Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Video Cards and Graphics

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-09-2011, 11:51 AM   #1
SickBeast
Lifer
 
SickBeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 14,193
Default GTX 460 voltage bios mod

I just managed to hit 950mhz on my GTX 460 core. I can even hit 1ghz, but it's not completely stable. I'm running my vcore at 1.15v. I unlocked the voltage in my bios so that I can run up to 1.215v on the core. Here is a guide on how to do it:

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?p=3839831

Please note that you may damage your card in doing this. I do not take responsibility for what you do to your own hardware.
SickBeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 12:05 PM   #2
shangshang
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 830
Default

thanks for the info.

I can hit 850 Mhz without BIOS mod. Hmm i'm wondering if it's even worth the trouble to mod the bios to get another 50-100 Mhz? thinking...
shangshang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 12:36 PM   #3
SickBeast
Lifer
 
SickBeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 14,193
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shangshang View Post
thanks for the info.

I can hit 850 Mhz without BIOS mod. Hmm i'm wondering if it's even worth the trouble to mod the bios to get another 50-100 Mhz? thinking...
Well, I was hitting 925mhz without the mod at 1.087v, so it didn't give me much extra. I just figure that the card is so cheap and my temps are good, so why not. Mine seems to have hit a wall at 950. 965mhz isn't stable.
SickBeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 12:46 PM   #4
happy medium
Lifer
 
happy medium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Philadelphia , P.A.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Nice!, Does it run real hot or loud?
__________________
Antec 1200 case (7fans) with a Asus P5Q board, q9550 @ 4ghz @ 1.39 with Tuniq cooler (prime stable @68c), 4 gigs ddr2 1000,2 1tb hard drives, 2 6870 2gb cards @ 980 core, 370$AR shipped, Corsair tx 750, @ 1080p. Shes finally maxed out!
happy medium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 12:58 PM   #5
Idontcare
Administrator
Elite Member
 
Idontcare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: 台北市
Posts: 20,356
Default

It amazes me the gap between the air-cooling options for CPU's versus those for GPU's.

I can bolt a 6" tall tower HSF onto my CPU that dissipates maybe 160W fully OC'ed but the best retail air-cooling I can do for my 200W OC'ed GPU is a HSF that is maybe 1" tall.

Imagine what we could do if the after-market HSF options expanded to include the equivalent of Tuniq Towers and Thermax Eclipse II.

Instead we get the choice between crappy tiny GPU HSF's or jumping all the way up to $300-$500 watercooling.

(and yes I understand that clearance and PCIe spacing is the culprit here, just saying it would be nice if this needless bottleneck in air-cooling were engineered out of the equation as has been done with CPU's)
Idontcare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 01:25 PM   #6
happy medium
Lifer
 
happy medium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Philadelphia , P.A.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Idontcare View Post
It amazes me the gap between the air-cooling options for CPU's versus those for GPU's.

I can bolt a 6" tall tower HSF onto my CPU that dissipates maybe 160W fully OC'ed but the best retail air-cooling I can do for my 200W OC'ed GPU is a HSF that is maybe 1" tall.

Imagine what we could do if the after-market HSF options expanded to include the equivalent of Tuniq Towers and Thermax Eclipse II.

Instead we get the choice between crappy tiny GPU HSF's or jumping all the way up to $300-$500 watercooling.

(and yes I understand that clearance and PCIe spacing is the culprit here, just saying it would be nice if this needless bottleneck in air-cooling were engineered out of the equation as has been done with CPU's)
75$ for 250 watts of quiet cooling.....

http://www.arctic.ac/en/p/cooling/vg...us.html?c=2182
__________________
Antec 1200 case (7fans) with a Asus P5Q board, q9550 @ 4ghz @ 1.39 with Tuniq cooler (prime stable @68c), 4 gigs ddr2 1000,2 1tb hard drives, 2 6870 2gb cards @ 980 core, 370$AR shipped, Corsair tx 750, @ 1080p. Shes finally maxed out!
happy medium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 01:30 PM   #7
Idontcare
Administrator
Elite Member
 
Idontcare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: 台北市
Posts: 20,356
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by happy medium View Post
75$ for 250 watts of quiet cooling.....

http://www.arctic.ac/en/p/cooling/vg...us.html?c=2182
That's my point though, they can get that out of a 2.2" tall HSF.

Imagine what we'd be playing with if they had the luxury of the height budget that CPU HSF's are given?

The thermal dissipation would be even better (those single-card dual-gpu setups) and the noise levels even lower.
Idontcare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 01:34 PM   #8
happy medium
Lifer
 
happy medium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Philadelphia , P.A.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Idontcare View Post
That's my point though, they can get that out of a 2.2" tall HSF.

Imagine what we'd be playing with if they had the luxury of the height budget that CPU HSF's are given?

The thermal dissipation would be even better (those single-card dual-gpu setups) and the noise levels even lower.
Well, mabe the cpu coolers should be smaller.

I'm no math genius but the total area of a 12 inch long cooler @ 2.5 inches tall, 6 inches wide vs a Tuniq cpu cooler should not be much different in overall size.

Of coarse the we know the shape must be different for motherboard/case reasons.
__________________
Antec 1200 case (7fans) with a Asus P5Q board, q9550 @ 4ghz @ 1.39 with Tuniq cooler (prime stable @68c), 4 gigs ddr2 1000,2 1tb hard drives, 2 6870 2gb cards @ 980 core, 370$AR shipped, Corsair tx 750, @ 1080p. Shes finally maxed out!
happy medium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 01:52 PM   #9
Idontcare
Administrator
Elite Member
 
Idontcare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: 台北市
Posts: 20,356
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by happy medium View Post
75$ for 250 watts of quiet cooling.....

http://www.arctic.ac/en/p/cooling/vg...us.html?c=2182
Can be had for even less, I just bought one for my 460.

Idontcare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 01:57 PM   #10
happy medium
Lifer
 
happy medium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Philadelphia , P.A.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Idontcare View Post
Can be had for even less, I just bought one for my 460.

Are we gonna see a nice little mini review?
Now if you just grew a set and used the votage hack and went for 1000 core, I'd find a whole new respect for you.

J/K man but you should try it. With that cooling 1.2v is a given at good temps.
__________________
Antec 1200 case (7fans) with a Asus P5Q board, q9550 @ 4ghz @ 1.39 with Tuniq cooler (prime stable @68c), 4 gigs ddr2 1000,2 1tb hard drives, 2 6870 2gb cards @ 980 core, 370$AR shipped, Corsair tx 750, @ 1080p. Shes finally maxed out!
happy medium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 01:58 PM   #11
SickBeast
Lifer
 
SickBeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 14,193
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by happy medium View Post
Nice!, Does it run real hot or loud?
No, my temps are good. They are pretty much the same as they were before.
SickBeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 01:59 PM   #12
happy medium
Lifer
 
happy medium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Philadelphia , P.A.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SickBeast View Post
No, my temps are good. They are pretty much the same as they were before.
You have a cyclone cooler right? That thing is nice.
__________________
Antec 1200 case (7fans) with a Asus P5Q board, q9550 @ 4ghz @ 1.39 with Tuniq cooler (prime stable @68c), 4 gigs ddr2 1000,2 1tb hard drives, 2 6870 2gb cards @ 980 core, 370$AR shipped, Corsair tx 750, @ 1080p. Shes finally maxed out!
happy medium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 02:04 PM   #13
Idontcare
Administrator
Elite Member
 
Idontcare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: 台北市
Posts: 20,356
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SickBeast View Post
I just managed to hit 950mhz on my GTX 460 core. I can even hit 1ghz, but it's not completely stable. I'm running my vcore at 1.15v. I unlocked the voltage in my bios so that I can run up to 1.215v on the core. Here is a guide on how to do it:

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?p=3839831

Please note that you may damage your card in doing this. I do not take responsibility for what you do to your own hardware.
Beast, if I do the bios mod will I be able to use Afterburner to OC my 460 to higher voltages?
Idontcare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 02:12 PM   #14
SickBeast
Lifer
 
SickBeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 14,193
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Idontcare View Post
Beast, if I do the bios mod will I be able to use Afterburner to OC my 460 to higher voltages?
Yep. It works beautifully.
SickBeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 02:14 PM   #15
SickBeast
Lifer
 
SickBeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 14,193
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by happy medium View Post
You have a cyclone cooler right? That thing is nice.
Yeah it's great. I bought the card because it was on sale for $120. The cooler on it is a nice bonus. My card never exceeds 65C even under full load and overvolted and overclocked to 950mhz.

I scored 39FPS in the Uniengine Heaven benchmark at 1920x1200 at these speeds just as a reference. AFAIK a GTX 480 scores ~45FPS on the same test, and a 5850 gets 33FPS.
SickBeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 02:17 PM   #16
happy medium
Lifer
 
happy medium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Philadelphia , P.A.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SickBeast View Post
Yeah it's great. I bought the card because it was on sale for $120. The cooler on it is a nice bonus. My card never exceeds 65C even under full load and overvolted and overclocked to 950mhz.

I scored 39FPS in the Uniengine Heaven benchmark at 1920x1200 at these speeds just as a reference. AFAIK a GTX 480 scores ~45FPS on the same test, and a 5850 gets 33FPS.
wow, you got a great deal with that card.
__________________
Antec 1200 case (7fans) with a Asus P5Q board, q9550 @ 4ghz @ 1.39 with Tuniq cooler (prime stable @68c), 4 gigs ddr2 1000,2 1tb hard drives, 2 6870 2gb cards @ 980 core, 370$AR shipped, Corsair tx 750, @ 1080p. Shes finally maxed out!
happy medium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 02:19 PM   #17
happy medium
Lifer
 
happy medium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Philadelphia , P.A.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shangshang View Post
thanks for the info.

I can hit 850 Mhz without BIOS mod. Hmm i'm wondering if it's even worth the trouble to mod the bios to get another 50-100 Mhz? thinking...
10% more performance for free, whats to think about.
__________________
Antec 1200 case (7fans) with a Asus P5Q board, q9550 @ 4ghz @ 1.39 with Tuniq cooler (prime stable @68c), 4 gigs ddr2 1000,2 1tb hard drives, 2 6870 2gb cards @ 980 core, 370$AR shipped, Corsair tx 750, @ 1080p. Shes finally maxed out!
happy medium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 02:28 PM   #18
SickBeast
Lifer
 
SickBeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 14,193
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by happy medium View Post
wow, you got a great deal with that card.
Yeah, I can't say enough good things about the GTX 460.

Last night I played some Crysis Warhead. At stock speeds I was getting around 22FPS at 1920x1200 with most settings on "enthusiast", the rest on "gamer".

Once I overclocked my card to 950mhz, I was getting around 31FPS. I've never seen a 50% overclock on a GPU before.
SickBeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 03:35 PM   #19
3DVagabond
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Posts: 8,192
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Idontcare View Post
Can be had for even less, I just bought one for my 460.

You'll find that with custom cooling like that heat won't be your limiting factor, any more.
3DVagabond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 04:25 PM   #20
SickBeast
Lifer
 
SickBeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 14,193
Default

I'm gonna try for 1ghz in a bit. I'm going to increase the fan speed and decrease the memory frequency a bit.
SickBeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 04:28 PM   #21
happy medium
Lifer
 
happy medium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Philadelphia , P.A.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SickBeast View Post
I'm gonna try for 1ghz in a bit. I'm going to increase the fan speed and decrease the memory frequency a bit.
Decreasing the memory might help, good luck
__________________
Antec 1200 case (7fans) with a Asus P5Q board, q9550 @ 4ghz @ 1.39 with Tuniq cooler (prime stable @68c), 4 gigs ddr2 1000,2 1tb hard drives, 2 6870 2gb cards @ 980 core, 370$AR shipped, Corsair tx 750, @ 1080p. Shes finally maxed out!
happy medium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 04:41 PM   #22
bryanW1995
Lifer
 
bryanW1995's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 10,916
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by happy medium View Post
75$ for 250 watts of quiet cooling.....

http://www.arctic.ac/en/p/cooling/vg...us.html?c=2182
accelero is great. it's odd that they can handle 6850 but not 6870/69x0.
__________________
4770k, Noctua nh-d14, 2x256gb m4, xfx 850w, 7970, HAF-x, Asus z87-pro, 2x8gb Hyper X
2500k @ 4.54, hyper 212+, ga-z68ma-d2h, wd20ears, 2x4gb ddr3 1600, gtx 480, antec 900
i7 920 @ 3.95, TRUE, evga x58 sli, 9600 gso, wd6400aaks, hx 620, 2x2 ddr3, antec 900
MSI GT 70 2oc, i7 4700 mq, gtx 770m, 8gb ram, 240gb crucial m500, 750 gb, bd reader, win 8
HP dv7tqe, i7 2670, 6670m 1gb, 8gb ram, 160gb intel 320 ssd, 750 gb 7200 rpm,win 7 x64
bryanW1995 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 04:43 PM   #23
bryanW1995
Lifer
 
bryanW1995's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 10,916
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3DVagabond View Post
You'll find that with custom cooling like that heat won't be your limiting factor, any more.
well, on a gtx 460 custom cooling is typically not needed anyway. I think I'll try out this voltage mod...
__________________
4770k, Noctua nh-d14, 2x256gb m4, xfx 850w, 7970, HAF-x, Asus z87-pro, 2x8gb Hyper X
2500k @ 4.54, hyper 212+, ga-z68ma-d2h, wd20ears, 2x4gb ddr3 1600, gtx 480, antec 900
i7 920 @ 3.95, TRUE, evga x58 sli, 9600 gso, wd6400aaks, hx 620, 2x2 ddr3, antec 900
MSI GT 70 2oc, i7 4700 mq, gtx 770m, 8gb ram, 240gb crucial m500, 750 gb, bd reader, win 8
HP dv7tqe, i7 2670, 6670m 1gb, 8gb ram, 160gb intel 320 ssd, 750 gb 7200 rpm,win 7 x64
bryanW1995 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 04:56 PM   #24
3DVagabond
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Posts: 8,192
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bryanW1995 View Post
well, on a gtx 460 custom cooling is typically not needed anyway. I think I'll try out this voltage mod...
Sorry, my point was in reference to needing some gigantic tower to keep VGA's cool. A cooler like the Accelero or Zalman 3000 are enough cooling that heat (and noise too) isn't a limiting factor for over volting, O/C'ing.
3DVagabond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 06:27 PM   #25
SickBeast
Lifer
 
SickBeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 14,193
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by happy medium View Post
Decreasing the memory might help, good luck
Thanks.

Unfortunately, even with the memory at 2000mhz and the fan at 100%, it's not stable at 1000mhz.

I might reduce the memory some more, but I'm pretty sure I'm past the point of diminishing returns.

950mhz on the core is quite good. I'm happy with it!

SickBeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.