 -- Corsair XMS3 6GB 1600Mhz
SLI GTX 460 860Mhz -- Intel 120GB G2 SSD -- 2 x 1TB Seagate 7200.12 1TB in RAID 0
Corsair 850w TX PSU -- Corsair 600T case -- WD Green 2TB -- Seagate LP 2TB

Oppan Gangnam style all up in this mother!
Rifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 10:28 PM   #21
Doggiedog
Lifer
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 12,769
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zap View Post
You got it backwards. It isn't a 5 second boot. It is saving 5 seconds on boot.

Actually, the boot time doesn't tell the whole story. How quickly after the Windows desktop comes up can you do... stuff? For instance, as soon as you see the Windows desktop, try opening your web browser right away. Now, try it on a system with a HDD. Now do you notice a difference?

And yeah, how long it takes Windows to boot is nothing. My X58 motherboard takes just as long to POST and stuff before Windows even starts to load.
Ah! I got oversold and under-delivered!!

Things do seem quicker but I'm coming from a 3YO C2D E6600 to a SB 2600K.
__________________
i7 2600K @ 4.43Ghz/1.35v, Asus P8Z68 Pro, 4x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1600, Samsung Evo 840 500GB SSD, Corsair F120 SSD <Dead>, 2x3TB 7200.14 RAID, 2x1TB 7200.11, Asus GTX 770 4GB, Seasonic X-660, CM Hyper 212+, Antec 300 Illusion, HP ZR24w, Dell U2412W, Acer AL2416W, Win7 x64 HP
Doggiedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 10:56 PM   #22
hal2kilo
Diamond Member
 
hal2kilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 4,462
Default

40 seconds with my Vostro 1700 powered by a T9300, with the boot GUI turned off and both processors turned on.

Depends on your systems POST, and bios tests. 5 seconds, never happen.
__________________
I'm a liberal because I'm a realist.

Go Seahawks!

Love my new Grande Cherokee Eco-Diesel
hal2kilo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 01:16 AM   #23
sxr7171
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4,037
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emulex View Post
7s with hardware-state caching on win7
6s for OSX

most of the time its the hardware checks that slow things down like ram check, new hardware check, raid init timeout, etc.

don't get so hungup - you should only need to boot like once a week or so.
With the Air it's like once a month and it boots fast.

With Windows I've personally never gotten much faster than 15s after post. But then again I don't know anything about hardware-state caching.
sxr7171 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 01:29 AM   #24
IntelUser2000
Elite Member
 
IntelUser2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,516
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zap View Post
You got it backwards. It isn't a 5 second boot. It is saving 5 seconds on boot.
Hahaha. Summarized it perfectly.

SSDs boot so fast even POST is sped up. My system boots up fully usable in Windows in 5 seconds from pushing the power button. No joke.
__________________
Core i7 2600K + Turbo Boost | Intel DH67BL/GMA HD 3000 IGP | Corsair XMS3 2x2GB DDR3-1600 @ 1333 9-9-9-24 |
Intel X25-M G1 80GB + Seagate 160GB 7200RPM | OCZ Modstream 450W | Samsung Syncmaster 931c | Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit | Microsoft Sidewinder Mouse | Viliv S5-Atom Z520 WinXP UMPC
IntelUser2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 04:23 AM   #25
pcslookout
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8,492
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IntelUser2000 View Post
Hahaha. Summarized it perfectly.

SSDs boot so fast even POST is sped up. My system boots up fully usable in Windows in 5 seconds from pushing the power button. No joke.
May you show a video of your system booting up in 5 seconds from pushing the power button please ?
pcslookout is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.