Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Consumer Electronics > Audio/Video & Home Theater

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-03-2011, 12:52 PM   #1
Oifish
Senior Member
 
Oifish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 451
Default How do I test a car stereo with a multimeter?

I know this isn't a car audio forum but you all are very intelligent and have helped me a lot in in the past. I hit a pot hole a couple days ago and my car stereo shut off. It's a simple JVC unit that I put in a couple years back so I can use my iPod while driving. I tested the wiring harness and every connection showed a resistance of .04ohms which is great, so I know my harness is wired correctly. However I'm not sure how to test and see if the JVC unit is receiving any juice or if there is a short in the ground. Thanks for any help.

Admin: If this is in the wrong forum please move it to the correct location.
__________________
OCZ StealthXStream OCZ600SXS 600W
GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E7400 Wolfdale 2.8GHz
Sapphire Radeon HD 4870 1GB
WD Caviar 320GB 7200RPM SATA
WD Caviar Black 1TB 7200 RPM SATA II
Pioneer DVR-212D SATA
Patriot Viper 4GB DDR2 800
Windows 7 x64
Realtek ALC889A Onboard Audio >> Nakamichi SR-3A Stasis Receiver w/ Klipsch ProMedia 2.1

"Never trouble trouble til' trouble troubles you."
Oifish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 01:04 PM   #2
Number1
Diamond Member
 
Number1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada.
Posts: 7,087
Default

1 Check the fuse in the 12V line connected to the back of the radio. Check that you have power on the line with a voltmeter.

2 Make sure the power conector is seated properly.
__________________
Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4200, MSI P67A-G43 (B3) P67 ATX LGA1155, Mushkin Enhanced Silverline Stiletto 8GB 2X4GB PC3-10666 DDR3-1333 9-9-9-24 Dual Channel Memory Kit, 5450 Radeon 500M X 2, 4TB storage, 600W OCZ GameXtream, Windows 7 HP 64, Samsung Syncmaster2463uw, Audio password Audio
Number1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 02:27 PM   #3
Oifish
Senior Member
 
Oifish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 451
Default

Fuse is intact and everything is seated correctly. To test the 12v line I would attach the red lead of the voltmeter to the 12v line, but what does the black attach to? The ground or the fuse in the fuse panel of the car?
__________________
OCZ StealthXStream OCZ600SXS 600W
GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E7400 Wolfdale 2.8GHz
Sapphire Radeon HD 4870 1GB
WD Caviar 320GB 7200RPM SATA
WD Caviar Black 1TB 7200 RPM SATA II
Pioneer DVR-212D SATA
Patriot Viper 4GB DDR2 800
Windows 7 x64
Realtek ALC889A Onboard Audio >> Nakamichi SR-3A Stasis Receiver w/ Klipsch ProMedia 2.1

"Never trouble trouble til' trouble troubles you."
Oifish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 04:41 PM   #4
Smoove910
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nampa, Idaho
Posts: 1,091
Default

Never, ever hook a ground up to a fuse block... bad idea
__________________
Mobo: Biostar TA880GU3+ uATX
Proc: AMD Phenom II 960T unlocked/6 cores @ 3.5ghz
Ram: (4) 4gb GSkill 1600mhz (16gb total)
HDDs: (2) 640GB WD AAKS, (1) 750GB Seagate Ext
Vid: Sapphire 6870 1gb DDR5 1000mhz core, 1100 mhz mem
Camera: Pentax K5, I'm not a Canikon fanboy.
Smoove910 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 05:10 PM   #5
Number1
Diamond Member
 
Number1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada.
Posts: 7,087
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oifish View Post
Fuse is intact and everything is seated correctly. To test the 12v line I would attach the red lead of the voltmeter to the 12v line, but what does the black attach to? The ground or the fuse in the fuse panel of the car?
How do you know the fuse is intact? Dd you measure it?


Red on the 12 V

Black on the car frame (ground)
__________________
Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4200, MSI P67A-G43 (B3) P67 ATX LGA1155, Mushkin Enhanced Silverline Stiletto 8GB 2X4GB PC3-10666 DDR3-1333 9-9-9-24 Dual Channel Memory Kit, 5450 Radeon 500M X 2, 4TB storage, 600W OCZ GameXtream, Windows 7 HP 64, Samsung Syncmaster2463uw, Audio password Audio
Number1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 05:35 PM   #6
Modelworks
Lifer
 
Modelworks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 16,237
Default

Expect the 12v to read around 13.8VDC which is normal. If it is 12VDC you got problems bigger than the radio.
Black to car frame 95% of the time . Some newer models have isolated grounds on the frame, in that case if you don't get a reading then attach it directly to the black wire on the power connector.

Also some radios have fuses located on the back of the radio in slots. Check for fuses there or in the harness and also in the cars main fuse block.

Last edited by Modelworks; 01-03-2011 at 05:38 PM.
Modelworks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 02:27 PM   #7
Oifish
Senior Member
 
Oifish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 451
Default

Measured the 15A fuse in the back of the stereo and it read .04ohms. Measured the 12v line and it read 14.8v. So I'm guessing my stereo is the culprit not the wiring...
Oifish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.