Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Operating Systems

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-02-2010, 01:38 PM   #1
Compman55
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,001
Default Dell OEM Win 7 activation question.

Back in the days of winxp you install windows off the genuine dell cd and if it detects are are running a genuine dell computer, there simply was no activation, and the master key was the same on all the cd media.

Is dells oem windows 7 the same way, when it sees you are installing it on a laptop that is a genuine dell, it will be activated by default? BTW I am using a genuine dell recovery CD, not a bootleg from the internet.

It seems the COA stickers (and all others) on the new computers are a fiber material and get destroyed easy hence the reason for this question.
__________________
-Main: Fractal Arc Midi R2 | Z87-Pro | E3-1245V3 | 32GB | M500 240GB | Antec HCG-620m PSU | Win7x64 Pro | Dual Dell U2414H Borderless IPS Panels w/ MDS14 stand |
-HTPC: Mac mini | P7550 2.26 | 8GB | 500GB 7K500 | OS X 10.6.8 | Win7x64 Ultimate |
-Lappy: Dell Latitude D820 | C2D 2.0 | 2GB | 128GB Samsung 830 SSD | 15.4" WXGA | Win7 x86 Ultimate |
-Server: G2020 | 8GB | 500GB WD Black (OS)| 2x Seagate 4TB | 2x Segate 2TB |
Compman55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 02:19 PM   #2
RebateMonger
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
RebateMonger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Posts: 11,592
Default

Yes, Dell OEM Win7 works the same way. Note, though, that a Dell Win7 DVD will NOT auto-Activate on older Dells. There's been a change in the BIOS signature that indicates whether the PC originally came installed with Win7.
__________________
MCSE:Security:2003 - MCTS:SBS 2008 - Arizona's 1st Microsoft Small Business Specialist
--- In loving memory of my beautiful Australian Shepherd, Skye. July 2001-January 2010 ---
War on Terror 2000-2010 ~ Terrorist-caused Deaths < 10,000 ~ Bush's Wars > 1,000,000 ~ Winning?
RebateMonger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 07:12 PM   #3
bruceb
Diamond Member
 
bruceb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wayne, New Jersey
Posts: 7,199
Default

This site, can modify your Dell BIOS with the latest SLIC 2.0 / 2.1 files

http://www.bios-mods.com/forum/Forum-Dell
bruceb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 08:26 PM   #4
techs
Lifer
 
techs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 28,431
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bruceb View Post
This site, can modify your Dell BIOS with the latest SLIC 2.0 / 2.1 files

http://www.bios-mods.com/forum/Forum-Dell
If you have an activation problem wouldn't it be easier and safer to just go online and activate it, rather than flashing your bios, always a last resort?
__________________
Imagine a really good sig is here.
techs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 10:16 PM   #5
Steltek
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,505
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Compman55 View Post
It seems the COA stickers (and all others) on the new computers are a fiber material and get destroyed easy hence the reason for this question.
The first thing I always do with my own machines (or on any machines that I work on for others) is to copy the Windows product keycode from the COA sticker onto a permanent label and place it inside the door of the computer case. On laptops (where the COAs, being on the bottom, ALWAYS wear off), I usually put the label on the inside of the hard drive cover. It isn't much of an issue with Dell machines, but HPs are bad about always requiring the keycode even when reinstalling from the factory restore media.

I've always thought it was ridiculous that the things aren't sealed or laminated, but I guess it wouldn't be in Microsoft's interest to do so (i.e. they would be more interested in selling you another copy of Windows when you can't read the key instead of making it easier for you to retain your key in the first place)....
Steltek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 12:26 AM   #6
RebateMonger
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
RebateMonger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Posts: 11,592
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by techs View Post
If you have an activation problem wouldn't it be easier and safer to just go online and activate it, rather than flashing your bios, always a last resort?
But if you don't know the Key from the COA, you won't be able to do an online or phone Activation. The Key from inside Windows won't work because it's a "universal" Key used on many similar Dells and is no good for Activation.
__________________
MCSE:Security:2003 - MCTS:SBS 2008 - Arizona's 1st Microsoft Small Business Specialist
--- In loving memory of my beautiful Australian Shepherd, Skye. July 2001-January 2010 ---
War on Terror 2000-2010 ~ Terrorist-caused Deaths < 10,000 ~ Bush's Wars > 1,000,000 ~ Winning?
RebateMonger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 07:56 AM   #7
bruceb
Diamond Member
 
bruceb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wayne, New Jersey
Posts: 7,199
Default

On some Dells, if you look at their downloads page, and select Win 7 as the OS you will see a BIOS file different to what you would get if it had an older OS on it. That is easier than modding the file. I only put up that link for people who want to know more about the various BIOSes and how to modify them.
bruceb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 08:09 AM   #8
techs
Lifer
 
techs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 28,431
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by techs View Post
If you have an activation problem wouldn't it be easier and safer to just go online and activate it, rather than flashing your bios, always a last resort?
Quote:
Originally Posted by RebateMonger View Post
But if you don't know the Key from the COA, you won't be able to do an online or phone Activation. The Key from inside Windows won't work because it's a "universal" Key used on many similar Dells and is no good for Activation.
D'oh. I didn't read that part.
__________________
Imagine a really good sig is here.
techs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.