Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > All Things Apple

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-23-2010, 01:28 AM   #1
TheWart
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 5,218
Default can't restore my iPhone...keep getting Error 3004...help?

Hi all,

about a week or so ago I tried to update my iphone to the latest firmware, and somehow it got messed up and when I cam back to my room it was in DFU mode saying that I needed to restore it. I figured oh well, no biggie, and hit restore. However, after going through about 90% of the restore process, iTunes gave me an Error 3004 message. I did some googling and this is supposedly an error you get when iTunes can't connect to the Apple Server.

However, I am able to download iTunes songs/etc without an issue, so I don't think it is my firewall. Just to be sure, I disabled Little Snitch (my OSX firewall proggie) and I tried to restore using the new 4.2.1. software and I am still getting the same error. I even re-installed iTunes using the latest 10.1 version, but that didn't help.

Does anyone have any ideas about what to do? Is there some way to ping/test to see if it is indeed my firewall that is messing up the restore process? Unfortunately i am out of the country so I cannot just take it to a local apple store.
TheWart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 05:21 AM   #2
Claudius-07
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 159
Default

Well I just did my Ipad update with Nov 22nd release of the new firmware and I am not stuck and have been stuck trying 1000 times with an error 34. I am stuck in the restore process, it simply cannot, and my Ipad is useless. I've tried all the suggestions on the Apple support site about the error. Not sure if 3004 or 34 are related. I don't have my firewall running, uninstalled all antivirus etc. Nothing.
Claudius-07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 09:02 AM   #3
gorcorps
aka Brandon
 
gorcorps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: South Bend
Posts: 25,541
Default

http://www.ihackintosh.com/2010/02/d...th-cydia-shsh/

Check out that hosts file mentioned in that guide. Open yours and delete everything after the 2 localhost lines. Save it, restart iTunes (maybe entire PC) and try again. If that doesn't work, then delete the hosts file entirely, restart and try again.
__________________
-So sayeth Brandon, knower of things
360: GORcorps|||PS3: gorcorps|||Steam: gorcorps
HEATWARE
gorcorps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 11:36 AM   #4
TheWart
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 5,218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gorcorps View Post
http://www.ihackintosh.com/2010/02/d...th-cydia-shsh/

Check out that hosts file mentioned in that guide. Open yours and delete everything after the 2 localhost lines. Save it, restart iTunes (maybe entire PC) and try again. If that doesn't work, then delete the hosts file entirely, restart and try again.
Hmm

Thanks for the suggestion, but I went ahead and deleted the hosts file (even though it didnt have the gs.apple.com line in it) and rebooted OSX but I am still getting the same error.


FWIW I can ping gs.apple.com and it responds (albeit pretty slowly with ~700ms ping)
TheWart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 11:44 AM   #5
RedRooster
Diamond Member
 
RedRooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Posts: 6,601
Default

I'm an iPhone noob, but I've had some error number in the past when restoring my phone and it ended up being some of my music that was failing during the final sync. I'm not sure if that's considered part of the "restore" process, but trying unchecking all your media synching and let it restore a blank phone?
RedRooster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 12:42 PM   #6
gorcorps
aka Brandon
 
gorcorps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: South Bend
Posts: 25,541
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheWart View Post
Hmm

Thanks for the suggestion, but I went ahead and deleted the hosts file (even though it didnt have the gs.apple.com line in it) and rebooted OSX but I am still getting the same error.


FWIW I can ping gs.apple.com and it responds (albeit pretty slowly with ~700ms ping)
If you delete the hosts file, you MAY need to reinstall iTunes completely. I'm not sure, but it can't hurt. If you're still having a problem, then it might just be Apples servers getting slammed with the new updates and there's no local problem you can remedy.
__________________
-So sayeth Brandon, knower of things
360: GORcorps|||PS3: gorcorps|||Steam: gorcorps
HEATWARE
gorcorps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 01:49 PM   #7
TheWart
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 5,218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gorcorps View Post
If you delete the hosts file, you MAY need to reinstall iTunes completely. I'm not sure, but it can't hurt. If you're still having a problem, then it might just be Apples servers getting slammed with the new updates and there's no local problem you can remedy.
Ugh. I uninstalled iTunes, restarted, reinstalled, and am still having issues!

Really lame. I just can't believe this is a hardware issue...

I even rebooted into WinXP and installed iTunes there but no dice.
TheWart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 04:11 PM   #8
RPD
Diamond Member
 
RPD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,728
Default

Just tried to update to the latest iphone software myself, I keep getting error 1604. I love Apple's contact us with your problem "express lane". It REQUIRES you give them your phone's serial number.

Well if my phone's in constant restore mode, makes it kinda hard to get that huh?

Makes me want to kick puppies.
RPD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 07:15 PM   #9
Emulex
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: ATL
Posts: 9,550
Default

use saurik's server and restore using a .ipsw from the repository (online site with all iphone firmware).

Just remember you can't go back in baseband for the most part.
__________________
-------------------------
NAS: Dell 530 Q6600 8gb 4tb headless VHP
KID PC1: Mac Pro Dual nehalem - 6gb - GF120 - HP ZR30W
Browser: Dell 530 Q6600 4GB - Kingston 96gb -gt240- hp LP3065 IPS - 7ult
Tabs: IPAD 1,2,3 IPOD3,HTC flyer, Galaxy Tab - all rooted/jb
Couch1: Macbook Air/Macbook White
Couch2: Macbook Pro 17 2.66 Matte screen - 8GB - SSD
HTPC: Asus C2Q8300/X25-V - Geforce 430- 7ult - Antec MicroFusion 350
Emulex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 10:21 PM   #10
TheWart
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 5,218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emulex View Post
use saurik's server and restore using a .ipsw from the repository (online site with all iphone firmware).

Just remember you can't go back in baseband for the most part.
Sorry for being a noob, but what do you mean I can't go back in baseband? Like I can't "un-jailbreak" it or something?
TheWart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 01:21 AM   #11
gorcorps
aka Brandon
 
gorcorps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: South Bend
Posts: 25,541
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheWart View Post
Sorry for being a noob, but what do you mean I can't go back in baseband? Like I can't "un-jailbreak" it or something?
The only people that have to worry about baseband are people who need it unlocked to be on an unofficial carrier. If you're on AT&T then it's nothing to worry about.
__________________
-So sayeth Brandon, knower of things
360: GORcorps|||PS3: gorcorps|||Steam: gorcorps
HEATWARE
gorcorps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 03:52 PM   #12
TheWart
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 5,218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emulex View Post
use saurik's server and restore using a .ipsw from the repository (online site with all iphone firmware).

Just remember you can't go back in baseband for the most part.
Do you have a link to said repository by any chance?

Update:
Just wanted to give an update for those who might face a smilar problem to mine. What I did was download the official 4.1.x IPSW file, add in the Saurik IP to my hosts file, and then restore my phone. That gave me a 1014 (I think...maybe 1004) error, but I then used TinyUmbrella to "kick" my phone out of recovery mode, and that made iTunes be able to sync all my stuff to it just fine.

I am hesitant to try ad upgrade to 4.2 (after taking out the Saurik IP in hosts of course), so I might just leave it as is because everything is working now.

Thanks for the help all

Last edited by TheWart; 11-25-2010 at 01:53 PM.
TheWart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 06:21 AM   #13
sarasimp6159
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
Default

This error code generally occurs when something goes wrong with the restore process or so many other possible reasons too. If you have an another backup copy of the lost data, then try to use it on other computer on which iTunes is installed. and still if the recovery is not being performed, then the final solution to deal with the problem is an effective recovery program.

This may help you: http://iphone-sms-recovery.blogspot....ware-easy.html
sarasimp6159 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.